Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shawrbat 'adas Maa Banadoura (Lentil and Tomato Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shawrbat 'adas Maa Banadoura (Lentil and Tomato Soup)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2009

      I love this recipe but I make this more like a stew as a complete meal than as a soup. I add three diced carrots, three stalks of celery, and two potatoes, red split lentils (no need to soak) and brown rice. Plus a tsp of cayenne, and sometimes I don't bother with the lemon. It is my favourite winter dish and so handy because I can bring it to work and rest assured that I am actually eating some protein!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      This is a wonderful soup recipe. It has a light, bright flavor. I halved the amount of cumin, and will do that again next time. I also used cooked brown rice, so I cut the cooking time in half. I tasted it after it simmered about 10 mins. and thought it was a little bland. I let is sit for about an hour and then squeezed the lemon and that really woke it up. Thanks for sharing this simple and incredibly healthy recipe. I'll be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      Such an easy soup, we really enjoyed it. I was a little leary about not using broth, but providing you season well, it works. I used brown rice, and added a bit too much, so most of the liquid is gone, but that's OK the leftovers will be more stew like. I was also a little more heavy handed with the garlic - yum! I used red lentils because that's what I had, but I'm sure any lentil would be great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Yum, delicious for DH, DD (toddler) and I. I used Turkish brown lentils and red lentils in the same amount as the rice, my own homemade chicken stock in replacement of the water which made it even more flavorful, a little extra garlic. I pureed my canned plum tomatoes to very pureed with only little bits. I used sea salt for the salt to taste, white Basmati rice and freshly squeezed lemon juice. I will make this again. Made for NA*ME Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      What a light and refreshing soup. I caramelized the onions/garlic in the stock pot, removed them, and then simmered the lentils with all the other ingredients in the stock pot--this saved washing an extra pot. I ended up adding a lot of seasonings--garlic salt, hot sauce, paprika, and double the cumin called for. I even threw in some hummus to add a little spark.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      This is good. I added two carrots and used my immersion blender for a smooth, thick finish. It was really tasty and will be great for lunches for the week! Don't skip the lemon juice. It perks it up quite a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I spent the majority of my life believing that I hated tomato soup. Thats because the only tomato soup I knew as a child sat on the shelf in a red and white can. One day I worked up the courage to try a homemade recipe and the vail before my eyes was removed. It was wonderful and I've been oh so happy with the excellent tomato soups that I have been making ever since. This recipe is another keeper to add to my growing collection :D. I used veggie broth because I had it on hand and I think it was helpful in rounding the flavor, jasmine rice went in too. Given the comments of others, I doubled all seasonings and that worked quite well for us. Served for yesterdays lunch with garlic bread. We both loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

    • on April 13, 2010

      Simple, delicious and quick to fix up! I like the rice added to it it really makes it interesting and more wholesome. Wonderful flavors! Great soup for a rainy day. I added everything except for the lemon juice since I unexpectedly didn't have any on hand.Thanks! Made for NA*ME tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This is positively delicious! It's so nice to have on a cold day. Very easy to make. I was able to freeze it in portions so I could eat it over several weeks. Excellent for lunch with toasty bread! Thanks for a great recipe! Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Delicious! We loved how lemony it was. I used less salt and doubled the cumin and coriander. In addition, I added about a cup of carrots (I was all set to add them thinking they were in the recipe - so just did anyway!). I think this soup would be great with tiny cubes of potato in it too. Thanks for this yummy and healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      I made this exactly as written and will make it again. Next time though, I'll put heaps of fresh parsley or fresh coriander through it to finish it off-that's the missing ingredient for us. I was very careful to get lots of colour into my onions as I think the soup relies on them a lot for its flavour. This is intensely lemony and very refreshing-I really recomend it as a super simple soup worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      My DH and I really didn't care for this soup. For us, perhaps the spices were too few given the quantity of liquids? In my search for a rich and hearty lentil soup, I'm very glad I gave this a try anyway! Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for N*A*M*E Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      My family enjoyed this filling soup, even my 3 year old asked for more and ate his whole bowl. The lemon is the key ingredient. Very flavorful and souper easy for a week night meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      We love this soup! I also added brown rice in the beginning as I wanted a healther, filling option. I also upped the cayenne as we like spicy and it was great. It reminds me of Egyptian fare. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This was wonderful. I did make a few little changes: I used brown rice instead of white and I sautéed the onions and garlic in an olive oil infused with Thai chiles for a little extra spice, then dumped the onions and everything else into the crockpot and set it on low for eight hours. Around hour six, I saw that the broth was very watery, so I tossed in 1/3 cup split red lentils. These dissolved by the end of cooking time and gave the broth a nice soupy texture that was still much lighter than "creamy". I will add them from the beginning next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      FABULOUS! So flavorful. Even my junk food loving hubby went back for third serving on this healthy soup. Thank you. I also added brown rice near the beginning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Easy to follow directions. I followed the recipe to a T. The soup was delicious. My 9 yr. old is eating her third helping - amazing, considering she doesn't really eat much. My whole family enjoyed the soup. We squeezed lime into our bowls before eating - this adds a very fresh flavor to the soup. I've made this several times now and I've also tried some other lentil soup recipes, but this is our favorite. The lentils are still in recognizable form. A couple of the other recipes cooked longer and the lentils were disintergrated into more of a creamy soup. We prefer this texture. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Delicious, just as I thought it would be. I can't wait to have some more for lunch tomorrow. I am not too fond of tomato pieces so I substituted 1 8oz can of tomato sauce & cut back on the water by a cup. I also added more rice to the soup & a beef bouillon cube.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Excellent lentil soup, the seasonings were perfect for me. Very easy to make and so healthy. I was out of rice and subbed orzo also used 1 teaspoon of olive oil. I love that this can be made in such a short time and is very filling. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shawrbat 'adas Maa Banadoura (Lentil and Tomato Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.6
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    13%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 732.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites