Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shelly's Roasted Chickpeas/Garbanzos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shelly's Roasted Chickpeas/Garbanzos

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2003

      These are AWESOME tasting little buggers!! I roasted these in my toaster oven, which is a bit unpredictable in temp., so I think I could have left them in a little longer as they were still a bit soft. But, the taste is WONDERFUL!!!! I love the fact that this is a sinful tasting snack, but yet it is so good for you! Definitely a keeper! Thanks Clintsgirl!! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      OMIGOSH!!! These were soooooooo wonderful! I'm sitting here eating them as I type. They are awesome by themselves, but I'm thinking they'll be incredibly good also in a pasta salad. I don't think I will ever go back to using plain canned chickpeas in anything again. These will be a regular in my house~!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Awesome! The answer to a South Beach dieter's prayer...This will definitely become a regular in my home. After reading the other recipe reviews, I took a few precautions before making this. I prepared my chickpeas using a pressure cooker, then drained and patted them dry with paper towels. I then let the chickpeas air dry on freezer paper for about 15 minutes. I prepared the recipe as directed, but only cooked half for the first batch. They were great--nice and crispy. Then for the remaining part, I added 2 teaspoons of Worcestershire Sauce to see if I could approximate the flavor of the cereal party mix. I baked as directed. It came out fine, but I wanted more spice. I added 2 teaspoons more Worcestershire Sauce to the bottom of the bowl I'd mixed the batches in (which still retained a little of the oil/garlic mixture). I then tossed the cooked chickpeas in that, and it turned out pretty well. I, too, had trouble with the garlic blackening, but I think that was because I didn't mince it finely enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Wonderful, tasty, terrific snack! I made them according to recipe, the only change being that I put the drained beans on the baking pan and put them in the oven while it was preheating. (After reading Chef Judy's review.) After adding the other ingredients, I baked them for the full twenty minutes and can't wait to make them again, adding some additional herbs (basil/rosemary/chives/etc.) for variety. Chef Judy may have had the problems she did if her oven temp. was too low, if she didn't stir several times while baking, or if she used a pan that was too small to allow the beans to crisp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      Easy to make, however, the outcome is very disappointing. I roasted these for half an hour and I have come to the conclusion that 3 tbsp. of olive oil is far too much. I expected crunch but the end result is more like greasy mush! Taste is ok but texture sucks. I will probably not make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

    • on February 22, 2008

      unfortunately these were a bust for me. good concept though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      I love this recipe. I serve it as a finger food in place of nuts. How to Cook Everthing is my favorite cookbook and I use it all the time. Excellent recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      I tried this in the hopes of finding a new crunchy snack that could replace peanuts. My children have nut allergies and I miss being able to have a bowl of assorted nuts in the house. While these were tasty coming out of the oven, as soon as they cooled down we didn't care for them. They need a bit more flavor and I would like to try making them again, adding more spices. They were ok while hot, but that doesn't last too long. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I look forward to making it again and trying to better suit our differing tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      These have decent taste but were not crunchy, unfourtunately. I think the recipe would be better with more spice and cooked longer so they are crunchy. I feel like this has lots of potential but the original recipe did not work very well for us. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      I followed some of the advice from the other reviews and these turned out crispy and yummy. A nice little nutty snacking alternative. I drained and rinsed the beans and let them air dry for about ten minutes. Then, I stuck them in the oven with about a tablespoon of oil and some salt. About ten minutes later, I added a teaspoon more oil mixed with minced garlic and I sprinkled on some chile powder. I kept stirring/shaking every few minutes until I got to about twenty minutes and then I left them in the oven while it cooled. I even blotted off some of the oil during cooking so three tablespoons must be a lot. One is plenty. And, I really prefer fresh garlic, but I think I will use garlic salt next time because the fresh just burnt to the pan. Also, if I make them again, I will probably use at least two cans of beans to make the entire process more worth the time and effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      I got so excited when I found this recipe. I was recently over at some Iranian friends home and they served roasted chickpeas and I learned that they are a common snack food in Iran. Well, within 5 minutes of reading this recipe and the wonderful reviews I had a can of chickpeas draining! I removed the skins and did as "still waters" and dried them for about 5 minutes, then tossed in 2Tbs. extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, pepper, and 1tps. garlic powder. Placed on baking tray in preheated 400 degree oven. After 1st. 10 minutes stirred, thereafter stirred every 5 minutes, for total of 30 minutes. Ate all by myself in a matter of minutes. Need to make more than 1 can of you plan on sharing. I'm most diffiently going to make some for my friends and take as a gift. This recipe was better than what they served. KEEPER! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      I love garbanzo beans so I made this recipe right away and I'm eating them now.I reviewed the comments first and made these changes.I poured the can of garbanzo's into my colander and slipped the skins off, placing them on my cast iron fajita skillet, then I put them into the oven preheated to 250 degrees for 15 minutes till good and dry.In a bowl I place 2 tbs. olive oil and sea salt to taste and tossed the beans in the bowl and placed them in a 400 degree oven.Meanwhile I very finely minced three cloves of garlic.After 15 minutes I removed the beans from the oven and tossed them with a little more olive oil and the garlic and placed them back in the oven for 7 more minutes.They are perfect.I guess I'll have to make another batch tomorrow since these will disappear quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      These were so much better than I had expected!! I am not a bean eater so I was a little timid about this recipe, but they were great! Thanks for Beckah for the referral to this recipe on a request for snacks! I took others' advice and used only 2T oil, and that worked out perfectly. I forgot to add the garlic (too many things going at once), so as soon as they came out I sprinkled with some garlic powder and the taste was still perfect. After cooking for 20 minutes, they were chewy and not at all hard and crispy, so I put them back in for at least 10 more minutes and they came out perfectly crunchy. We really enjoyed these -- thanks for the recipe!! Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      Ok, check it out. If you want them to be like peanuts, you have to sit there and peel the skins after they are done soaking. They still taste real good when they're not crunchy, but they have to be hot and you have to eat them with brown/wild rice. Well, you don't have to, but if you want to be cool like me, then you will. So, in conclusion, if you have time to sit and peel 2 cups of chickpeas so they taste like peanuts, then you are a stronger person than I am. However, I am still a much better drummer than you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      I must not have baked mine long enough as they were still kind of mushy but the taste was great. I'll try again and bake them longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      These were pretty good. Next time, I'll make them with 1 tablespoon less oil. Also, the garlic burnt, but this may have been my fault for grating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shelly's Roasted Chickpeas/Garbanzos

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.8
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    45%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 339.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites