22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this gem of a recipe thanks to Diana #2's recommending it for the http://www.recipezaar.com/cookbook/2010-Members-Picks-Cookbook-267184. Read the review in the morning; had this on the table for dinner the same day! This is such an amazing little recipe: not only does it allow me to now make Shepherd's Pie 100% more than I've made it in the past, but it also allows you to jazz it up with scraps of things you have left over! I used a 10" round deep pie pan; layered the browned ground beef that was cooked with a shallot and 2 cloves of garlic. Used an entire can (15 oz) of creamed corn with that size pan; then used 1/2 of a 15 oz. can of drained mixed vegetables over the creamed corn. Topped it off with the mashed potoates that I had added the last scraps of sour cream and grated cheese to when mashing. In 30 minutes in the oven, I had nicely browned and bubbling dinner for four. This will be made weekly during cold weather as my husband is Scottish and grew up eating Shepherd's Pie back in the U.K. I also believe that this would be a wonderful and easy recipe to use for teaching children how to cook; it is simple and goof-proof! So glad that Diana #2 recommended this. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef April 26, 2010

This is "comfort food" par excelance! I made this exactly as written. DH, who is the world's pickiest eater liked it. I made a second batch with frozen corn kernels, a tsp of parmesan cheese and a minced garlic clove mixed in. The plain kernels don't make sauce like the creamed corn, although it was also very good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zilla October 22, 2003

Awesome!! I live in northern NH and have been looking for the basic "Chinese" pie that I grew up on & this is it! I did like others said & seasoned the meat during cooking. Added onions, salt, pepper and garlic paste. I also used more like 4 cups of potato to cover everything in my dish. Probably could have used even a full pound of meat and it would have worked with the 1 can of corn. Tasted GREAT!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sowy1 April 26, 2011

I'd heard years ago about a Sheherd's Pie recipe made with creamed corn, but had never tried it. Why did I wait so long. This was better than my usual (longer version) recipe. The only thing I did apart from the recipe was to add some seasoning to the beef as it was cooking. Nothing special, pepper, onions, bit of garlic. I was a little worried because there wasn't any gravy to keep the meat together, but the creamed corn made it work *perfectly*. I split the ingredients in half and baked in individual mini casserole dishes. BB, you have replaced my old standby. Billy insists on it, and why not. Tastes better, with fewer ingredients, and faster. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 March 25, 2010

I make a very similar recipe. Instead of just putting the mashed potatoes on the top, I also line the buttered casserole dish with the potatoes (which means you have to make twice as much). My DH loves this! I call it a poor man's shepherd's pie. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom September 19, 2006

I have been eating this dish for many moons...mom used to make it and I'm 68...we cook the hamburg with chopped onions and green peppers...we put all the ingredients together hot and then broil to brown top of potatoes...we serve with green tomato piccalilli relish

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monkey Dad August 07, 2004

A quick tasty meal! I added a small clove of garlic (finely minced) and some onion salt and black pepper to the ground beef mixture,added the corn and topped with the potatoes, sprinkled with a little paprika.. Comfort food!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada April 06, 2004

The kids love this dish. We also add gravy to the beef and serve extra gravy on the side. Great comfort food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay March 14, 2004

This is just the type of meal my dh likes. plain and simple. He had two helpings and I cleaned up what was left after I finished my first plate. I will definately be making again. So easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel December 07, 2003

In a huge hurry, not enough potatoes on hand so almost dismissed it. No one hates instant mashed potatoes more than I do but believe it or not I had a package of Idaho Instants on hand and decided to use them instead. Magic! I was 'soooooo' skeptical but in the end the whole dish was fabulous and not a soul would suspect that the topping was instant mashed taters...so there you go. Recipe is simple, quick, and in my case anyhow, not time consuming. I love real potatoes and of course that is the ideal, but if you are in a hurry or short on taters try it. I could hardly believe it. When baked, you would never know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thousandislandsgirl May 26, 2013
Shepherd's Pie Quebec-style (Pate chinois)