Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2010

      Excellent recipe!!! Easy to follow and absolutely delicious! Minimal work with major payoff & satisfaction of watching my husband gobble it down! He likes simple, southern, comfort type foods, so this recipe was perfect! It's definitely going in my file for future use. Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This shepherd's pied was quite okay, but I was expecting more gravy to be produced. Next time I think I'll do the gravy following the packing directions, and then pour it in the meat. Also, I added carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Not sure where I went wrong. It wasn't horrible, but when DH turned down the leftovers the next day & asked to order pizza, I knew it wasn't good either. It might have been that I used leftover prepared and frozen mashed potatoes and corn? Other than that I followed the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Delicious! I forgot the gravy mix (doh!) so no gravy for me, but it was awesome even without it. I added garlic to mine. Can't wait to make it again with the gravy (or flour, as another reviewer suggested) next time! Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      very good one dish meal. Used canned green beans instead of corn. Didn't change anything else. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I made this last night, My normally picky 6 yr old asked for a second helping!! I was shocked. This is the best Shepherd's pie recipe I have ever tried. It is a definite keeper. I like the flavor of the gravy packet mixed with the beef! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      family loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Try putting cheese on top and bake in the oven for 15 minutes.I have cooked a recipe similar to this with ground beef ,corn ,instant potatoes,and american cheese on top.Quick and delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I used this recipe as a basic guide. I prefer frozen veggies in mine so I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies in place of the corn. Also, my ground beef was very lean and so when I added the gravy mix, I also added about 1/2-3/4 cup of water. I did not have any onion, but it was definately missed! My family loved this and it was VERY filling. We will definately be doing this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Very good!! I used frozen corn and peas and 2 fresh carrots sliced thin, with only 1/2 clove of chopped garlic. I also topped the potatoes with grated chedder. I didn't use a gravy mix, but added flour to the meat/veggie blend and it made a nice gravy on its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      This was easy to prepare and good tasting. I only used one can of corn and that seemed to be enough. I added some cheddar cheese to the mashed potatoes and also sprinkled some on top of the potato layer. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      I know I've made something great when my husband requests a repeat! We like to add a little sage & thyme to the meat and some cheddar to the mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      We had this for supper and it was very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      This recipe was great, though it took me longer (about 2 1/2 hours) to make than it indicated. I added cayenne pepper and 2 tsp horseradish to the ground beef, which gave it some zip. Great on a snowy evening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2001

    • on September 24, 2001

      This was the most amazing Shepherd's Pie I have ever had. I added peas and corn and it was a hit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2001

      You can also use frozen mixed veggies instead of sweetcorn.Very easy to make and a nice way of hiding veggies from kids .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2001

      I am a fan of shepherd's pie..i sometimes will use mixed veggies and then top with cheese. it is so good..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2001

      This recipe is also very good with cheese on top! I also like to sub. french style green beans for the corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (507 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.7
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    45%
    Total Fat 33.5 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 100.2 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1720.2 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 32.3 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites