17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are AWESOME tasting little buggers!! I roasted these in my toaster oven, which is a bit unpredictable in temp., so I think I could have left them in a little longer as they were still a bit soft. But, the taste is WONDERFUL!!!! I love the fact that this is a sinful tasting snack, but yet it is so good for you! Definitely a keeper! Thanks Clintsgirl!! ~Manda

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda July 19, 2003

OMIGOSH!!! These were soooooooo wonderful! I'm sitting here eating them as I type. They are awesome by themselves, but I'm thinking they'll be incredibly good also in a pasta salad. I don't think I will ever go back to using plain canned chickpeas in anything again. These will be a regular in my house~!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-JL- July 17, 2003

Awesome! The answer to a South Beach dieter's prayer...This will definitely become a regular in my home. After reading the other recipe reviews, I took a few precautions before making this. I prepared my chickpeas using a pressure cooker, then drained and patted them dry with paper towels. I then let the chickpeas air dry on freezer paper for about 15 minutes. I prepared the recipe as directed, but only cooked half for the first batch. They were great--nice and crispy. Then for the remaining part, I added 2 teaspoons of Worcestershire Sauce to see if I could approximate the flavor of the cereal party mix. I baked as directed. It came out fine, but I wanted more spice. I added 2 teaspoons more Worcestershire Sauce to the bottom of the bowl I'd mixed the batches in (which still retained a little of the oil/garlic mixture). I then tossed the cooked chickpeas in that, and it turned out pretty well. I, too, had trouble with the garlic blackening, but I think that was because I didn't mince it finely enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth from Pennsylvania March 30, 2004

Wonderful, tasty, terrific snack! I made them according to recipe, the only change being that I put the drained beans on the baking pan and put them in the oven while it was preheating. (After reading Chef Judy's review.) After adding the other ingredients, I baked them for the full twenty minutes and can't wait to make them again, adding some additional herbs (basil/rosemary/chives/etc.) for variety. Chef Judy may have had the problems she did if her oven temp. was too low, if she didn't stir several times while baking, or if she used a pan that was too small to allow the beans to crisp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina August 11, 2003

Easy to make, however, the outcome is very disappointing. I roasted these for half an hour and I have come to the conclusion that 3 tbsp. of olive oil is far too much. I expected crunch but the end result is more like greasy mush! Taste is ok but texture sucks. I will probably not make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Judy July 22, 2003

unfortunately these were a bust for me. good concept though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu February 22, 2008

I love this recipe. I serve it as a finger food in place of nuts. How to Cook Everthing is my favorite cookbook and I use it all the time. Excellent recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks February 27, 2007

I tried this in the hopes of finding a new crunchy snack that could replace peanuts. My children have nut allergies and I miss being able to have a bowl of assorted nuts in the house. While these were tasty coming out of the oven, as soon as they cooled down we didn't care for them. They need a bit more flavor and I would like to try making them again, adding more spices. They were ok while hot, but that doesn't last too long. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I look forward to making it again and trying to better suit our differing tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic October 27, 2004

These have decent taste but were not crunchy, unfourtunately. I think the recipe would be better with more spice and cooked longer so they are crunchy. I feel like this has lots of potential but the original recipe did not work very well for us. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit October 10, 2004
Shelly's Roasted Chickpeas/Garbanzos