Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shirley's Date Nut Pinwheels - Christmas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Date Nut Pinwheels - Christmas

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2009

      My Mom always made these at Christmas and kept them in the same container every year. They are my Brother's favorite. Since she passed I now make them for him and still use the same container. They are so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Fanfreakintastic cookies!!!! These cookies are no doubt in my mind the best cookies I have ever put in my mouth. I couldn't leave them alone once they were baked! I won't even tell you how many I had :) I baked off half of them and froze the remaining logs to bake off this weekend for the family. I can't wait for my mom to try them because she loves her dates and nuts!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Came out very nice. I highly recommend freezing the dough before slicing it, it softened up very quickly at room temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      I don't know what I did wrong, but my dough was very crumbly even after being refrigerated for 1 hour :( I had to throw it away! Was very frustrated having wasted all those ingredients.
      The filling is very good though, so I ended up making date squares with it. Wish the dough had turned out. I'm sure it would have been really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I was looking for some new cookies to make for the holidays and thought the photo was beautiful and they looked so good. They are AMAZING and delicious.!! I ate about 5 in a row, and then took a break! My family is going to love these sweet treats. I can't wait to see their faces when they all try them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I saw such good reviews on these at Christmas time that I saved the recipe to make after the holidays, when I knew I would enjoy them more than if I had baked them and had them along with the other cookies I made for the holidays. All I can tell you is that I wish I had made them for my cookie trays, because they are AWESOME!!! I could not leave them alone once I took them out of the oven. My sister was over and she said she can't remember when she enjoyed a cookie more. This recipe is being saved for next years holidays, and you can bet your bottom dollar I will be making them then!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This recipe makes lots of cookies and it's a good thing because they are fabulous! What a surprise when you bite into one of these awesome cookies! We couldn't stop eating them! I baked half the batch and froze the rest for later. These could become addicting real quick! Great for the holidays too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      After seeing the photos I knew I would have to make these soon, and I did this weekend to bring to my neighbors house. We enjoyed them while playing cards and they got 5 stars from everyone at the table, so I guess you know we loveddd them!! I will be making these every chance I get and plan to pass along the recipe, because this cookie is a winner and one I know others will love as much as we do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Excellent choice for my Christmas cookies!!! I made these using pecans and walnut mix and they are moreish for sure! I have had 3 already this morning and keep going back for more. My DH keeps eying the dish and going back for a few when I'm not looking. Sneaky Pete!!! Good thing they make so many or there wouldn't be enough! Thanks for sharing with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Made for my Christmas cookie baskets. These are going to be fought over at my house! Excellent cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I have made many of Linda's cookie recipes I knew I had to make these too. They just came out of the oven and I am eating as I'm typing, and I can't eat it fast enough! These are winners and will be in no competition on my cookie trays once these are tried, if they even make it to the cookie trays. Totally yum yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I made a sample of these to go on my cookie tray that I will be serving at my house this holiday season. They are so delicious! I made some with pecans and some with walnuts and both are yummy to our tummies!!! I halved the recipe which worked out great, as I wrapped up some for my neighbors who thought they looked so pretty. I got a call from both of them saying how wonderful they were. I am adding these to my yearly cookies to make for the holidays. I can see me making them throughout the year though as they are awesome anytime. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Amazing cookies!!! I can see these fast becoming my favorite cookie. The date and nut combination is just wonderful! I made a double batch, one for my gift tins and one for us. These cookies are good to serve anytime, but they sure are special to us for the holidays and I will be including them in my baskets, tins and gift bags for years to come. I can't believe how good they are, and did I mention addicting???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      I made these as a preview for my Christmas trays. They are fantastic!!! Everyone who tried them wanted the recipe. Need I say more?!?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Just like my mother and grandmother use to make at Christmas--wonderful! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      very good, I made the dough the night before and finished making the pinwheels in the morning, I might try using half white and light brown sugar for the date filling next time, I also added in a teaspoon of vanilla, I made this as a trial run for the holidays and will be making them again, thank for sharing a great recipe Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I made these for Christmas Day, and they were the first cookies to disappear from the table! I love dates, so this recipe was right up my alley. If you have never made these you are missing out on one of the best cookies ever! We are sure to enjoy these for many years to come. I can't wait to make them for my cookie trays next year. They were as the stars say OUTSTANDING! Thanks Linda for this special cookie recipe. Christina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      These cookies were a wonderful addition to my cookie plates for all the neighbors and family this year. I have gotten so many compliments on them! This cookie is a new favorite of mine and I will be making them time and again in the future. They do take time to make but worth every minute and they do make a ton of luscious cookies for any time of year. Thank you Linda for this special cookie recipe. Arlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Date Nut Pinwheels - Christmas

    Serving Size: 1 (2205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 100.4
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    33%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 6.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 38.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites