11 Reviews

WOW! What a lifesaver you are!! I needed something quick, easy, inexpensive and teenagers would like as well as husband and self. This fits the bill 100%. It made a lot, thank goodness because they ate it all. How do you feed a hungry ball team? This is the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelbyville Cook May 28, 2010

THANK YOU!! We love this recipe. I use Morningstar Farms crumbles in place of the beef and nobody can even tell! Those Mission Carb Balance whole wheat tortillas are perfect for the oven and add a ton of fiber. I use Pam instead of butter. Tillamook makes really good fat free sour cream so I serve that on the side. What a simple and totally flexible recipe! Thanks Shirl!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa and Her Pants November 03, 2008

LOVE THIS! I made 2 batches today, one as the recipe indicated and one with shredded chicken - Mmmmmm! You have to try the chicken - great for all of you on a diet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peyton's Mom May 05, 2008

I LOVE this recipe. I feel guilty for making it so many times and not reviewing it before now. It is so easy - you mix everything in the frying pan, fill the tortillas, and throw them in the oven. I would say that I usually get about a dozen well-filled burritos with this recipe. I must admit that I cheat a little bit and just spray the burritos with some butter flavored cooking spray before topping with salsa and cheese and I bake them a little bit longer at 350 degrees. We have even froze the leftovers and reheated in the oven with great success. Very easy, very versitile, very delicious. This is truly a great recipe that will be made MANY times in this house!!!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe -- I can't believe that it doesn't have more reviews -- everyone should try this, they will love it!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Desperate_Housewife July 10, 2007

Yep, these are easy AND awesome! The only thing I did differntly was leave out the onions...there were plenty in the Pace Picante Sauce I used. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it! I think this is my new way of making burritos now! Thanks for sharing such an awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Troop Angel January 13, 2006

Easy and filling is right Shirl! Might I add -delicious! DH and I are eating them right now. I did use onions and other than that I didn't change a thing (on purpose that is). DH got the wrong beans so when I said, "I think it is missing alittle something"- I was right-chiles! He got plain low fat beans when I sent him to the store. Had I known, I could have added a can of chiles from the cabinet. Well next time I will know better! Still Delicious! We will definetly be having Shirl's Awesome Easy Burrittos again! Thanks Shirl!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie December 31, 2005

This dish is very easy to prepare with excellent results. I used ground chuck and added chopped onions as I though it would add another taste dimension and texture. I used chunky Pace Picante Sauce, medium heat. I didn't have beans with chiles, so I added 2Tbps. of my own frozen NM green chiles. I believe that one small can of chopped green chiles would work too. We really enjoyed our meal and we thought this was a wonderful dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe for PAC.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie November 16, 2004

Easy to make, delicious Burritto. My wife and I added rice to the mixture as well and it was a great touch. Also sliced up some fresh jalapeno into mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew R. September 08, 2015

This is the first time that I made burritos at home and they were fabulous! The only change that I made was that I used whole wheat tortilla shells. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmeyette19 March 07, 2015

Tried last night was a great recipe and easy to fix. Family love it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lschantal March 21, 2014
Shirl's Awesome Easy Burritos