Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shepherd's Pie (Gordon Ramsay) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shepherd's Pie (Gordon Ramsay)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2008

      As good as this recipe is, it is missing a few of Chef Ramsay's key ingredients. His also calls for -1 large carrot, finely grated (cooked same time as onions) -handful of thyme sprigs, leaves picked, -sprig of rosemary, needles chopped (herbs added with the tomato puree) Lastly, his recipe calls for 2 TB grated Parmesan to be mixed in with the potatoes and more sprinkled on top before baking. These few extra ingredients really make the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Nothing special, personally I think you're using too much of some ingredients and omitting others.

      Note: Can't believe what I'm reading up there, "adaptation to vegetarian... really doesn't change the recipe", unbelievable, meat pie without meat.. As Gordon would say fu**ing hell, what are you playing at?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I adapted this recipe to be vegetarian and it was fabulous. The fresh herbs and the wine add wonderful flavor to this dish and it smells amazing cooking. It's a wonderful comfort food delight. The vegetarian version really doesn't change the recipe other than to exclude the meat and incorporate peas, carrots and green beans - fresh if possible, but frozen - even left-over frozen veggies works great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      Did you know whoever wrote this recipe, left out 3 KEY ingredients, and one of them is Gordons SECRET ingredient. Look at the video on youtube.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      I just made Chef RRamsay's Shepard'sPie and was very disappointed in how it came out. It called for 1 liter chicken stock which I was a little skeptical about at first because too much liquid and just as I thought mymeat mixture was very soupy. I added more flour and hheated for well beyond the 30-40 min time given in recipe. I even had to add more flour to thicken it up. I feel this recipe was not very precise in ingredients and Ifeel it was very bland and lacking something. The liquid never seemed to dissolve no matter how long I cooked for. The amount of chicken stock was way too much. Won'tbe trying again. :(((

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I tried this recipe but found the proportions listed to be way off. The correct amount of stock to add is much less than one litre 300 ml would be closer to the right amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      Awesome!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This recipe calls for 1 liter of chicken stock, which is over 4 cups, when the original recipe calls for 300 ml chicken stock, which is a cup an a half. That may be why people are having issues with the recipe. Here's a link to the original recipe that was seen on The F Work... http://www.channel4.com/food/recipes/chefs/gordon-ramsay/shepherds-pie-recipe_p_1.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This recipe was rather bland. I researched his other versions as well as the video for preparation on this dish from the F-Word. I am a huge fan of Gordon Ramsay, but have not been impressed by his recipes. He suggests chopping the onion, carrots, and garlic very fine so that they dissolve into the mince. It still leads to a rather bland pie. I have made this recipe multiple times, as I am a perfectionist and wanted to redeem my faith in his recipes, but to no avail. Up the garlic, add more salt, oregano, and anise. Anise will make this dish. I also added a thin layer of cheese (shredded cheddar) between the meat filling and the potatoes. Add quite a bit of parm cheese to the potato topping as it will taste better and brown nicely. I also added a bit of flour to the meat mixture so it would thicken. Still heartbroken that his recipes are not my favorite...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I'm sorry but this is just way too much work for a casserole. All in one dishes are supposed to be quick and simple. This one is not. Here's a trick. Take mirepoix, beef or lamb cut into cubes, garlic. Saute until meat is brown, onion is tender. Add butter, flour. Add tomatoes, wine, worchestershire, spices. Top with mashed potatoes, cheese and bake till browned and bubbly. There. much easier. No measuring. Great result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was good, but not special. I made it with ground beef and added carrots and green beans. My husband topped his with ketchup Australian-style. It is definitely comfort food, but may not be the recipe for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      I'm a Scott and go way back in history this one comes close to my grannys 1840 the only thing she didn't have is ceramic dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Gordon is a favorite in this household. We own several of his cook books, and love his show. This happens to be one of our favorite recipes. We've used it a lot. It also tastes wonderful as a Cottage pie with ground beef instead of lamb. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This is hands down one of the best 'casseroles' that have ever come out of my kitchen!! DH LOVES it!! I did add the grated carrot. Thank you for posting ! After seeing this on Kitchen Nightmares...we also HAD to try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I too was inspired to try this recipe after seeing the Kitchen Nightmares episode. I have submitted my own photos which may be added by the moderators. My variation to this core recipe (as others have suggested) is the addition of shredded carrot. I also added cut fresh green beans. I've previously added corn and peas - depends on my mood. I've also posted some pics on FB: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=72427&id=592797950&l=1cbe84ba79

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I thought this recipe was lovely, added a few things but overall great. hubby loved it which was the main thing. Will use this for a nice easy meal for winter for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

    • on March 01, 2009

      I love Chef Ramsay so what could I do but try this recipe? Awesome! Thanks sooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Si made this for dinner tonight & we thoroughly enjoyed - I'm pretty sure he's eaten enough for 3 people so far & there's still a while yet before bedtime lol! He took ChefNikolai's advice with the additions & they seemed to work really well. A simple & effective recipe - thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      I tried this recipe tonight, I prepaired it for my wife and son, I added 1 large carrot, grated with a cheese grater, and instead of red wine I used a white merlot, Also instead of Ground beef I used a London broil, and pulled it apart rather then cut it. It gave it a great texture and it was literally one of the best meals I have ever eaten, No exaggeration. Absolutely delicious. Thank you CamKayNic, and Gordon Ramsey.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shepherd's Pie (Gordon Ramsay)

    Serving Size: 1 (630 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 866.7
     
    Calories from Fat 505
    58%
    Total Fat 56.1 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 25.0 g
    125%
    Cholesterol 205.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 576.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 34.8 g
    69%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes