Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sheila's Best Balsamic Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sheila's Best Balsamic Dressing

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2013

      This dressing is off-the-chart yummy! I make all my own dressings and this will be my balsamic dressing forever more. I make a double batch, and would make a triple if I had a bottle big enough to put it in. We go through a double batch in about two weeks and it has always kept well in the cupboard. No need to refrigerate. Thanks to you and your mum for this fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Wow! This is really good, restaurant quality dressing. The proportion of vinegar and oil is just right and I think the mustard adds a nice tang. I mixed it up in my magic bullet, which made it kind of creamy. Used it on a tomato salad with fresh basil and parmesan cheese. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      I have been using your recipe for some time now... its my GO TO for balsamic dressing... Thank you so much for the post... I add a bit extra garlic (just our thing in this house).... I love this on spring mesclun mix sp?? salad... its wonderful.... for croutons i crumble up bagel chips and sometimes grate some parmesan before i toss... this is a keeper guys.. give it a go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      Oh this is yummy! Didn't have red wine vinegar so I used applecider vinegar. It was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      Very good and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      So easy to make and absolutely delicious! I'll never buy balsamic dressing at the grocery store ever again!! I think it's telling that the only person who isn't RAVING about this dressing is the one person who didn't actually follow the recipe at all. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      Awesome! Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      I used Canola Oil because I did not have Olive Oil. I substituted Red Wine Vinegar for Apple Cider Vinegar. I only had White Sugar, so I used that instead of Brown Sugar. I used Horse Radish instead of Mustard for more of a bite. I did not have Garlic so I added equal amounts of Ginger Root instead. I can only give this recipe one star because my husband said this was a terrible recipe. But it was fun making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Really good and really easy! I used a milk frother to emulsify, and it stayed nicely mixed in the bottle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Simply divine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Amazing, this is the first salad dressing I've ever made! Can't wait to share it with my family and friends! Quick, easy and simply delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Strongly recommend:) Thank-you Sheila! Oh and a question, what's the expiry for this and should I keep it in the fridge after making?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      This is wonderful! I was looking for a creamy and slightly sweet dressing for my filet mignon salad and this is it! For 2 servings of salad:
      8 oz Filet Mignon (salt and peppered)
      1/2 Tab Butter & 1/2 Tab Olive Oil
      2 oz crumbled feta cheese (or goat if you like)
      2 roma tomatoes diced
      5 thin slices red onion (optional)
      1/2 head red leaf
      1/2 head iceberg
      Cook filet until in butter and oil untildesired doneness. Set aside.
      Clean, cut into bite size pieces, and toss lettuces with tomato, feta, & onion (if using), with this wonderful dressing. Slice and lay filet on top with a couple of grinds of pepper. I serve it with french rolls, or garlic toast. It really is a great combo! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Delicious, easy and I always have the ingredients in the house. Used it on spinach salad with toasted walnuts, blue cheese, green onions and beets. I made a double batch so will try it on something else tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      It's perfect. Easy. Tastes amazing. Good on everything. Definitely keeping this recipe at my fingertips. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      Wow, this was easy and so tasty. This will be my go-to quick and tasty dressing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Very good and easy to make with things in my pantry! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

    • on December 12, 2011

      Wow! I made today and took to a work lunch. Everyone raved and required I bring the recipe to work tomorrow. I made as is, except I used pomegranate red wine vinegar and a touch more brown sugar. This will most definitely make it's way into my recipe book! A great staple~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Yummmmmmm! This is quite possibly the best Balsamic Dressing ever. Served over salad with mixed greens, tomatoes, dried cranberries and goat cheese. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sheila's Best Balsamic Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.3
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    91%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 336.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites