Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2008

      We love our beef, and making ours this way, saves on my oven, and comes out great every time. The onions and garlic give good flavor to the roast, and it's a simple recipe to follow. Make sure you let the roast sit for about 15 minutes when you take it out, so the juices stay in the roast when you cut it. Made great gravy too. I left the onions in and just used the goodies in the pan, added water and cornstarch, and in a minute or two, I had some great stuff to pour over our meat and mashed potatoes. We had carrots and a salsd to go with it, and we loved it all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      i made this a few months ago and it was perfect - followed recipe and the timing was just right. everyone loved it. i'm making it again tomorrow. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Came out med-rare using a 5 lb. Tri Tip roast and leaving in the oven 1 hour 15 minutes. Just the way we like it! I will use this method for my roasts from now on. Heck, it saves on electricity, and with the prices so high, why not? Not to mention how delicious and flavorful it turns out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Not perfect, sorry. It was edible, but far from the best, I'll go back to the traditional method for my future roasts. I happened to this recipe by chance and with so many 5-star reviews I perhaps expected too much...? The garlic powder and the onions only served to further disappoint. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

    • on August 21, 2008

      By far the best, most evenly cooked, juicy, fool proof way to make a perfect roast...with any cut! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Sorry, I had a very hard time eating your roast. It was way to rare for me, although, I was able to eat the end piece. On that note, I gave you a five star rating because my family thought it was the best Beef roast they have ever had---go figure--lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Land sakes alive this roast was Outstanding!!! I used an eye of the round roast. Cooked as directed and it came out tender, juicy and flavors were delicious! This is my new way for cooking roasts from now on! Thank you for sharing this method with us! Worked perfectly! By the way, the drippings made an excellent gravy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I made my meat using this method and used #238069 to rub on my meat . The rub was good, and the roast came out perfect! Next time I will try it with just the onion and garlic powder and I am sure we will love it that way! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I have made this at least 10 times now and just have to say this roast comes out perfect every time. Just follow the directions and it will be perfect for you too! Excellent way to fix a roast. We all love it here Linda. Makes a luscious gravy too! I'm not going to waste my time looking for more recipes when this simple recipe works so well. Thanks Linda ~ Ann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I have been cooking for over 20 years and could never make a good eye round roast. OMG!!! Thank you soooo much!!!!! Perfect all the way through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      We had company this weekend and I made this roast. It was a 5 lb. roast. I baked it at 500 for 15 minutes then turned it off and let sit for 1 hr 15 minutes. It came out perfectly med-rare. I let it sit out on the counter until it was room temperature, and I think this is the key to this roast coming out perfectly. If I hadn't done that, I think it would have been very rare. Thanks so much for adding that "Key" information into the recipe Linda! Everyone really loved this roast and it made a splendid gravy! This is how I am going to do my roasts from now on! Perfect recipe! Alexa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I will not review this recipe this time as I think my cut of meat, an eye of round was maybe to big or thick but it came out too rare, really almost raw. I cooked it at 500 for 18 minutes and left it in the oven for 45 min. on off. I think next time, I will leave it in at 500 for about 25-30 minutes and then leave it in the oven for 1 hour. I want to try this again as the outside looked great and the onions were very crispy and yummy. Thanks for the recipe I will try it again with some adjustments and then review again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This was cooked to perfection, but I was very disapointed when I bit into my flavorful, cooked to perfection roast beef and it was as tough as shoe leather. This was not the recipes fault by any means but I got a lousy roast. I can't wait to try this again with a better cut of meat....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I omitted the onion but we put onion flakes on the roast beef and garlic powder. It's delicious and we had it medium. Thanks Linda :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This was just perfect. This is the only cut of meat that we like well done. Mine turned out exactly how I wanted it. Served this with your Linda's Fluffy Mashed Potatoes gravy and carrots. Just such comfort food. Thanks Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      i have no idea what i did wrong but i had a 2 1/2 pound roast and cooked it for 18 minutes at 500 shut the oven off and cooked it for 38 minutes and it was very rare so much so that nobody wanted to eat it i had to put pieces in the microwave to finish cooking. I am very dissapointed! EDIT: I needed to edit this review because I think my boyfriend overreacted about the doneness of the roast. My brother thought it was perfect and when I tasted it I did too!! I think maybe my boyfriend likes his meat cooked a little more but when he tried a piece of the roast he liked it too..so sorry about that bad review, I should have waited. It was the perfect roast afterall!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      This roast beef was the bomb. We used bottom round which is the same as rump roast. It tasted wonderful. Cooked just like she said to. One comment is there a suggestion how we can get some of the meat just a little more done. This is for people who like rare to medium rare roast beef, but it is perfect. The taste is excellent with a little horseradish, Aujus or with out. super easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Simple and easy, just like I like it. AWESOME recipe and one that will be my choice from now on. Doesn't get any better than this. Great new way to cook my roast. Loved it! Thanks so much to Linda for sharing it with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I made this for the main dish for our Christmas dinner, and it was perfect! I cooked my roast 15 mins. per lb. and it came out tender and full of flavor! The only thing I did different was to insert cloves of garlic into the roast before baking. Excellent recipe Linda, and one I will be using often in the future! Thanks so much! Jenn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (18 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 11.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    45%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes