Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2002

      Despite the aparent dilema over whether this should be called Cottage pie, or Shepherds pie, I was still able to somehow enjoy the recipe even though my head was spinning over this crisis. I really thought it was good. I did add a clove of garlic while the meat was cooking, but I love garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      This recipe was exceptional! My fiance begged to take the leftovers for lunch the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2002

      My family loved this...definately a keeper...used green beans instead of peas and more vegetables than what your recipe calls for...am using the mashed potato part of the recipe all the time now to make mashed potatoes with dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2001

      Just to let you know that Shepherds do not look after cows. They look after sheep. So if a recipe is made with beef it is always called "Cottage Pie" if it is made with lamb it is then called "Shepherd Pie". Just to set the record straight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      As a true Brit this is not an authentic recipe. Using only ground raw meat (ham burger) does not give it the texture and taste this truly unique dish deserves. Look in any old cookbook and you will see it should be made with either cold roast beef or mutton and left over gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      I thought this was very good. If you are looking for a somewhat healthier version of Shepherd's Pie, this is a good choice. I was unable to obtain low-sodium Worcestershire, so I used regular. The only drawback is that it could be a little zestier - my family found it a bit bland (but after all - it is a low-sodium version, so I expected it to be so.) Next time, I will still make it low-sodium, but perhaps add some herbs to kick up the flavor a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      I am a Brit and this is not 'Authentic' recipe.We don't use tomato paste, egg and other ingredients in this recipe. And it is Cottage Pie as many other posts have said. Other than that this tasted pretty good but I think I will be sticking to my traditional Cottage Pie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      awesome recipe -thank you. i am a vegetarian, so when i was asked to make this meal, i had no clue. i made a meat version and a veggie version, and both came out great. Modifications I made were - veggie broth in both, instead of beef broth; vegetarian "ground beef" from the supermarket; corn peas and carrot frozen mix for the vegetables; i left out the egg for cholesterol/vegetarian reasons. love the idea of boiling the garlic with the potatoes - very subtle flavor. super easy to make, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      I'm sure it is delicious, however the name does not match the ingredients. In England Shepherd's pie has to made with lamb. When made with beef it is Cottage Pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2002

    • on January 04, 2002

      This is one of many recipes for Shepherds pie that i have seen that uses beef! If it's got beef in it, it's Cottage Pie. Shepherds pie has Lamb in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.1
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    31%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 73.9 mg
    24%
    Sodium 130.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Angostura low-sodium worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites