Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2002

      I've loved Shepherd's Pie since I was a little girl, and have been looking for a good recipe for it almost as long. I think my search has ended. This was delicious! I did cut the allspice down to 1/4 tsp and added 3 tbsp flour to the meat (there was no amount listed for the flour addition). My husband was pleased with he results and so was I!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2002

      The combination of allspice and vinegar give it a very unusual flavor for the ordinarily mundane version of shepher's pie that I am used to. This was very good and I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      I haven't had many Shepherd/Cottage Pies because they were always a little bland and dry. But this was delicious... the best I've had. I had two helpings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      This was very delicious and much easier than I anticipated. I actually used a Cabernet Sauvignon Red Wine Vinegar that was a little strong, but I think I liked the fact that it imparted more flavor. Will definately make again -- only wish I had a pastry tube to make pretty designs with my potatoes on top. (Also I used a 2 qt casserole dish and it worked just fine, not sure it would have fit in a smaller one for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      This was delicious! We wanted some comfort food tonight and this was it! Good stick to your ribs food on a cold winters night! I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on the top during the last 5 minutes of baking otherwise would not change a thing.It was very easy and I had all of these things on hand. Meat and Potatoes loving DH had 2 helpings! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I used this recipe to transform my sweet potato souffle leftovers. Made as directed, but spread with the sweet potatoes instead of white mashed. The flavor of the beef is just what I look for in a shepherd's pie. Will be using this again and again, with both types of potatoes! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This is truly a delicious shepherd's pie. I omit the two vinegar-based sauces, since we have food intolerances, and add in loads of carrots. Yum to the max.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I really liked this. I added mixed vegetables to the meat mixture (which was ground soy for vegetarian husband). I only added a sprinkle of allspice, but loved the red wine vinegar and worchestshire sauce punch. Nice meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Excellent recipe. I also like the "tang" the vinegar and worchestershire add to the dish. I added a bag of frozen peas and carrots to sneak some extra veggies into my family's dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      Great recipe but would like to clear one thing up. Traditionally, Cottage Pie is made with beef mince, and Shepherd's pie with lamb. In this recipe the beef could easily be subsituted with lamb to make a delicious Shepherd's Pie, otherwise it's Cottage Pie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      This was the best Cottage Pie I have ever had. The second time, I added a little cheese to the potatoes and added sauted peppers and mushrooms to the beef. You could add alot of things to this recipe according to your tastes, but it is great just the way it is! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Just moved, so couldn't find the Allspice, but otherwise followed exactly. I thought it was quite tasty and would probably make it again if there weren't 25,000 other recipes I want to try too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Like many others, loved the hint of vinegar and Worcestershire sauce and the allspice sent it over the top! Used Yukon gold potatoes without peeling and cut into about 2 inch chunks. Made with grass fed ground beef, browned really well and didn't have to drain. Sauteed onion in olive oil. Made stock with beef bouillon cube. Modified recipe for 4 servings and it fit perfectly in a 1 1/2 qt casserole but I'd say it was more like 3 servings. Whether you call it Shepherd's Pie or Cottage Pie it's very good either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Yummy made gluten and dairy free some like with ketchup some don't. This recipe is a good basis for Cottage Pie (It's not Shepherd's Pie because if contains beef, not lamb). I used white potatoes, an extra garlic clove, light tasting extra virgin olive oil, regular ground beef, white rice flour, Best Chicken Stock, sea salt to taste, freshly ground 4 peppercorn mix, a bit of allspice but I also added my usual substitute for allspice, Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix, less white vinegar to keep with our halal diet, no Worcestershire sauce, instead of butter and milk in the rice I added Best Chicken Stock, freshly ground 4 peppercorn mix, plus the onions. I also cooked some chopped carrot & green beans in sea salt and water and layered meat then vegetables then potatoes and ground a bit of the same pepper mix on top. I broiled the top at the end of cooking time to get a bit of brown on top. I may make this again trying just allspice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Fabulous. True comfort food. I have tried several shepherd's pies and this one is my family's favorite. I love the allspice and worcestershire. I have made this several times and have started adding frozen peas to the meat mixture for some added veggies. I also have to double it to feed everyone (if you have seen my reviews, I have to double almost everything to feed our crew). I use a 9x13 pyrex dish for a double recipe and have not had to add to the baking time. Other than the peas and doubling, I make it exactly as posted and it comes out a winner every time. Thanks, Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      Excellent basic recipe packed with flavor! I omitted the onion (we were out) and the allspice (as a matter of taste), but added a layer of canned corn between the meat and the potatoes, and topped it with grated cheddar cheese. Next time I will increase the flour and use a full cup of beef stock so that it's a little more saucy! I'd like to also throw in a can of green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.9
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    41%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 84.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 791.2 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes