Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shepherd's Pie Quebec-style (Pate chinois) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shepherd's Pie Quebec-style (Pate chinois)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2010

      I found this gem of a recipe thanks to Diana #2's recommending it for the http://www.recipezaar.com/cookbook/2010-Members-Picks-Cookbook-267184. Read the review in the morning; had this on the table for dinner the same day! This is such an amazing little recipe: not only does it allow me to now make Shepherd's Pie 100% more than I've made it in the past, but it also allows you to jazz it up with scraps of things you have left over! I used a 10" round deep pie pan; layered the browned ground beef that was cooked with a shallot and 2 cloves of garlic. Used an entire can (15 oz) of creamed corn with that size pan; then used 1/2 of a 15 oz. can of drained mixed vegetables over the creamed corn. Topped it off with the mashed potoates that I had added the last scraps of sour cream and grated cheese to when mashing. In 30 minutes in the oven, I had nicely browned and bubbling dinner for four. This will be made weekly during cold weather as my husband is Scottish and grew up eating Shepherd's Pie back in the U.K. I also believe that this would be a wonderful and easy recipe to use for teaching children how to cook; it is simple and goof-proof! So glad that Diana #2 recommended this. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      This is "comfort food" par excelance! I made this exactly as written. DH, who is the world's pickiest eater liked it. I made a second batch with frozen corn kernels, a tsp of parmesan cheese and a minced garlic clove mixed in. The plain kernels don't make sauce like the creamed corn, although it was also very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Awesome!! I live in northern NH and have been looking for the basic "Chinese" pie that I grew up on & this is it! I did like others said & seasoned the meat during cooking. Added onions, salt, pepper and garlic paste. I also used more like 4 cups of potato to cover everything in my dish. Probably could have used even a full pound of meat and it would have worked with the 1 can of corn. Tasted GREAT!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I'd heard years ago about a Sheherd's Pie recipe made with creamed corn, but had never tried it. Why did I wait so long. This was better than my usual (longer version) recipe. The only thing I did apart from the recipe was to add some seasoning to the beef as it was cooking. Nothing special, pepper, onions, bit of garlic. I was a little worried because there wasn't any gravy to keep the meat together, but the creamed corn made it work *perfectly*. I split the ingredients in half and baked in individual mini casserole dishes. BB, you have replaced my old standby. Billy insists on it, and why not. Tastes better, with fewer ingredients, and faster. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      I make a very similar recipe. Instead of just putting the mashed potatoes on the top, I also line the buttered casserole dish with the potatoes (which means you have to make twice as much). My DH loves this! I call it a poor man's shepherd's pie. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      I have been eating this dish for many moons...mom used to make it and I'm 68...we cook the hamburg with chopped onions and green peppers...we put all the ingredients together hot and then broil to brown top of potatoes...we serve with green tomato piccalilli relish

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      A quick tasty meal! I added a small clove of garlic (finely minced) and some onion salt and black pepper to the ground beef mixture,added the corn and topped with the potatoes, sprinkled with a little paprika.. Comfort food!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      The kids love this dish. We also add gravy to the beef and serve extra gravy on the side. Great comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      This is just the type of meal my dh likes. plain and simple. He had two helpings and I cleaned up what was left after I finished my first plate. I will definately be making again. So easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      In a huge hurry, not enough potatoes on hand so almost dismissed it. No one hates instant mashed potatoes more than I do but believe it or not I had a package of Idaho Instants on hand and decided to use them instead. Magic! I was 'soooooo' skeptical but in the end the whole dish was fabulous and not a soul would suspect that the topping was instant mashed taters...so there you go. Recipe is simple, quick, and in my case anyhow, not time consuming. I love real potatoes and of course that is the ideal, but if you are in a hurry or short on taters try it. I could hardly believe it. When baked, you would never know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Too bland if made as is. Added seasoning & a bit of soy takes it to a whole new level.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      A little bland, but overall I liked it. My husband really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      This was really good. I increased it proprotionately for 2 lbs of ground beef and did not use as much creamed corn and mashed potatoes as the recipe called for, but that's because my casserole was not big enough. I also added some whole corn, peas, onions, garlic, cilantro, and thyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      LOVED the simplicity of this recipe...I added some onions and peas to the ground beef as well as some seasoning...sprinkled some paprika on the mashed potatoes...all in all a great dish. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      My family enjoyed this. Very easy. I can see adding more seasonings & other veggies just to have a little fun with it. Got to keep the creamed corn in though for an easy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      So easy and tasty! I mixed in some chopped onions and sprinkled in some garlic powder and black pepper. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      EASY! And tasty. Comfort food. I made it vegetarian style, with meatless ground beef, which worked very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. My family loves this. My brother requests I make this when he comes to visit. This is a kid pleaser. One of my friends makes this and it's so yummy! She add's a can of kernal corn to her creamed corn. She seasons her ground beef with seasoned salt, mrs. dash, onion powder,garlic powder, salt & pepper to taste. She assembles her different. She pours the drained seasoned browned beef in a baking dish, tops with mashed potatoes, then the mixed corn. The rest is the same. Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      This is a good recipe. so simple and yummy. really good comfort food. my french canadian mother used the exact same ingredients but she always put the creamed corn on top of the potatoes, so that's what i'm used to. of course it's the same either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      This is a very yummy and quick and easy substitute version for real Shepherd's pie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shepherd's Pie Quebec-style (Pate chinois)

    Serving Size: 1 (564 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.4
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    22%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 77.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1395.8 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes