Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2009

      I didn't believe this would work, and I thought I was about to destroy a perfectly good roast. But I was proved wrong. This works flawlessly and I thank you for this technique. I look like a genius in the kitchen because of it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Finally, I've managed to cook a perfect Roast Beef thanks to Shirley! Cooked perfectly to 140 degrees/rare. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Great recipe! I used a 2 1/2 lb angus chuck under blade roast. Cooked at 500 for 15 minutes and then left it in the oven for 40 minutes. It was a perfect med rare. I made mashed red potatoes and a simple bouillon beef gravy and added the pan drippings to it. DH, son and I (and the dogs) loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I've done prime rib this way, but never a simple roast beef. How great! I had a smaller roast and followed other posters instructions on how to reduce the time...it was awsome! I've got teenagers and athletes, so beef is a big hit in our house. Will make this recipe again and again! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I made this recipe using a 4 lb. bottom of the round roast. We like ours red in the middle, and this worked great for us! Such a simple recipe and great in the hotter weather, so you don't have to leave your oven on and heat up the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Excellent way to make the perfect roast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      We've had quite a bit of rain lately and this roast was planned when it was damp and raining outside. The roast came out rare in the middle just like we like it with the ends cooked more on the med-rare side. If you like it cooked more, just increase the cooking time and the time in the oven. What a fabulous roast it was. So tender and juicy and delicious! My new way to cook roast from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is brilliant!! I have never turned out a really good roast beef before today. I cook great lamb and chicken, but I always manage to overcook roast beef - not any more!! This was just perfect and I will never roast beef any other way again. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      the cooking method is kind of good but there is nothing like a roast that cook with the juice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      My husband has gone nuts over this! We've never been able to have perfectly cooked roast beef. Following this recipe, it come out perfectly with a slight adjustment in time to match our likes. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This is THE best way to make a roast! Every bite is better than the last. Came out medium rare for us and we love it that way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Other reviewers have said it all, but I second their emotions. This is an amazing way to cook roast that is tasty and saves on the electric bill to boot! The only way to make my roasts from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I made this the other night for dinner. I used a 4 lb. roast and followed your directions exactly. I should have used more garlic powder (my fault and easy fix for next time). Our roast was a little undercooked so I'm not sure if its our oven or what so I will adjust the cooking time a bit. I plan on making this roast many times as I love a medium rare roast.....yummy. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I have made this roast several times now with much success no matter what size roast I am preparing! I had with Kittencal's Beef Gravy, mashed potatoes, sauteed green beans with garlic, and hot rolls out of the oven. The roast was tender, cooked to perfection and one I will use from now on when I make roasts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      For the holidays I tried a recipe of Linda's Sue's Perfect Prime Rib, and it went over so well, that I decided to try this one too! My 5 lb. roast came out just the way I was hoping for, perfectly med rare! I did let it set on the counter for about 15 minutes for juices to settle, then sliced thinly with my electric knife. Everyone at the table was licking their lips as we passed the platter! This has fast become my standard way for cooking roast, and it couldn't be easier, which I am all for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      The name says it all! We had ours rare, and every bite was flavorful, tender and totally delicious! It made the best gravy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I found a bottom round roast on sale yesterday(2.16lbs.) Wanted it to be restaurant quality so I came to zaar and found this! I read and reread this recipe and decided I could adapt it to the size. I baked it for 13min.@500,turned off oven and let it sit in there for 33 min. Dh and I timed the roast and sliced after 15 min. I had no juices in pan as this was a super lean roast. So, I took a packet of au jus and stirred the onions and garlic into it along with the water the packet called for. It wasn't quite med rare but it was perfect for us. This was so well received. DH was in Awe! It tasted like good quality prime rib!!!! Will make often!!!!Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This produced the best 5 lb. roast I have ever made. We like ours medium rare and it came out perfect! The flavor was great and it made a great gravy so we could have some over our mashed potatoes. This is fool proof and is the only way I will prepare my roasts from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Perfect. Juicy. Rare. Delicious. Easy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Picture perfect, perfectly delicious is what this was! We loved every bite and my dad can't wait for me to make a bigger roast next time so there will be more leftovers to bring to work. Hot roast beef sandwiches are the ultimate for him! What a great roast this was. 5+++ stars for this one Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (18 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 11.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    45%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites