Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shawarma Spiced Shepherds Cottage Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shawarma Spiced Shepherds Cottage Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2012

      Really good! I used a corn and pea mixture, and the mild sweetness of the vegetables paired perfectly with the sweet potatoes. I might use more meat next time, and leave out the cheddar. I really could not taste it all, so the cheese just added unnecessary calories. Otherwise, I loved this recipe- thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Very good twist on shepherds pie! I'd rate it five stars because it was really delicious, but that was because I doubled the spices. We like it quite spicy, and this blend of spices is excellent. Only the amount seemed not enough, so I doubled it and that was perfect. I'll make this pie again! Thanks for sharing :)
      Made for Turning Over A New Leaf of the Diabetic Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      How neat ! Had some frozen ground turkey from our Dear Departed Tom's raw diet, and searched for a recipe. Saw "SHAWARMA" -- and just HAD to prepare this ! BigBadBrenda was my partner in the last Spice Swap, and sent me an envelope of the mixed spice. Prepared the recipe as posted, and thought as I "built" it in the casserole, that I should have made TWO pans (for 2 of us), but it will last for a few warm-ups. Did add pepper and garlic as suggested by another reviewer, but found it all just a tad too sweet -- likely the cinnamon - a necessary spice for the area. We did enjoy a different approach to Shepherds Pie. Thanks for posting, Banriona.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Very good. My boyfriend loved it. For the veggies, I used peas and corn mostly. The only thing I would change, is I think next time I'll add a little flour or corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Also, the top on mine never did get browned, not sure why not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      The spices blended in this dish are and excellent combination! they MAKE the recipe! I used ground lamb instead of ground turkey (my personal preference) and organic russet potatoes instead of sweet potatoes (my husband's personal preference) and it was fantastic! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      The blend of spices was outstanding!! An interesting twist on an old Irish favorite. Even my picky kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Amazing! I followed your recipe to the letter and both hubby and I LOVED it! I did find it a little sweet for a main course, so the next time I make it I'll probably add a clove or two of garlic and increase the black pepper. Thanks for posting this great recipe! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Wow...this was really good! I was a little unsure of the spices, and I didn't have any cardamom so I substituted curry and it was delicious--even my 4 children loved it! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shawarma Spiced Shepherds Cottage Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (374 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.8
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    33%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 68.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 601.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites