87 Reviews

Wow!! You could definitely find this on the menu at a 4 Star Restaurant. I am somewhat new to Lamb as this was the third time I had ever eaten it and the first time I have ever cooked it. I cooked it over a charcoal fire with 1 piece of hickory wood to add to the flavor. The only thing I changed to the recipe was to add dried rosemary to the marinade (2 tsp). An awesome paring to this meal was a recipe I created tonight, Roasted red potatoes and Yam's. Went awesome with the Lamb, Sweet & Savory.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Wahoo June 01, 2010

Have used this recipe many times over the years. Very good!!! Whenever my husband(who adores lamb chops) orders lamb chops at a restaurant, he says none are as good as these. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stevoph March 28, 2010

What a wonderful, flavorful, and easy recipe, that we ABSOLUTELY LOVED and saviored on Easter Sunday!! I made a few modifcations in ingredients and cooking method. I used rosemary instead of thyme, and minced garlic in the jar instead of fresh. I put 2 tablespoons EVOO in cast iron skillet on medium high, and seared the chops for about a minute on each side. Then I transfered the chops in the skillet to the oven set on broil. I followed other reviews that said they put the oven rack 6 inches from the heating element. I broiled the chops for 4 minutes. Removed from oven and let rest for 10 minutes. It came out about medium doness, which is exactly what we like.. Not to pink! Then I served with sour cream mash potatoes, oven rosasted corn on the cob and dinner rolls! It was one of the best Easter dinners I've ever made, and we LOVED IT! Thanks for sharing....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick April 09, 2007

Good recipe. I broiled lamb chops for 20 mins on one side and another 5 on the other @ 350 degrees. They came out moist and flavorful. Served with quinoa and a goat cheese salad, it made a tasty supper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nick Koss November 23, 2009

I love Lamb This is a wonderfull. What a great tasting dish! I cooked this in a slow cooker about 4 hours on slow, I placed sliced onions on the bottom then the chops and covered them with the marinade It turned out great. UPDATE I made this in the winter with snow on the ground so no grill available, I made this last night on the grill best lamb chops I have ever eaten I marinated 4 hours you have to try this one!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef susan from Sandpoint,Idaho July 18, 2009

Quick, easy, awesome. The cooking trifecta! I'm using this one again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tommer100 July 12, 2010

Oh yes, this recipe is a perfect 10; I almost think lamb chops should never be cooked any other way; I know I won't be cooking them any other way!!!! Thanks!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~flour*power~*~ April 04, 2010

This was lovely. I did just marinate about 1/2 and hour and it really gave nice flavour. I didn't have any thyme so I used rosemary that I ground finer in my spice grinder. I love rosemary with lamb. I also love Dijon and garlic with lamb and this was a great way to get a subtle flavour into the meat. I cooked them in my cast iron pan, nicely browned. I can't imagine 1/2 and hour would make a difference to the tenderness, but some were shoulder chops and even they were nice and tender. I can imagine these would be even better over a grill. Simple and delicious! This goes in the "keeper" file!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja February 01, 2010

Better than 5 stars!! This is also the first time for me cooking lamb. I followed the recipe to a T. The chops that I purchased had rosemary sprinkled on them. I barbequed the chops for approx. 5 min (2.5 min per side) at 400 degrees. I also marinated them for a couple of hours giving them lots of flavour. I can't wait to serve this to company. The entire family loved them and DH has said more than once since we finished dinner how much he enjoyed this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather in Ont, June 11, 2009

Unbelievable. DH says, "really, really good" about once a decade, so you KNOW it's a winner! This is one of those dishes where you don't taste the marinade; you just are amazed at the succulent meat. I broiled in my cast iron pan; such an easy dish to prepare, and fast to cook! Make sure you brush off the peppercorns for the little people, or they will get prejudiced against this dish real fast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise January 27, 2009
Sheila's Peppered Lamb Chops