19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My Mom always made these at Christmas and kept them in the same container every year. They are my Brother's favorite. Since she passed I now make them for him and still use the same container. They are so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
souplady #2 December 19, 2009

Fanfreakintastic cookies!!!! These cookies are no doubt in my mind the best cookies I have ever put in my mouth. I couldn't leave them alone once they were baked! I won't even tell you how many I had :) I baked off half of them and froze the remaining logs to bake off this weekend for the family. I can't wait for my mom to try them because she loves her dates and nuts!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouLouIzSpoiled December 20, 2008

My Mom always made these each year for her holiday cookie tray. Now that she is gone I make them . This year I could not find her recipe. I decided on this recipe and I was not disappointed . Just like Mom's. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
School Chef December 21, 2014

Came out very nice. I highly recommend freezing the dough before slicing it, it softened up very quickly at room temperature.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieInTheKitchen February 26, 2013

I don't know what I did wrong, but my dough was very crumbly even after being refrigerated for 1 hour :( I had to throw it away! Was very frustrated having wasted all those ingredients.
The filling is very good though, so I ended up making date squares with it. Wish the dough had turned out. I'm sure it would have been really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
germie3 December 02, 2012

I was looking for some new cookies to make for the holidays and thought the photo was beautiful and they looked so good. They are AMAZING and delicious.!! I ate about 5 in a row, and then took a break! My family is going to love these sweet treats. I can't wait to see their faces when they all try them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Only The Best Recipez December 13, 2010

I saw such good reviews on these at Christmas time that I saved the recipe to make after the holidays, when I knew I would enjoy them more than if I had baked them and had them along with the other cookies I made for the holidays. All I can tell you is that I wish I had made them for my cookie trays, because they are AWESOME!!! I could not leave them alone once I took them out of the oven. My sister was over and she said she can't remember when she enjoyed a cookie more. This recipe is being saved for next years holidays, and you can bet your bottom dollar I will be making them then!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli January 10, 2009

This recipe makes lots of cookies and it's a good thing because they are fabulous! What a surprise when you bite into one of these awesome cookies! We couldn't stop eating them! I baked half the batch and froze the rest for later. These could become addicting real quick! Great for the holidays too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids December 31, 2008

After seeing the photos I knew I would have to make these soon, and I did this weekend to bring to my neighbors house. We enjoyed them while playing cards and they got 5 stars from everyone at the table, so I guess you know we loveddd them!! I will be making these every chance I get and plan to pass along the recipe, because this cookie is a winner and one I know others will love as much as we do!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolynryanlv December 29, 2008

Excellent choice for my Christmas cookies!!! I made these using pecans and walnut mix and they are moreish for sure! I have had 3 already this morning and keep going back for more. My DH keeps eying the dish and going back for a few when I'm not looking. Sneaky Pete!!! Good thing they make so many or there wouldn't be enough! Thanks for sharing with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme December 22, 2008
Shirley's Date Nut Pinwheels - Christmas