7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this with the lentil option, and absolutely loved it! I even did it without any added oil and it didn't lack any flavor at all. In fact, just the opposite -- it was full of hearty, deliciousness! So easy to make, this one is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook October 14, 2012

Really really good! I loved the flavor of the thyme in this. I used the veggie crumbles (TVP) and replaced the carrot with mushrooms since my hubby hates them, then I added a top layer of shredded cheddar cheese, like my grandma used to. And it came out delicious! Hubby loved it, and we ate a bunch, even still we have leftovers! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT8.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlainaF August 23, 2012

Loved it. Very good savory flavor with great gravy. The lentils add great texture and flavor too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Onehornedone July 28, 2012

This turned out great! Hubby really liked it. I used TVP and added some mushrooms and had to use soy sauce and dried thyme and just halved the amount. I used less soy sauce to cut back on the sodium. Loved the gravy! Looking forward to trying the lentil option.Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 28, 2013

We made this tasty Shepherd's Pie for dinner last night and enjoyed it. It takes awhile to make, but it is not difficult and is very yummy. I used Morningstar brand veggie crumbles, and like another reviewer, spread a heavy handed layer of shredded cheddar cheese on top of the layer of potatoes and then baked. I recommend doing this, as it really made the dish! Great comfort food! Thanks for posting. Made for April 2013 Veggie Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 08, 2013

I made this using lentils and substituting frozen mixed vegetables for the carrots and peas. I'm trying to cut down the use of oils in cooking so I 'fried' the onions in a bit of water and didn't drizzle any on the mashed potatoes. DD and I loved this. I made DH another shepherd's pie using meat. He accidentally took a second helping of the vegetarian version and didn't notice that it had no meat, lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario March 18, 2013

Yum! Great for the cool October nights we're having! I used fresh thyme, oregano, and chives from the garden. Thanks! Made for our VIP of the month in Vegetarian swap-October 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 19, 2012
Shepherd's Vegetable Pie