32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This would have made my Lebanese gramma cry, because it was better than anything she ever made! Made a triple batch of this for a family dinner, and everyone raved how it was "just like the aunties" (who have long since passed on). Thank you for bringing back some great memories!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted September 06, 2013

Oh my goodness, this is out of this world! Made this twice and followed the recipe precisely. Marinated chicken for 24 hours the first time and for a couple of days the second time (I try to prep several meals on Sundays for the following week), both times received raving reviews from the family. I served it over rice with some warm pita bread and hummus made by combining in a small food processor a 15oz can of drained garbanzo beans (reserve the liquid), 2 cloves of minced garlic, a dollop of tahini, juice of one lemon, and a healthy pinch of salt. I used some of the reserved garbanzo bean liquid to thin out the hummus. Once in a serving dish, I made a small "trench" in hummus with the back of a large spoon, poured about a tbsp or two of olive oil in the "trench" and sprinkled a little bit of paprika around the edges for granish. The hummus went great with the shish taouk. This is definitely a keeper which will be made in our home weekly. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls December 15, 2012

OMG - this is FANTASTIC. It's excellent both grilled and simmered on the stove top.

I was out of sumac the first time I made this, but it still tasted amazingly perfect. The whole family loves this. I add a tablespoon of ground thyme to make it more authentically Arabic.

Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl July 05, 2012

this is a family friendly recipe. I have to say not one of my kids cried at the dinner table and 3 out of 4 kids ate it. Lately, my 2 year old hasnt eaten anything I make. It was a good easy to prepare dinner and will make it again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexi L March 21, 2011

My Lebanese boyfriend declared it authentic and delicious. I love it because there's no cinnamon, cloves, cumin or coriander which I am not crazy about yet they often appear in middle eastern recipes. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp March 03, 2011

I made this a couple of weeks ago. It was fantastic. I made some changes like adding cayenne and forgoing sumaq.I pan-fry the chicken instead of grilling. My husband and I loved it! I'm making them again today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shacook September 14, 2010

Really good chicken skewers. I marinated overnight and cooked on the BBQ for lunch the next day, was a big hit with my guests and especially my teenage kids who can be hard to please sometimes. I will definately be makeing these again. Thankyou for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyrandia September 08, 2010

Grilled these on the BBQ and they were really yummy. Followed the recipe but marinated them overnight in a large ziplock bag because I wanted them for lunch. Really messy though skewering them but that is just my feeling of sticking my hands in the marinade to search for the chicken...I tried to find pickled turnips to go with this but no such luck. I know there are recipes here but they needed time to pickle and didn't have that time. Guess I will have to find a place on line to order them from. I think I would of liked a little sauce to dip them in so next time I make these I will make some garlic sauce. But the flavor of the marinade is very good tasting and so easy to get the marinade ready. MMMmmm....will keep this recipe...thanks for sharing justcallmetoni....Was a delicious lunch with Mediterranean Salad Mediterranean Salad

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny August 30, 2010

I made a vegetarian version of this recipe using White Wave brand seitan, fat free Greek yogurt, and lemon zest in place of the sumaq because I didn't have any on hand. It was absolutely delicious--moist, flavorful, and satisfying. I broiled the skewers along with veggie skewers made with red bell peppers, onions, mushrooms, and zucchini that I had tossed with olive oil, sea salt, and pepper. Served with the Lebanese Bulgur recipe on this site, a dollop of yogurt, and spicy pickles. It was perfection! Thank you for a fantastic recipe. I will be making this again this week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie McCookerpants April 25, 2010

One of the best recipes for chicken skewers out there. I had this at a Middle Eastern restaurant in Dallas last year. These chicken kabobs was much better then the restaraunt. Only thing different I do is substitute sumaq for lemon zest from a lemon peeling with a pinch a salt. I also broil the chicken skewers in the oven for about 10 to 12 minutes per side. I still have yet to try it on the grill, which I'm sure is much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
balady3 December 26, 2009
Shish Taouk - Lebanese Chicken Skewers