Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shish Taouk (Chicken Kebab Recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Shish Taouk (Chicken Kebab Recipe)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2007

      Very tasty! We cook and eat lebanese food pretty often, so we were excited to try this recipe for kebabs. We made sirloin and chicken kebabs and they were a hit. We served them with rice (a simple Lebanese recipe from a grandmother), grilled veggies, pita and tzatziki (Tzatziki), holding the garlic everywhere due to allergies in the crowd. Still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I made this tonight and it was amazing. I was very wary of using cinnamon as I hate it, but you can't taste it at all. The chicken was so moist and juicy and it tasted fantastic!!! I served it in pittas with salad, garlic mayo and lemon wedges.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Very good and simple recipe. Chicken was super moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Very good - would make it again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Ok-I admit it. I was skeptic when I read cinnamon too. But I threw all the ingredients together (with extra garlic, of course). Then i cooked it in a pan. My brother had it in a pita with cucumbers and tomatoes. And I ate mine on a bed of rice and topped with carmelized onions. SOOOOOO delicious! This is definitely a keeper! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      super good ... moist .. tasty and eazy to make ... i had this with vegetable and it was beautifull ...i put this in a pita with garlic sauce the day after and it was delicious ... thanks alot fortha good recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Awesome! We liked it very much. Easy to make and it tasted great. We made it the day after again (!) and served it with Tabouli. We were looking for another marinade than our usual one and this dish turned out to be a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      5 stars from me too! The spices are different, but very good. The flavor reminds me of one of my favorite appetizer recipes. I threaded onions, bell peppers, and zucchini on the skewers too. I will make this one again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      I wasn't too sure about the combination of spices either but tried it with thinly sliced strips of turkey instead of chicken. Results were fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      These are fantastic. We eat a lot of grilled chicken, so I'm always looking for a new homemade marinade. I was a bit leery about using cinnamon and allspice with chicken - but the taste is wonderful. I grilled them on skewers with red onions. Tomorrow's lunch is leftovers in a pita bread with hummus, onion and tomato. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      Perfection!!!! Served on romaine leaves and along with a Greek salad. I marinaded the meat all afternoon in the refrigerator, used metal skewers to broil the cubes in the oven for about 10-11 minutes. The chicken was incredibly tender and flavourful. Thanks for the good, clear directions too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      mmm delicious! loved the combination of flavours. I served them in Romane lettuce leaves which we wrapped aroung them and ate by hand, they were wonderfull. Grilled them on our indoor grill, we will make them again, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I absolutely loved it. Thanks novembersong!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Super 5 star recipe! I made this tonight to go with Greek Potatoes, and made a Tzatziki Sauce to go with the chicken, wonderful! I cooked it in the george foreman grill. The chicken got the nice grill marks that compliment this recipe, can't wait to get out the real grill for this recipe this summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      wonderfull flavor and very moist. I marinaded chicken portions in the mixture, using the lime juice suggested, then grilled over the embers of a fire. I stabbed the thickest parts a few times to allow the marinade to penetrate more easilly. I would not change a thing and have added tomy 'tried and tested' file

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      I just made this past Saturday...I made it pretty much the same measurement except for a little less on cinnamon and more for garlic (2 garlic cloves per lb)...which I multiplied it by 6X as I used 6 lbs for a group of 6 big eaters...we had 3 skewers left.
      We all LOVED the taste of it! It was AWESOME!! Next time, I will make it exactly as the recipe calls for but will still double garlic. Oh, I also added about 2 tbs of greek seasoning. Also served hummus, pita bread, tzatziki, grilled zucchini. We all put tzatziki on top of chicken kebab pieces into halved pita bread and ate it to our hearts' content. It was that delicious!! Thanks for this recipe and it's definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      Don't be put off by the cinnamon -- these were flavorful and loved by the entire family, all 3 generations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      Good but not more. I used extra fresh pressed garlic as well, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, freshly squeezed lemon juice plus the rest of the ingredients. I also added red bell pepper & red onion to the skewers. I did ours under broil. I`d use another recipe ext time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shish Taouk (Chicken Kebab Recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.6
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    59%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 508.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes