Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shirley's Shrimp Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Shrimp Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2010

      This potato salad is excellent! Everyone asked me where I got the recipe and I told them on Recipezaar of course! The shrimp and olives really add depth and loads of flavor. A new favorite for all of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Make sure you use regular mayonnaise in this, so it holds the salad together. It really does make a big difference! I have made this several times, and have found we love it using the regular mayonnaise. I have tried it leaving the shrimp whole and having it flaked, and flaking it between my fingers and doing it that way distributes the shrimp flavor so much better throughout the salad. This kicks regular potato salad up a notch, as is so awesome to have for a change. It is delicious and now a favorite. This is my go to salad now when I want something refreshing and delicious! It's even great with sandwiches! If you have picky eaters who don't like olives, put them in your blender and pulverize them. They won't even notice them, and it gives it so much flavor along with the shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      We are having some hot weather so I wanted to make up some potato salad. This one sounded so good I had to try it. It was loaded with flavor from the flaked canned shrimp and olives... Don't get me wrong, I love classic potato salad, but these ingredients add another layer of flavor. I let mine sit in the fridge for about 5 hours and it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! What a different take on a potato salad. The shrimp is so great flaked in here and adds such a great flavor. Highly recommend for everyone to try! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This really steps it up a notch for potato salads! I doubled the recipe for a big crowd here for the holiday. I got rave reviews every time I turned around! Definately do use the canned shrimp. It really gives great taste appeal to the recipe. I look forward to having this all winter long, it's so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I made this several times now and keep forgetting to review it, so here goes - I loved the mixture of flavors with the crunchy celery and shrimp. I did use the canned shrimp and flaked it with my fingers, as I thought the flavors would be distributed throughout the salad better using it, than using the whole shrimp cut up, and I was right. This gives us a new prospective on potato salad and my whole family LOVES this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Definately use the canned shrimp in this so it infuses it's flavors into the potatoes. Wow, was this good! We ate it for 2 days and wished I had doubled the recipe. This is one of those salads that go great with anything from fried chicken to steaks on the barbie and anything in between. So much tastier than potato salads.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      A wonderfully delicious potato salad which we have thoroughly enjoyed over the past few days - and the flavours have melded so well that it's become increasingly yummy each day! So if you are making this for guests, do make it the day before you're serving it. I used some plump and superbly flavoursome fresh shrimps - well, actually, we call them prawns! ;) I added the mashed boiled eggs as suggested in #19, some minced garlic and fresh dill but otherwise made this potato salad exactly to the recipe. We SO enjoyed this that I'm planning to make it again next weekend to take to a friend's place for dinner. Thank you so much for sharing yet another super recipe, Linda. Made for Zaar Stars Tag - and what a star recipe this one is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Had this recipe along with Sticky Chicken and it was delicious. We made as written, because we like a nice held together potato salad without it being runny. Came out perfect! Loved the addition of the canned shrimp. We drained it well and flaked it per instructions. Couldn't have tasted better. This gets more then 5 stars from us, although 5 will have to do, as that's as high as they go! We will make this often now that we have a recipe that we finally all agree on that is the best for our tastes! Excellent -Thanks Linda for this winner! Tony

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • This is one tasty Potato Salad Linda! I drained the canned shrimp well and it wasn't soggy at all. In fact, using the shredded canned shrimp incorporated it well into the salad, giving flavor throughout the salad instead of just individual shrimp scattered in the salad as Parsley suggests. Parsley's picture looks totally different than it should because she used whole shrimp, and it looks soupy. Mine came out exactly as Linda's did in her pictures, using the shredded canned shrimp, and the texture and the flavor from the canned shredded shrimp pulled the salad together. Also, I can't imagine putting garlic powder in this recipe, as I don't think it would taste right with the flavors of this salad, and using mayo and sour cream would make this soupy as well. The mayonnaise gives it the texture and taste it needs to make this really special. Sometimes just following the recipe as written is best! It's excellent as written. Make it that way, and you won't be disappointed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      What a great combination! I made this just as written, using variation in step #18, the chopped onion. You gotta have chopped onion in tator salad! This salad seemed too good to use those salty, soggy canned shrimp, so I used 8 oz of thawed tiny shrimp. I agree with all the other reviewers about adding dill or Old Bay or cayenne. Thanx for a great new picnic salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2003

      Very easy a wonderful addition to family get togethers or pot luck lunchens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

      Very good version of potato salad. We like to try different ones and yours was delicious. We loved the shrimp in this. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      Loads of flavor is this salad. What a nice change for us! We all loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Bland. If somebody else made it and didn't tell me there was shrimp in there, I seriously wouldn't have noticed. I think all it did really was add texture. I brought this to a 4th of July party and on a scale of 1-10, the guests rated it a 6. It's not bad, it's just not particularly great either. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      I saw this in a review and knew I had to try it while the warm weather was still here. Needless to say, it far exceeded my expectations and was full of flavor from the shrimp, crunchy from the celery and totally delicious from the other ingredients! This is a keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I followed the recipe and it turned out delicious! I made it to go to my sister's house and the whole family dug in and enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      What a refreshing and delicious salad this makes! We used the flaked can shrimp and it was so flavorsome with it, that I can't imagine it having the same flavor with the whole shrimp, which it looks like they used in the picture posted. I look forward to passing on this recipe to my family and friends, and I am sure they will enjoy it as much as we do! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This recipe made with the canned shrimp is perfect. I read one posters comments about drying the carrots so it won't be soggy. There is absolutely no need to do this. Made as written with canned shrimp, this salad isn't soggy at all. As a matter of fact it molds together and you can actually put it in a 1 c. measuring cup and make it the shape of the cup and it stands on its own! Looks real pretty too. I added shaved carrot and an olive on top and it looked pretty as a picture. Wish I had a camera so I could take a picture. We couldn't stop eating this salad it was so delicious! We will have many many times in the future! Thank you for sharing another great recipe with us Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Update - I have made this several times now for different events that I have to bring something to. My SIL raved about it and said it was the best thing at her back yard barbecue yesterday, and that's a huge compliment coming from her! Everyone requests the recipe where ever I bring it, and when they find out how easy it is to make they can't believe they never heard of the recipe or had it before! If you haven't tried this salad and you are a shrimp lover, you are missing out on one awesome dish!!! ...... AWESOME just about sums this salad up! Made with canned shrimp and followed the recipe exactly. We had along with lots of other goodies at our 4th of July cookout. It was so flavorful and delicious that everyone raved about it! I had 4 ladies ask me for the recipe. Very popular dish and one I will make often, as my whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Shrimp Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (573 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 820.5
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    31%
    Total Fat 28.4 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 56.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 912.3 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 128.6 g
    42%
    Dietary Fiber 14.4 g
    57%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites