9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Served this to company as a side dish with bbq beef tenderloin steak. I used shitake mushrooms and creamed sherry as I did not have dry sherry on hand. These are quick and easy to make, not to mention delicious. They were a hit and I will be making these again. Thanks for posting Derf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather in Ont, January 10, 2004

The Sherry & Worcestershire just gives a nice littleperk to the mushrooms. I served this as a side dish for Brunch today. I also served pan fried potatoes, sliced tomatoes, crisp bacon, 12 grain toast and Cheese omelettes. The mushrooms were the special dish. Next time I will use whole small button mushrooms. Thanks Derf for another keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 19, 2003

They were alright. Nothing spectacular. I'm gonna stick to my own recipe. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish Za Dish June 15, 2008

Very lowfat but very tasty mushrooms! I added some minced garlic, but made no other changes. Great recipe for the mushroom lovers (like myself). Thanx for a new tasty mushroom recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 15, 2007

Had several slices of meatloaf left-over, and DH said, "I can fix that !!". I found this recipe by accident, and he set about "doing HIS thing". He pretty much started out as directed, then added salt to taste, and some additional sherry when almost finished. Added about 2 Tbsp. butter, on med-high, to bind it. Then poured the mushroom sauce over the slices of meatloaf, "nuked" it for 2-3 minutes, and it was a nice main dish with mashed potatoes !! Thanks, Derf, for a new slant on old leftovers ! Thanks for a new slant

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney March 04, 2007

I used a brown onion that I sauteed first instead of the green onion, and I browned the mushrooms first as well. Then I added everything together with the sherry (I used cream), worcestershire (who could spell that?) and s&p. I topped with some fresh parsley for color and brought to a party. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
koric March 03, 2007

These were ok. It wasn't like we disliked the recipe, it's just that it didn't pop out at us. So, not a bad review by any means, just not 5 stars. But, thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill April 09, 2006

I love sauteed mushrooms and have wanted to find a healthier recipe--one that doesn't use butter and still tastes good. This one was just the thing. The worcestershire and sherry gave the mushrooms great flavor. I did find myself wanting to add salt and pepper to this dish. It brought out the flavors a little more--only used 1/4 teaspoon of each. Thanks for an easy, healthy side dish that will go with anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' November 06, 2005
Sherried Mushrooms