43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this now for two years in a row and it fast became our favorite recipe for stuffing and the only one we will use from now on. You can control how dry or moist the stuffing is by adding the stock to your liking, keeping in mind that the juices from the turkey will add to the moisture during roasting time. Flavors are so good that I was asked to make a larger batch this year!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette November 29, 2010

This was a great stuffing recipe. I tried it twice... once with bread and once with prepared bread cubes (that were dry already). I felt like the prepared bread cubes stood up to the moisture and baking time better than just the bread. I followed the recipe as is, minus using the neck and gizzards. Solid recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish August 21, 2013

This was ok, but tasted a bit too much like saltine cracker

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u October 10, 2011

This was a crowd pleaser at Thanksgiving this year.. I let my wife prepare the gizzards, livers, sausage, onions, etc. Once she got that done, I prepared the stuffing and we stuffed the bird and preheated the oven. The stuffing has a great flavor and we love this stuff!!! Previous Review: I had to try this out before Thanksgiving to see how good it was. The family said they loved it, so we will be adding this to our Thanksgiving table this year! I loved the sausage in it and it has great flavors from the meat drippings from cooking it inside an oven roaster chicken. We can't wait to try it with turkey soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davidthurston1960 December 03, 2010

Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim K December 03, 2010

This is so worth making for the holidays! It tasted so good, I couldn't keep my mitts out of it even when I was preparing it! My family raved and raved how good it was compared to what I have had in the past. This is going into my favorite file to use for all our holidays together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pots & Pans November 28, 2010

This is a great stuffing! My whole family dug in and devoured it! I love the addition of the sausage and turkey parts. I will be using this again at Christmas, but I am sure we will have it throughout the year too. It's deeeliciousssssss!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyCookiesCrumble November 27, 2010

This recipe was very similar to the one my mom used. Her recipe uses uncooked sausage and an egg but i find that recipe a little too moist and takes alot longer to cook. I am definitely looking forward to trying it this way with cooking the sausage first. Thanks so much :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ldyzimmr November 13, 2010

We loved this stuffing. I made a roasted chicken the other night and I made this to go along with it. I did not stuff it, just baked it in a casserole, but we loved it all the same. I will use thes next holiday, I cant wait for my extended family to try it. Thank you for sharing this yummy stuffing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 19, 2010

Stuffing is one of my favorite things with turkey and this was the best stuffing we have had. I will be making this again for Christmas with cheers from the gang here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idaframe December 11, 2009
Shirley's Sausage Stuffing