Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shirley's Corn Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Corn Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2002

      Thank you. Mom used to make this dish but I never got her recipe for it. All I could remember was the crackers and the corn. Brings back memories of my childhood!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2001

      MG -- thank Cousin Shirley for me, this was a huge hit at our house. I used frozen corn, half of it partly pulped in the food processor, 2 whole orange sweet peppers, a whole onion, and added lots of cheese to the mix as well as on top. I've already had a request to make this again since the leftovers are all gone. This goes great with some fried sole fillets, mashed potatoes and a cold glass of chocolate milk on the side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2002

      very easy tp make, delicious I wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2002

      Just wanted to say thanks for adding a great dish to my Family Christmas party. Everyone enjoyed it and a couple of people even asked for the recipe!! It tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      This was excellent. Will be making again Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Made this for Thanksgiving. Everyone said it was ok, but not great. Most of it got thrown out. It wasn't horrible, and it could possibly just be my family. They aren't always open to new things. Probably won't make again though. Sorry. The recipe was really easy to do, and mine was not runny like some others had said they had trouble with. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      the flavor of this was good but it was way too runny, should have left out the milk i think and it needed to be in the oven longer. also the cheese looked greasy on top, it was really unappealing,sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Great flavor! I'm not sure if I needed more crackers or less milk, but it still didn't set after 45 minutes cooking. Still had a great flavor and texture though! Very simple to prepare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Sorry, this was very bland and the consistancy was unappealing. I only tried a couple of bites and dumped the rest. My husband did eat 2 helpings, but he said it is not something he would want to make again. I followed the directions to a T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This was great. Instead of crackers I crumbled up some cornbread I had made earlier in the week. Very tasty and will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      Thanks for the recipe! I minced and sauteed 1 red, 1 green pepper, and 1 onion before mixing together. I also added another can of whole kernel corn and used ritz crackers(next time I'll use more) and a handful of shredded cheedar. It turned out very pretty. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      I enjoyed this very much, Mysterygirl. I must admit I was out of peppers, used frozen corn, mozz. cheese, and my last pkg. of crackers (exactly 1/2 cup!). This had a real "holiday" flavor and you can't beat how economical/easy it is! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Oh, excellent flavor! I think I might prefer frozen corn in place of the whole-kernel can, like Merj. Mine also had some extra liquid after baking, which I think might be remedied by baking a little longer next time. I did make the dish the night before and refrigerate it, so maybe that explains the longer baking time I needed. Great dish, thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Great corn casserole. I made it just as written, but put a little cheese into the mixture as well as on top. I also added some black pepper to taste. I imagine that it is very pretty for X-mas with the green AND red peppers; I'll have to try that. Thanx for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      To be honest....I wasnt sure if I would like this at all- but it really is a great dish! It tastes great with mashed potatoes. My dh has already asked for me to make it for him. Thanks so much for sharing MG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      This was the perfect addition to our holiday table. I used red bell pepper to make it festive. Lots of flavor and never even realized I FORGOT THE CHEESE!!!Thanks, I will make this again for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      A keeper. I minced the onion and should have minced the green pepper, next time I will mince the pepper or saute in the margarine. was nice and creamy, then I would get a crunchy pepper and I did not like that. Just a minor adjustment for our taste. otherwise enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Corn Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.2
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    25%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 374.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes