Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shawrbat 'adas Maa Banadoura (Lentil and Tomato Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shawrbat 'adas Maa Banadoura (Lentil and Tomato Soup)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-29 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2008

      EXCELLENT and HEALTHY and full of FIBER! I used brown lentils and added brown rice when they started cooking. I sauteed the spices with the onion and garlic when they were nearly done. I added 1 tbsp of hungarian paprika. This was sooooo delicious with sourdough bread dipped in it. Thanks for this KEEPER recipe! Made for the NAME tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Excellent, hearty and satisfying. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      Absolutely delicious!! My ex-MIL used to make a beautiful, simple lentil soup that I could never replicate. She is of Greek/Macedonian decent. Lovely lady, magnificent cook. I really miss this soup....... until now. WOW! This soup is very close in flavour to the soup she makes. Not the same but every bit as good as my very favourite lentil soup. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. Oh, I also added a couple of teaspoons of vegetable stock to the recipe. Scrumptious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      This was so fantastic - I stuck to the recipe but added a bit of vegetable stock powder to the 7 cups of water - it was easy to do and the result was thick and glorious wih a hint of spice - I could eat bowl after bowl - thank you so much for making my night Elmotoo !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      This is now a regular soup in my household and now my sister and mother have started to make it too! I put in lots of fresh lemon just before serving and it really brings out all of the flavours. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This was a very good soop. I also did it with broth so I can't really rate it. Healthy and cheap. The next time I do it I might change it a bit though. There was something lacking, can't put my finger on what it is. But good nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      I made the soup as written except I added another cloves of garlic just because I felt like it. I think that I didn't let the onions cook long enough as they were a wee bit crunchy; however, I found that added a nice and different texture. So my official opinion is: a. very easy to make after a long day of work. b. Yum! I loved the spice and how good it was for you. Thanks for the addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      What a great soup! Made it as written, but halved it. There is nothing better (in my mind) than soup for lunch, and this one will become a regular addition to my growing list of winners. Oh, I did add about a cup of chicken broth at the end to stretch it out a bit. Yum! Thanks Elmotoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Very easy to make, and very low fat. Surprisingly, this made a very thick soup (I was expecting something a bit thinner). Maybe that's because I forgot to cover pot until the lentils were already half done:D I read somewhere that every soup starts with a good broth, so instead of the water and salt I used something called "Better Than Bouillon" which is better, but also very expensive.:( BF found the spice combination unusual but good. I might not characterize it as unusual but I sure like the cumin/lemon juice combination! Sour and spicy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shawrbat 'adas Maa Banadoura (Lentil and Tomato Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.6
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    19%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 731.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes