117 Reviews

Made this roast for a going away party for my Marine son. It was very rare...just the way we like it! My mother-in-law still brags it was the best roast beef she's ever had! My father-in-law likes his completely dead so he threw his in the microwave and I heard no further complaints. This was my first attempt and I was really just looking for the timing and temp for cooking. I used an onion soup mix with water as a rub. I was leery about turning the oven completely off and decided to lower it to the lowest temp it would go, which was 170 degrees, for the last hour. It worked perfectly. Making this again tonight...for my mother-in-law. My father-in-law will likely nuke it again:-). P.S., they aren't married but seem to end up at my house for dinner on the same night, lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaimros March 05, 2016

I followed the recipe exactly, cooking my beef for 15 minutes (as per cooking instructions for 5 mins per pound) and then leaving it in the oven for an hour. It wasn't that rare though... a little pink, but not really rare as I know rare beef. Unless, it wasn't meant to be really pink? Don't know if I did something wrong? I definitely didn't open the oven, I didn't over cook it, I let it stand for 15 minutes... still tasted great though, so will try it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog January 18, 2016

I give this a 5 star. If yours doesn't come out right, here are a few things that can go wrong: 1. Your roast is too cold when you put it in the oven. - I take the roast out of the refrigerator, rinse well and leave it on the counter. I then prepare garlic cloves and onion slices. By the time I do all that, the meat is no longer icebox cold. 2. You did not calculate the cooking time properly-5 minutes per pound. 3. You peeped in the oven. - You MUST not open the oven. Also, I left mines in for an additional 15 minutes, making it a total of 1 hour and 15 minutes in the oven AFTER I turn the heat off, because I don't care for it to be so rare. My roast came out perfect every time I've made it. Even once when I had no onions! Great idea I will use from now on...foolproof.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veronica N. December 24, 2015

I am so thrilled how my roast came out!! OMG! It is so juicy and rare like a perfect roast beef should be.. I did exactly what was said to do and my roast beef was the best thing I have ever made! Thankyou So Very Much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer B. November 18, 2015

Wow!! I always always mess up roast beef so I thought why not try this different recipe and what a pleasant surprise!!absolutely perfect rare roast beef!could not believe it!!i was dubious to begin with as its quite a different method and you have to be sure you're going to get all the trimmings right timing wise as otherwise you can't open the oven door and let out the heat but I will always always use this recipe to cook a nice pink roast beef in the future!it really was so moist and flavoursome and we couldn't have been happier with the outcome.if you're nervous to try this recipe,don't be-follow to the tee and all will be perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgina A. November 10, 2015

This was my first attempt at making a roast beef and all I can say is THIS RECIPES ROCKS!!!! I used a 6.71 lb top round roast. I rounded up the cooking time to 35 minutes since my roast was closer to 7lbs. the roast was not only super juicy, but very tender as well! After pulling the roast from the oven, I did let it sit for about 15 minutes. This will be my go to roast beef recipe. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billyanddaniel November 10, 2015

I inadvertantly got dumped out of my review. I gave it 5 stars. I added a generous amount of kosher salt, onion powder and garlic powder and it turned out delicious. I had bought a slicer last year so I slice everything with it. I sliced the roast thin, about 1/8 inch to be used in sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pizzaraia October 26, 2015

I have made this with bottom round roast and it was very rare but everyone raved about how great it was. I make it often. Can I use this method on a london broil cut as well?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbadkat October 07, 2015

Bigger a 2.9 lb bottom round roast, cooked it for 13 minutes at 500

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel F. October 22, 2014

Oh. So. Good! Perfect rare roast beef! Thanks for the tips!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrhahn88 October 03, 2014
Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef