Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2009

      Not that you need my 2 cents worth, but here goes! This really is the perfect way to make a roast! My 5 lb. rump roast was picture perfect and the taste from the onions and garlic was exactly what I was looking for. I did however use cloves of garlic and make slits in my meat and insert the garlic cloves. What flavor! This will be my go to recipe from now on when making any kind of roast! Simple recipe with amazing results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I have made this roast several times now and each time it has come out GREAT! Make sure you use a pan without high sides, so the roast gets nice and brown all over. Even though the recipe is quick into the oven, it results in an amazing tasting roast that will make you want more! I used about 1 T. garlic powder on mine. I have used 2 cloves finely chopped garlic and it comes out great too! I have also added 1 T. rosemary and rubbed it into the meat before cooking for great results also! OUTSTANDING technique and taste. Makes a delicious gravy too! Thank you Linda! Bettyann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Unfortunately this recipe didn't work for me either - the beef was way too rare. Like another member, I also have a double oven (which also happens to be a gas oven) so maybe this is the reason? The oven was only 'very warm' after being shut off for 50 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I don't know what went wrong. I used an exactly 4# roast at room temperature and after following the directions exactly, I got a 4# roast at room temperature with a browned crust. Very, very, very rare. I like medium rare to medium, but this roast was still mooing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Excellent way to cook a roast! I did a 2.5lb roast at 500 for 15 minutes, then left it in the oven for about 40 minutes turned off. It came out a little on the rare side, but that suited DH fine, and I ate the end pieces. Very lean roast, so I made a packaged gravy to go with it. I wonder if some of the people that had real difficulties with the recipe have newer ovens? Many of the new ones have ventilation fans to speed cooling once they're turned off, which would be a disaster with this method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      I varied this a little. I cooked at 500 for 5 minutes per pound of beef turned off the oven and left the roast for an hour, when I took out of the oven I let it rest for 10 minutes. I just want to say that you are wrong about salt drying out the roast. Over cooking or not allowing the meat to rest for 10 minutes befor cutting is what will dry your beef. Unsalted roasts are flavorless and you can never salt and have flavor other than salt if cooked without salt. That's an old wives tale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Making this for the 3rd time tonight. Makes my roast come out meltingly juicy. I cook my 2 - 2.75lb roast (pre-marinated) for 18 minutes then leave it in for 18 minutes per pound. Comes out a perfect medium rare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      WOW!!!!!! My husband and I bought a 1/4 cow and have a lot of roasts but not sure what to do w/ them- he doesn't like stew. We decided to give this a try for fun I think it was a round eye roast? it was a round something. It was AMAZING!!!! We still talk about how perfect it was, the taste and color was outstanding! This recipe is a keeper!!! We did do it w/ a smaller than 4lbs roast I cant remember the size but worked like a charm! Thank You Thank You!!! We made this a couple months ago. we attempted it again tonight w/ a chuck roast- will update. Update: it was good but that roast would have been better in a stew I think. THANKS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      These photos say it all for me! My roast beef came out just like in the photo, which is on the rarer side of med-rare. If you want it done more, just bake it longer at 500 and keep it in the oven longer. This roast was so tender and the juices so delicious for gravy. My DH and boys ate in silence other than a few groans of pleasure in between. This is the only way I will be preparing my roasts from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      What a magnificient way to make a delicious roast! My whole family ate and ate and ate. We love rare roast beef so this worked perfectly for us. I love the garlic and onion and will now make my roasts this way. It's so easy to throw together and in no time at all you are sitting down to eat. It saves on electricity and the end results are awesome! Thanks for sharing Linda!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Amazing! I use this method for Prime Rib at Christmas time, but had never thought to do it with a regular roast. i did a 2.5 lb. roast that cost me about $6.50. I cooked it for 15 min. at 500, then turned the oven off and left it in for 45 min. Perfect! Served it with horseradish cream. This will be the only way I make my roasts from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I have to say this method is a godsend in the summer when you feel like having a roast. I only had the oven on for 1/2 hour instead of 1 1/4 hrs., which saves on the air conditioning to cool off the kitchen, and also on the electricity, and when you are trying to cut corners this is a great idea! Our roast came out tender, rare and just what mama ordered! You know I will be making this often, even in the summer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      Mom knew how to make a roast! I went 17 minutes after using a few garlic slices, the onion and the garlic powder following an hour to get it to room temp.Then the hour in the oven and 15 minutes outside oven.<br/><br/>Tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      It came out really good!! I wish I would of had a fresh Vidalia Sweet Onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      Thank you so much! I have been trying to cook a roast outside of the crock pot for such a long time now and always I transform a beautiful piece of meat into a sad dry raisin. No more! This method made my roast so perfect and I had never heard of it before. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      I used Cajun seasoning and mushrooms, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      I'm making this tonight, I was raised on this type of cooking method, my Mom made roasts like this several times per year, I'm so excited can't wait!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      I made this roast beef tonight and it was incredible !!! So easy to make and was just perfect. My picky teenager loved it. It's definitely going to be a regular for an easy no fuss meal with plenty of left overs for lunches.... Thanks for sharing Linda !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This came out perfect for me. I even omitted the onions and added onion powder instead. Placed the roast on a cooling rack on top of the cookie sheet to keep the bottom from going stew-like. I usually don't like roast beef but now I do thanks to this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Perfect Rare Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (18 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 11.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    45%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites