Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shantung Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shantung Chicken

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2011

      Made this for the family and it was great, sauce was a little too sweet and it needs more than 1 chilli for my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      The Szechuan lovers here enjoyed this delicious chicken. My search for the Szechuan peppercorns had me find a blend just a touch different than what I had on hand - I suspect either blend would work well. Remains I will keep a eye out for the Szechuan Peppercorns for the next time around. Made for Auz/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Everyone in my family loved the chicken. It was so tasty, so moist, and so tender---all elements that make it a huge hit in my household. You can bet I will be making this dish quite often. Unfortunately, I messed up the sauce (because I got distracted and it cooked to a hard, carmelized blob...oops.) So I am looking forward to making this again, so I can actually try the sauce, too! But even without the sauce, the chicken alone was well worth trying. Made for "Please Review My Recipe" tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I use a half turkey instead of a chicken and marinaded it for 30 hours LOL I also doubled the marinade and sauce. This was so YUMMY and the sauce has a lovely sweet heat. YUM Definite keeper Made for Everyday is a Holiday

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Wow Pat!! I am so glad I decided to photograph this chicken whole rather than plated. As soon as I went to cut it, it fell apart, it was so tender. What a perfect way to cook a chook, we loved the marinade and agree with Jan, this comes out so moist and tender it does not need another thing.. As Jan had said the sauce was a little sweet for their tastes in her review. I decided to cut back on the sugar and I added 2 chilies and we thought it was perfect and went well with the chicken. I served ours over bok choy, red pepper and bean sprouts and we drizzled the sauce over our veg as well. I still have to repeat it again I was so impressed with how moist and tender the chicken turned out. I almost wanted to take a photo of our bones :) Fab recipe Pat so glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      While we LOVED the chicken, we were a bit disapointed in the sauce which we found overly sweet for our tastes. I would make the chicken again and forget the sauce-the chicken cooked this way was so moist and delicious it doesn't need another thing. I butterflied our chicken (took the backbone out), so more of it would come into contact with the marinade as there isn't a lot of it (not a bad thing as I hate wasting bucketloads of marinade!). We ate this with rice and a cooked Asian style "coleslaw".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      WOW!!!! Don't know that I can say anything else. The chicken was moist and so very tasty. Loved the sauce too. I didn't have fresh chiles, so I used thai chile paste. This will be made again and again. Thanks Pat for another great recipe. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #24

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      5+ stars. This had an amazing complexity of layered flavors that worked perfectly together. The salty marinade with a crispy skin topped with the spicy, sweet sauce was amazing. I used chicken leg quarters so cooked for only one hour (also didn't use the rack and water method, just placed skin side down in pam sprayed pan for 30 minutes, then basted with marinade and flipped to skin side up for last 30 minutes). I used just regular sugar and rice wine vinegar vs white wine vinegar. Also, I did not debone. I just cut some slits through the skin before topping with the sauce. This was super simple, yet elegant, and best of all absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shantung Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (466 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 983.0
     
    Calories from Fat 600
    61%
    Total Fat 66.6 g
    102%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 296.5 mg
    98%
    Sodium 530.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 70.2 g
    140%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    szechuan peppercorns

    white wine vinegar

    red Thai chile

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes