Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shishlik (Israeli Skewers) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shishlik (Israeli Skewers)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2014

      Godawful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This turned out to be a really yummy marinade, though I'd dial back the salt a bit. I didn't marinade for the 2 hours, but about 40 minutes on the counter while I prepared other parts of dinner. We just broiled ours in the oven since it was on anyway. We served with hummus, pita chips, and fresh cut-up veggies. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Wonderful! I used lean beef cut into large cubes, which filled 2 large metal skewers. We cut it up afterwards according to our taste, and served it on pita bread with Israeli Salad. It made a fantastic summery meal! Thanks so much for sharing, Pneuma! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Have to add another WOW as many of your other reviewers have already done. Love using skewers as appetizer/starts and this one is delicious and packed with flavor - a real hit at our house. Made as posted with snipped in parsley freshly picked from the backyard garden - there really is something about using herbs fresh from the garden when doing these marinades!I did add peppers, sweet onion and mushrooms to some of the skewers for variety - they made for an excellent addition to the platter! Have I told you just how much I enjoy those recipes of yours Pneuma - thank you for another that has gone into my cookbook to use again - and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      We grill almost daily during the warm weather and are on the lookout for new ways to prepare the meat. Tried your recipe today. WOW! Made the marinade as directed and used cubed chuck steak. I have a vacumn marinater so I used that left it all in the fridge for about 8 hours. Fabulous kabobs, tender, full of flavor and didn't not need any additional seasoning. Served these with Naan, but next time will use pitas to make it more of sandwich. Will be making often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Very nice flavor. I marinated the beef for several hours in the fridge rather than the 2 used here. Had no fresh herbs and I used a mortar & pestle to grind all the spices together into a fine powder. They turned out great grilled on the BBQ and served in a pita with tzatziki and lettuce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Loved this and look forward to taking the remainder to a BBQ tomorrow! I thought the olive oil not only carried the other flavors through but added a lot of flavor in itself so it's worth using a good variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      We all loved this. It made a great Shabbat dinner with Herbed Israeli Couscous and a salad of lettuce, tomato, green bell pepper, cucumber and a dressing of EVOO, lemon juice, parsley and garlic. I'll make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Great recipe with great flavor. My cooking time was a total of 14 minutes also, although I had the cubes cut a bit on the large side but it was perfect. I did cut back on the salt.Quick and easy to prepare. All in all a great recipe. Made for Aus/NZ swap#25

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      5 star recipe all the way. Fantastic. The beef was full of flavor, due to the marinating and made such a lovely dinner. I served it with: brown rice, salad and pita bread. Such an easy recipe with impressive results. Personal note: I will only use 1 cup of olive oil in the marinade next time. I think it should be plenty and will give the other marinade ingredients even more punch. I also may marinate them for a longer period of time. We just loved this recipe. Thank you so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Wow! These have a wonderful flavor. I marinated mine for about 4 hours. They weren't very tender but I believe that was due to my cut of beef. I grilled mine on the barbecue and served it with a tasty coleslaw. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Delicious!!!! I cheated and didn't bother cutting mine into pieces and skewering. I used ribeyes and marinated them for about two hours and then grilled. I did brush on some of the marinade in very beginning of grilling. Made for zaar stars tag. Thanks Pneuma for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is very tasty! I used beef rib steak and cut it into chunks as best I could. My herbs were fresh from the garden. This was an easy marinade to toss together, and really gave great depth of flavor to the meat. Thanks, Pneuma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      I chose to surprise my DH by making this dish for him. He loved this dish. I chose to cook them in our grill pan which I think worked. Thanks for posting this recipe for us to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      these were really good. I used fresh pasley & thyme as they were in my garden. Made for Let's Get Skewered Tag Game -- May 2008 in the Aisan forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Oh yum-MERS! This Shishlik recipe is right on and oh so tasty. I followed this exactly, except since I used beef cubes (already cut) I placed this in the marinade on Friday, turning them in the Ziploc bag every couple of hours. The taste that infused into the meat was outstanding. I used fresh thyme and fresh parsley which really gave the meat a even more. packed full of "WOW" factor. I preheated our grill to "screaming hot" oiled the grates and put these succulent pieces of meat right on top and basted them every couple of minutes. This was really really nice, added some fresh grilled tomatoes to some rice pilaf and ate away. Perfect, will use this as my "go" to recipe for Shishlik. Thank you so much Pneuma

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      We made this with beef and had to cook it under the broiler because our grill was out of propane. Dumped the extra marinade with its veggies on top midway through broiling. Came out great! My DH has a fond place in his heart for "schaschlik" served at Faschings Fests in Germany in the seventies, and this is the very thing. Thank you! Made for Let's Get Skewered, May 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Wow -- this is such a great recipe for Shishlik. I've made it before using other recipes, and this is the best. We used beef and I marinated it early in the morning, so it was in the marinade for about 8 hours. I doubled the recipe because we had guests, and it was all gone so quickly I only had one skewer, so I've got the ingredients on my shopping list for next week to make it again. Thanks for the terrific recipe -- everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      These are great. I made them exactly as posted and they turned out great. I served them with rice salad,oregano corn and green salad. Since barbeque season is upon us I will be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      Yum and easy! I made half the serving (Just to feed three people) today for dinner and we all enjoyed them. I had to cook it inside on a pan because it was 5 oC outside. I also used chicken instead of beef and the chicken was very tender. I served it with Tabbouli / Tabouli / Tabbouleh Salad (Parsley Salad) Thank you Pneuma

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shishlik (Israeli Skewers)

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 832.2
     
    Calories from Fat 706
    84%
    Total Fat 78.5 g
    120%
    Saturated Fat 17.2 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 101.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 2408.9 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 29.0 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes