62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed the recipe exactly & marinated the meat for 48 hours in a ziploc bag. I was out of charcoal & had to bake my shishkabobs. I baked them at 325 degrees for 40 minutes, rotating them every 10 minutes and using the marinade as a basting sauce. My family loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gimmegimmebeer May 14, 2010

I like this even better than my usual marinade recipe. The ketchup adds a nice flavour and thickens the marinade at the same time. I did the cut sugar back a bit. This is a keeper, thx!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word June 19, 2011

This marinade is awesome! Everyone that has tried it has asked for the recipe. I love that its a thicker sauce so I don't have to keep brushing it on. It goes with everything ~ LOVE IT!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loresasmom May 31, 2009

This recipe is so easy and so ridiculously good that I had to review it! I followed the recipe exactly except I doubled the recipe and used half for marinade and heated the other half on the stove to use as a drizzle after the shish kabobs were done. Put the kabobs on top of some jasmine rice and drizzle with the extra sauce and you have a dish that is better than what any restaurant would have to offer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie M. May 18, 2014

This was really good. Salty and sweet at the same time. Because of the high sugar content, it burns really easily so be careful to cook low and slow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. July 27, 2013

I made this for my boys' 18th birthday party and it fed a crowd of 6 18-year-olds. I used 2.5 pounds of steak and two white onions, one red onion, one red bell pepper, on big summer squash and two green peppers. I served with rice to help fill their tummies. IT WAS A BIG HIT. The boys loved the marinade but I thought it had waaaaaaay too much sugar. I would cut the sugar back to a 1/4 cup and it would be just right (considering that ketchup is full of sugar too.).. I might also use fresh ginger, chopped as opposed to the powdered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
konacoconuts June 22, 2013

Very easy marinade! I used it on shrimp, chicken, mushrooms,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SavyB June 17, 2013

Fantastic flavor, will make again! We made these and some baked beans (Baked Beans) and my husband and I like the sauce from the beans on the meat. In fact, my husband took the stuff off of the skewers and mixed it in with the beans! Weird, but really good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ax August 04, 2011

We used this marinade for chicken kabobs (with red onion, green pepper and fresh pineapple) - WOW! It was fabulous! The only change I made was that I didn't marinade the veggies. Instead, I brushed the marinade over the whole kabob before grilling. The marinade is sweet, but not too sweet! (If that makes any sense!) Combined with that fabulous grilled flavor, it was wonderful! Thank you so much for a great recipe that I can make without an extra trip to the store!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne April 17, 2008

This recipe was easy and outstanding. Made one batch marinated overnight and one marinated for 3 hrs. Both came out great and everyone loved it. Even guys were asking me for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 26, 2015
Shish Kabob Marinade