21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe!!! Easy to follow and absolutely delicious! Minimal work with major payoff & satisfaction of watching my husband gobble it down! He likes simple, southern, comfort type foods, so this recipe was perfect! It's definitely going in my file for future use. Thanks so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nashville Novice March 12, 2010

This shepherd's pied was quite okay, but I was expecting more gravy to be produced. Next time I think I'll do the gravy following the packing directions, and then pour it in the meat. Also, I added carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tahitia October 18, 2008

Not sure where I went wrong. It wasn't horrible, but when DH turned down the leftovers the next day & asked to order pizza, I knew it wasn't good either. It might have been that I used leftover prepared and frozen mashed potatoes and corn? Other than that I followed the directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ronandteri August 31, 2008

Delicious! I forgot the gravy mix (doh!) so no gravy for me, but it was awesome even without it. I added garlic to mine. Can't wait to make it again with the gravy (or flour, as another reviewer suggested) next time! Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerSling July 16, 2008

very good one dish meal. Used canned green beans instead of corn. Didn't change anything else. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilquiz February 10, 2008

I made this last night, My normally picky 6 yr old asked for a second helping!! I was shocked. This is the best Shepherd's pie recipe I have ever tried. It is a definite keeper. I like the flavor of the gravy packet mixed with the beef! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misti_Country_Girl February 06, 2008

family loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TimLoriSpeer January 24, 2008

Try putting cheese on top and bake in the oven for 15 minutes.I have cooked a recipe similar to this with ground beef ,corn ,instant potatoes,and american cheese on top.Quick and delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MistyRose September 26, 2007

I used this recipe as a basic guide. I prefer frozen veggies in mine so I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies in place of the corn. Also, my ground beef was very lean and so when I added the gravy mix, I also added about 1/2-3/4 cup of water. I did not have any onion, but it was definately missed! My family loved this and it was VERY filling. We will definately be doing this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin'mamma September 02, 2007

Very good!! I used frozen corn and peas and 2 fresh carrots sliced thin, with only 1/2 clove of chopped garlic. I also topped the potatoes with grated chedder. I didn't use a gravy mix, but added flour to the meat/veggie blend and it made a nice gravy on its own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2makesoup May 13, 2007
Shepherd's Pie