20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Godawful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glbsys December 10, 2014

This turned out to be a really yummy marinade, though I'd dial back the salt a bit. I didn't marinade for the 2 hours, but about 40 minutes on the counter while I prepared other parts of dinner. We just broiled ours in the oven since it was on anyway. We served with hummus, pita chips, and fresh cut-up veggies. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen September 24, 2010

Wonderful! I used lean beef cut into large cubes, which filled 2 large metal skewers. We cut it up afterwards according to our taste, and served it on pita bread with Israeli Salad. It made a fantastic summery meal! Thanks so much for sharing, Pneuma! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve August 16, 2009

Have to add another WOW as many of your other reviewers have already done. Love using skewers as appetizer/starts and this one is delicious and packed with flavor - a real hit at our house. Made as posted with snipped in parsley freshly picked from the backyard garden - there really is something about using herbs fresh from the garden when doing these marinades!I did add peppers, sweet onion and mushrooms to some of the skewers for variety - they made for an excellent addition to the platter! Have I told you just how much I enjoy those recipes of yours Pneuma - thank you for another that has gone into my cookbook to use again - and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry July 17, 2009

We grill almost daily during the warm weather and are on the lookout for new ways to prepare the meat. Tried your recipe today. WOW! Made the marinade as directed and used cubed chuck steak. I have a vacumn marinater so I used that left it all in the fridge for about 8 hours. Fabulous kabobs, tender, full of flavor and didn't not need any additional seasoning. Served these with Naan, but next time will use pitas to make it more of sandwich. Will be making often. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws June 16, 2009

Very nice flavor. I marinated the beef for several hours in the fridge rather than the 2 used here. Had no fresh herbs and I used a mortar & pestle to grind all the spices together into a fine powder. They turned out great grilled on the BBQ and served in a pita with tzatziki and lettuce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big John April 30, 2009

Loved this and look forward to taking the remainder to a BBQ tomorrow! I thought the olive oil not only carried the other flavors through but added a lot of flavor in itself so it's worth using a good variety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J March 21, 2009

We all loved this. It made a great Shabbat dinner with Herbed Israeli Couscous and a salad of lettuce, tomato, green bell pepper, cucumber and a dressing of EVOO, lemon juice, parsley and garlic. I'll make this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse March 14, 2009

Great recipe with great flavor. My cooking time was a total of 14 minutes also, although I had the cubes cut a bit on the large side but it was perfect. I did cut back on the salt.Quick and easy to prepare. All in all a great recipe. Made for Aus/NZ swap#25

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 February 25, 2009

5 star recipe all the way. Fantastic. The beef was full of flavor, due to the marinating and made such a lovely dinner. I served it with: brown rice, salad and pita bread. Such an easy recipe with impressive results. Personal note: I will only use 1 cup of olive oil in the marinade next time. I think it should be plenty and will give the other marinade ingredients even more punch. I also may marinate them for a longer period of time. We just loved this recipe. Thank you so much for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood January 11, 2009
Shishlik (Israeli Skewers)