Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shepherd's Pie With Garlic Potato Topping Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shepherd's Pie With Garlic Potato Topping

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2009

      Delicious version of Shepherd's Pie....I added mushrooms and substituted peas for the corn because its what I had on hand. We loved it. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Very easy and delicious. I did not have savory; so I substituted with marjoram. I also used frozen mixed vegetables, which made things a little faster. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      This was superb. We finished the entire pie in one meal! I added some fresh mushrooms to the onion and used half a bag of frozen vegetables in place of the carrots and corn. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      Loved this! The changes I made were instead of carrots, I used corn and peas, 1.5 cups in total adding them in at the end. I also didn't follow the mashed potato recipe to a tee.. I did use the garlic which I loved. Also topped the mashed potatoes with grated cheese. Baked it all in an 8x8 dish with the lid on. So so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Very good! I just did regular mashed potatoes for the top; just a personal preference. I also mixed some mushroom Better than Bullion into the beef stock. I may have also added mushrooms to the mix, but I can't remember! I'm sure it would be good either way. It was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      I decided to try a new shepherd's pie recipe for the heck of it. Glad I did! I loved the flavor of the meat. My potato topping came out a bit cakey so I think I'll leave out the egg next time. I used a lot of garlic in both layers and was happy to eat the leftovers the following day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      I always thought my go to sheperd's pie recipe was good, but I felt like a change this time. Boy am I glad I decided to try something new. The garlic in the potatos really adds a nice flavour to the dish. I used half gorund beef and half ground pork, since that's what I had on hand. Thank you so muc for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

    • on March 17, 2009

      Loved this! So did my husband & son. I didn't use corn (just 'cause I don't like it in shepherd's pie) but did everything else the same. I'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This was really good! I've been trying to wing Shepherd's Pie from memory and my last couple of attempts didn't turn out so good... finally figured I should follow a recipe and this one was great! Added a little extra meat b/c we like it meaty and used sour cream and butter in my potatoes b/c I didn't have any milk. I especially enjoyed the roasted garlic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This was really good. I found myself lacking in some ingredients, so I had to substitute peas for corn and chicken stock for beef stock. Still tasted great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is a good recipe for shepherd's pie. Unfortunately, the only other shepherd's pie I had before was really different from this and that's what I was hoping to recreate, but there is nothing wrong with this one. It's just different from what I was hoping for :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Great recipe! This is my first attempt at Shepherd's Pie, and boy am I glad I finally made this. It came perfect. Just a few notes on changes I made: I added butter to my mashed potatoes. Instead of corn I used peas. And I didn't have savory, so I used some Cajun seasoning. Also, I needed to crack an extra egg to brush the top with. But as I said, this was a perfect recipe. I'll definitely be making it again. And soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

    • on July 17, 2008

      My family gobbled this right up! I didn't have any savory, but I don't think that was a problem. I was short on potatoes so I put the meat in two pans. Covered one with the potatoes and froze the other so when I have mashed potatoes around I'll pull this out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      DH and I really enjoyed this recipe and it will go in my monthly rotation. I halved the recipe and baked it in a bread pan. I replaced the carrots with green beans, as that's what I had on hand. I made this ahead of time (I like that) and just baked it a little longer. Add a salad and you have an easy, tasty and economical meal. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I have several recipes for Shepherd's Pie. After making this on I am going to ditch the others. I made this exactly according to the written instructions,including the egg, and I could not imagine anything I would want to change. Well-OK-I may use a few more potatoes next time to get a thicker topping. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I had never made shepherd's pie before, but I'd had it at a potluck dinner and liked it, so I did a search on 'Zaar to see what I could find. After reading a bunch of recipes I settled on this one because I love garlic mashed potatoes. I was low on milk, so I supplemented with some sour cream and cream cheese in the potatoes. I left the minced garlic out of the minced mixture, but did use some garlic powder. I subbed peas for the corn and added a leek to the veggies. I completely forgot about the egg and the bay leaf, but I don't think they were missed. Thanks for sharing, we really liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Made this last night for supper. It came together very quickly and easily. After I started cooking I realized that I didn't have any beef stock or consomme, so I had to use chicken stock. I also didn't use the egg in the potato topping and I used 1% milk. I halved this recipe as it was just my DH and I eating. Put it into a deep dish 9" pie plate and it was perfect. Very tasty and I'm sure it will be even better with beef broth. I will rate it again the next time I make it with beef broth. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Great recipe! I subbed carrots with peas, milk with sour cream and I also left out the egg in the mashed potatoes as I didn't think it really needed it. I love the garlic with the topping. Will make again, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shepherd's Pie With Garlic Potato Topping

    Serving Size: 1 (486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 479.4
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    35%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 110.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 534.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 29.6 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes