Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shepherd's Pie (Low Carb) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shepherd's Pie (Low Carb)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2008

      One thing missing onions and allspice!! It's delicious with the allspice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      The first time of having a cauliflower mash :) I added a chopped onion, a little worcestershire sauce and some garlic to the browning mince for flavour. I didn't put any of the mash on the bottom of the dish instead I put it all on top and then topped with the cheese. I also added a little grated parmesan cheese to the other cheese as I wanted to use it up. This dish for me has lots of possibilities for various flavourings in the beef. Will certainly make this again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Last Updated July 27, 2011
      My version was a little different. The following is from my private note...thanls for a great idea for a healthy alternative to a family favorite!

      Use 1lb turkey. Saute pre-minced garlic in tblsp extra-virgin olive oil, add turkey, 2tblsp Coriander, 1 tblsp black pepper, brown. Cook 1 head califlower in boiling water. Drain, add 2 tblsp Smart Butter, 1 tblsp sea salt, 1tblsp celery seeds, 3tblsp fat-free sour cream mash together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      My boyfriend is on a low carb diet and I've been struggling to find meals to make that still taste great! This one definately fit the bill! Easy to make...I followed the recipe exactly but added 1 cup of frozen green beens to my beef mixture as well as two cloves of garlic and some onions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This was one of the best low carb meals I have made. I did put it together a little different though. I doubled the recipe and put a layer of shredded cheese down in my pan. I added some more cheese to the meat mixture as well as a teaspoon of thyme. Next I added a clove of garlic to the cauliflower mixtre and put it on top of the cheese layer then the meat/cheese layer. After putting the cauliflower mixture on top I added more cheese and sprinkled with chives. YUM!! It was so good even my kids ate it all!!!! I'm excited to have a little left for lunch today too. Yay! Thanks for a yummy low carb dinner. I will make this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      My picky eaters enjoyed this! Very easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      This is a pretty good base recipe. The calories can be reduced by using low fat cream cheese and no butter. I also used the 95% lean ground beef. I did add frozen mixed vegetables along with garlic and a little steak sauce. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      I had this for my lunch today and it was very very nice, I actually felt like I was eating real Shepard's pie, sorry it is a real Shepard's pie as I can't eat potatoes I will be having this as a regular , it has loads of possibilities for other dishes. Thank you for posting. Made for Honor thy Mother the diabetic forum May 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      I haven't tried this yet, but when I do, will replace the ground beef with either ground turkey breast or ground chicken, should reduce the calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Wow!! This was absolutely delicious!! I cant stop eating it!!! Defintely a GREAT low carb recipe!! The cauliflower taste just like mased potatoes. I may not ever eat Mashed potatoes again after this!! 5 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I tried this because we are on a low carb diet and my husband fell in love with it. He said that it was better then my original shepherd's pie that he just loves. I make this at least once a week. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      This was a fantastic dish for our low carb regimen. Easy to put together and so tasty. Satisfied our mashed potato craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      This recipe is quick and easy. It is a very tasty family pleaser. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      Absolutely marvelous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      The cauliflower took a while to steam (I used a colander on top of a big pot since I do not have a proper steamer) so it's not really a QUICK recipe but it is EASY and pretty darn tasty!!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      So yummy! I added a clove of chopped garlic plus salt and pepper to the cauliflower, threw some chopped onion in with the ground beef, and used pepper jack cheese - only because that's what was in the frig. We really enjoyed it; DH ate half the pan! I used a deep pie dish, because there was a lot of cauliflower. Thank you so much for a great low carb recipe. I might just make this again later in the week - it was soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      nice recipe but i added a little chopped onion and 6 drops of hot sauce to the ground beef and 6 to the cauliflower while mashing it and it just kicked it up a notch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shepherd's Pie (Low Carb)

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.6
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    69%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 95.4 mg
    31%
    Sodium 342.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites