Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shirley's Homemade Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Homemade Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2010

      Wow! I thought I was hopeless with biscuits-- guess not! I used half whole wheat flour, so it took a tablespoon more of milk. I also used butter in place of shortening. Great flavor and they were beautiful, too. Thanks so much, and this will become my staple biscuit recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      These are the best blueberry biscuits I have ever had. They are such a nice change from muffins too! I used a floured glass to cut them out. Easy to make and even easier to eat! Just yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      These biscuits were so delicious and tender. I split them in half then topped with Sausage Gravy, for a luscious breakfast that the whole family loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      I made a Strawberry Compote to go over these delicious biscuits. It was the best Strawberry Shortcake I ever had. The biscuits were so tender and delicious, and with the strawberries and whipped cream I was in dessert heaven! I look forward to having these muffins many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      These are so easy to whip up and I made these to have with Sausage Gravy, poured over the top. We enjoyed them with homefries and eggs over easy for breakfast. We will have these biscuits often, as they are so versatile and can be used many ways! I used a glass to cut my dough out, so they didn't look anything like the pictures, and they seemed to rise more. They were so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      So easy to make, & GREAT TASTING, too! These went together quickly & I had several spreads available ~ a light orange honey, some lemon curd (I REALLY LIKED THAT!), & a really thick, homemade peach sauce! Definitely a keeper, & next time I'll be doubling the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Wonderful biscuits! I used these with my Sausage Gravy and Biscuits. My husband's favorite breakfast! These go together in no time, and cost so little to make. Thank you, Linda, for posting these here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Wonderful biscuits. I like this recipe without sugar...I prefer my sugar on TOP of my biscuits, in the form of honey, jam, etc. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Yummy biscuits! We had them to top with strawberries and whip cream. Everyone enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on October 14, 2008

      Very good biscuits. One of the things I love about biscuits is that they are so easy to make and this is no exception. I made ad directed tonight but it would be so easy to add in pretty much anything you wanted at the time (cheese, onion, sweetening and nuts....anything). A great basic recipe that can be as versatile as you like. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This is the recipe that my Mom also used that she got from her Betty Crocker Cookbook. I was the one who took over making biscuits for the family's Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, but I switched it up a bit at BIL's request, using half butter and half shortening. But for our brunch, I kept these exactly as recipe is written, and it brought back great memories!!! Made for zaar stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I made Strawberry Shortcake and used these as the base. I also made them to have with my morning cup of Joe, and enjoyed them so much both ways. These biscuits are tender, and really really good flavored. Perfect to serve along with your dinners, to have for breakfast with jelly, or to use for the famous Strawberry Shortcake. I couldn't choose which way I like them better, but you can bet we will be having them again and again, because they are awesome anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Can't have Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew without having some tasty biscuits to go along with it to sop up the juices! These biscuits are so delicious you will be eating every last one and wishing for more. They are THAT good! I put this recipe in my favorites because they will go great with so many of the recipes I make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I made these biscuits to have with Gravy With Sausage or Hamburger, for a great comforting meal that we all enjoyed! The biscuits were tender and perfectly seasoned with the salt. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Excellent biscuits! I made fried clams and coleslaw and wanted something good to go with them, so of course I thought of biscuits! I doubled the recipe as we had lots of company. These were the best part of the meal for me! DH and the rest of the family downed the whole pan in one sitting. These are definatly moreish! This recipe is tucked away in my favorites to be made again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I made Sausage Gravy and Biscuits and used this recipe for the biscuits. These "Bickies" have such a great taste and texture, they were perfect for this recipe! I can't wait to try them for my Strawberry Shortcake and Chicken A La King recipes. You could add fruit to these biscuits too for breakfast biscuits with excellent results (I'd probably add a little sugar in with the berries though). I just LOVE this recipe Linda! Just plain EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Breakfast was special this morning getting to eat these tender morsels of love. Yes, they were delicious! Tender and so flavorful with butter and raspberry jam atop. I couldn't stop with one, so I had 3 :) Great with my morning coffee. My grandmother used to make me biscuits like this when I was a child, so I got the warm fuzzies for these. Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Wow! We loved these along with our ham dinner for Easter. They were all gone at the end of the meal, and I doubled the recipe as we had 20 for dinner. I can't wait to make them again and have them smothered in butter and strawberry jam along with my coffee for breakfast! These biscuits are tender and delicious. Remember to break them apart with your fingers as you should never cut biscuits with a knife if you want them to be tender to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      We used 1 c. fresh blueberries in this recipe, and they came out perfect. These biscuits are tender and absolutely perfect anytime! We enjoyed them along with cocoa for breakfast. I will be making them plain to have with jelly too. Can't wait. Excellent biscuits Linda! Cindy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Homemade Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (501 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.6
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    36%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 3.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 415.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites