8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very tasty. Try using Laughing Cow cheese instead of cream cheese.. or use both to complete the 8 ounces required. It gives it a very nice flavor. :) Great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laraylise April 04, 2007

I tinkered with this to cut the carbs. I used 3 medium-size zucchini and cut the onion to 3 tablespoons. I also sprinkled a dash of italian seasoning in. The rest stayed as-is. Lots of flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hikerrecycler October 10, 2006

This was quick, easy and very tasty! I reduced the amounts to make just two servings because I had just over a cup of chicken broth to use up. I minced a clove of garlic and added it, and seasoned the soup with pepper. Between the broth and the cream cheese it didn't need any more salt. Even my zucchini-hating four-year-old liked this soup. I wish I'd made the full amount so we'd have some leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonata August 08, 2005

I made this for my dinner tonight, and YUM! I did make some changes (I'm a tinkerer, sorry)... firstly, I cooked it in a crockpot - cooked on low for about 4 hours. I used all the same ingredients, added 1 tsp of minced garlic. In the last 30 minutes I added the cream cheese (softened or at room temp is best, to get it to incorporate more easily), 1 chopped scallion, and about 1/4 cup white wine. Also, instead of slicing the zucchini I grated it - I cut the zucchinis in half so that the grated pieces were about 2 inches long, and it produced a very nice texture; I did not puree any of the soup. I used about 1 1/2 cups chopped onion. This is a very tasty soup! Thanks, crispychick (and Shelley!). :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong November 17, 2004

An excellent basis for the soup i made today! I added orange bell peppers, garlic, and lots of oregano. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne November 03, 2013

I followed the directions to a T and it came out completely aweful! I threw the whole pot out. It was bland and boring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MegReg January 08, 2008

WOW!!!!! My entire family loved this soup!!! I have 2 very picky eaters and they weren't told it was zucchini till after they ate it. They loved it and asked for more... Bravo Crispychick!!!! This was a huge hit. Next time I might try it with broccoli and cheese but otherwise the same.... mmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigra October 23, 2006

Liked this one!! I also tweaked per the second reviewer, minus the white wine. Fast and easy to make. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diest May 05, 2006
Shelley's Zucchini Soup