12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect. I was nervous, spaghetti sauce and mashed potatoes sounded strange but it was great! My husband was so happy and the kids loved the crust! The only change I did was only 1 lbs of hamburger instead of 2 and added onion before browning the hamburger. We will make again such an easy/cheap staple next time we will half the recipe and put in an 8x8 until our kids are out of the preschool age and have a bigger apatite. It was nice that I already had left over spaghetti sauce from making spaghetti 5 days earlier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m February 16, 2011

Wonderful recipe of shepherd's pie. It's great with the crescent dough under. And the addition of spaghetti sauce is great. I used homemade spaghetti sauce. For the cheese, I used cheddar (grated). Thanks CoffeeB :) Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 11, 2011

This was excellent! My wife isn't a big shephard's pie fan but she enjoyed this. It will be added to our recipebook

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lsunset350z February 06, 2010

All the neighbors got together today and cleaned up the leaves before the snow/rain comes back...So I picked this to feed everyone once they were done...Great Choice! Everyone loved it and it was easy to prepare...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc November 02, 2009

This is delicious! I only started to cook Shepherd's Pie recipes recently. I have a great friend that loves them. I had been trying out some recipes for him when he comes over. This one is the one he liked best! So, my search is over! I had never tried one using the rolls before, but it's great and easy! Thanks for posting CoffeeB! Made for Recipe of The Day Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER October 27, 2009

Delicious comfort food! I love the crescent roll idea for the crust, I used half ground beef and pork sausage meat, added in a minced jalapeno pepper and a heaping tablespoon of chili flakes, lots of fresh minced garlic and a large chopped onion in when browning the meat and used old shredded cheddar cheese, this recipe is very versatile which is what I love, made for the Pink event, thanks for a winner Sue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz October 15, 2009

Comfort food at it's best! I halved the recipe and substituted ground turkey for hamburger. I thought I had crescent rolls, but didn't so I substituted a boxed corn-bread mix for the crust. All the flavors just blended together perfectly, even youngest who doesn't like "casseroles" had two helpings. Thank you for sharing! Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtnmel October 15, 2009

As I write this review, I'm sitting, stuffed to the gills on this comforting dish. I halved the recipe, using one can of butter garlic crescent rolls and an 8" square dish. I unrolled half the dough (4 triangles) in the bottom, and lightly pressed them together. While the other half was still rolled, I cut the rolled dough in 4 pieces, and unrolled them to get long strips to put along the sides of my baking dish. I used the frozen steam and mash potatoes (red skinned variety) for the topping and parsley flakes. I baked for 25 minutes, and the potatoes got a lovely golden brown edge to them. Very tasty - thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa October 12, 2009

Very good comfort food! Enjoyed having the meat, potatoes, veggie, and bread all in one baking dish. I had a little over 2 pounds of ground round and used four cheese spaghetti sauce. Didnt have cheese slices so I used colby monterey jack shredded cheese and added dried minced onion, minced garlic, and lemon pepper. Sprinkled with dried parsley before serving. Thank you so much Sue for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 10, 2009

What a tummy-warming comfort food recipe for a chilly early fall day in Western NY, USA. I made a few adjustments to suit my preferences: I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of sliced cheese, added frozen peas, added onions when browning the beef and added 1/2 cup more of spaghetti sauce for more moisture. I made garlic smashed potatoes for the topping, and the whole lot turned out delicious. Thanks for a tasty, hearty recipe! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #32)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe September 16, 2009
Shepherd's Hamburger Pie