Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sheila's Peppered Lamb Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sheila's Peppered Lamb Chops

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      Wow!! You could definitely find this on the menu at a 4 Star Restaurant. I am somewhat new to Lamb as this was the third time I had ever eaten it and the first time I have ever cooked it. I cooked it over a charcoal fire with 1 piece of hickory wood to add to the flavor. The only thing I changed to the recipe was to add dried rosemary to the marinade (2 tsp). An awesome paring to this meal was a recipe I created tonight, Roasted red potatoes and Yam's. Went awesome with the Lamb, Sweet & Savory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Have used this recipe many times over the years. Very good!!! Whenever my husband(who adores lamb chops) orders lamb chops at a restaurant, he says none are as good as these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      What a wonderful, flavorful, and easy recipe, that we ABSOLUTELY LOVED and saviored on Easter Sunday!! I made a few modifcations in ingredients and cooking method. I used rosemary instead of thyme, and minced garlic in the jar instead of fresh. I put 2 tablespoons EVOO in cast iron skillet on medium high, and seared the chops for about a minute on each side. Then I transfered the chops in the skillet to the oven set on broil. I followed other reviews that said they put the oven rack 6 inches from the heating element. I broiled the chops for 4 minutes. Removed from oven and let rest for 10 minutes. It came out about medium doness, which is exactly what we like.. Not to pink! Then I served with sour cream mash potatoes, oven rosasted corn on the cob and dinner rolls! It was one of the best Easter dinners I've ever made, and we LOVED IT! Thanks for sharing....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I love Lamb This is a wonderfull. What a great tasting dish! I cooked this in a slow cooker about 4 hours on slow, I placed sliced onions on the bottom then the chops and covered them with the marinade It turned out great. UPDATE I made this in the winter with snow on the ground so no grill available, I made this last night on the grill best lamb chops I have ever eaten I marinated 4 hours you have to try this one!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Quick, easy, awesome. The cooking trifecta! I'm using this one again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Oh yes, this recipe is a perfect 10; I almost think lamb chops should never be cooked any other way; I know I won't be cooking them any other way!!!! Thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This was lovely. I did just marinate about 1/2 and hour and it really gave nice flavour. I didn't have any thyme so I used rosemary that I ground finer in my spice grinder. I love rosemary with lamb. I also love Dijon and garlic with lamb and this was a great way to get a subtle flavour into the meat. I cooked them in my cast iron pan, nicely browned. I can't imagine 1/2 and hour would make a difference to the tenderness, but some were shoulder chops and even they were nice and tender. I can imagine these would be even better over a grill. Simple and delicious! This goes in the "keeper" file!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Good recipe. I broiled lamb chops for 20 mins on one side and another 5 on the other @ 350 degrees. They came out moist and flavorful. Served with quinoa and a goat cheese salad, it made a tasty supper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Better than 5 stars!! This is also the first time for me cooking lamb. I followed the recipe to a T. The chops that I purchased had rosemary sprinkled on them. I barbequed the chops for approx. 5 min (2.5 min per side) at 400 degrees. I also marinated them for a couple of hours giving them lots of flavour. I can't wait to serve this to company. The entire family loved them and DH has said more than once since we finished dinner how much he enjoyed this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Unbelievable. DH says, "really, really good" about once a decade, so you KNOW it's a winner! This is one of those dishes where you don't taste the marinade; you just are amazed at the succulent meat. I broiled in my cast iron pan; such an easy dish to prepare, and fast to cook! Make sure you brush off the peppercorns for the little people, or they will get prejudiced against this dish real fast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Absolutely lovely, wonderful flavours, with tender jucy meat. I used french trimmed lamb chops as that is what I had on hand, so I did cut back on cooking time. I too was skeptical of using soy sauce but it did not overpower the lamb at all, and all the flavours, used in the marinade worked really well together. The end result was gorgeous and this will become a regular on our table. Thanks for sharing mabers, definitely a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I have never cooked lamb chops but they were on sale at the Supermarket that week and I wanted something different. Sunday morning while thinking about Sunday dinner I called my friend and asked her what should I do with these lamb chops? She went onto recipezaar and found this recipe and gave my ingredients over the phone. I dropped everything into a ziplock bag, through in the lamb chops and marinated until the evening. I cooked them on my stovetop grill and these lamb chops were slamming!!! My girlfriend and I were laughing as she was reading the reviews. We were like, "these lamb chops can't be that good, their taking it too far; but they really were!! I added dried rosemary to marinade, just fabulous. Anyway, now here I am adding to they rave reviews. Try it, you'll definitely enjoy them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      This is an AMAZING recipe. I am definately not a lamb fan, but will make it every once in awhile because my honey loves it. We have this really fancy steakhouse in town where he ALWAYS order the lamb chops because, "They make the best!" After he tried these, he told me that mine were even better! That was the nicest thing he has ever said about my cooking! Thanks Mabers for changing my outlook on lamb, I will definately be making this more often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      What a great surprise this is. I thought, like others, this would be good, but I never imagined just how good! I will NEVER EVER do lamb chops any other way! Takes 2 minutes to throw the marinade together, and then I personally let them marinate for 2 hours. Cooked them under the broiler for about 4 minutes each side. I served it with creamy green beens and artichoke hearts which went really well. This is the absolute best recipe for lamb chops - seriously, MAKE THIS RECIPE!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      What more is there to say!!! Yummy & so easy to make. Lovely summer fare with a tossed salad & potatoes or comfort food with baked potatoes & steamed veggies in winter. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2014

      Loved it! I marinated for the whole day and it turned out excellent!!! I did add a little chopped rosemary to the mix.. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      This is an awesome marinade. I usually use dried rosemary instead of the thyme. A hundred thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      I just had less then a couple of hours to marinate the lamb and I knew I would be using the broiler, so I wasn't sure how they would turn out. I made the marinade exactly to the recipe. They were wonderful!! What a great recipe! I eat a lot of lamb and these were some of the best I have had! Definitely company worthy - I will be making them again. Thanks for a real keeper - it's in my cookbook now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      Made as directed. Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!! I loved that the marinade was simple, fast, easy and made from things I had in my cupboard. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I had never had lamb before getting married, and this is one of the first recipes I tried. Fantastic. I have tried several recipes since, but the way all of this works with the flavors of the lamb is just perfect. I prefer a stronger marinade flavor so I tend to mix the marinade and place the meat in it before I leave for work, then cook it for dinner when I get home. I have also noticed that red wine substitutes well for the red wine vinegar when I am out of r.w.v.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sheila's Peppered Lamb Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 672.1
     
    Calories from Fat 518
    77%
    Total Fat 57.5 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 23.3 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 140.6 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1141.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 33.4 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes