21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great use for ground beef!!!! I tweaked a bit by cutting back to 1/2 T oil, using 1/2 lb lean ground beef, and adding some shredded carrot, sliced bell pepper and broccoli I blanched in the pasta water. I added the veggies at the end with the noodles so they would stay crispy. I only needed 1 T cornstarch to thicken, and 3/4 lb pasta. Was soooo good we can't wait to have it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 August 13, 2006

Fantastic!! I loved the flavours here. I made the recipe as stated but insted of thickening the sauce I added shredded chinese cabbage and a little shredded carrot. YUM!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie April 30, 2006

Unlike Mars.Ombriel, I've been cooking quite some time and actually know how to do so. I think this dish is DELICIOUS and much better than any other asian noodle dish I have tried. I can't imagine anyone thinking differently, and wouldn't alter the recipe a bit. Perhaps that is why the previous reviewer didn't care for it, I can't imagine anyone not liking this wonderful cuisine!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p00gJr April 03, 2010

I feel a bit nervous about giving a bad review for a recipe that is so well-liked, especially as my first review, and especially when it's quite possible that the problem was me. I've been cooking for less than a year and I have had some pretty bad screw-ups before. However, this dish was not very good at all compared to the other recipes I've tried from recipezaar. I'll explain what I did, and you can make your own opinion whether it's me or the recipe. I followed the recipe as closely as I could. I used spaghetti instead of vermicelli, and I forgot to add the sesame oil. Those were the only two changes. It smelled really good while cooking, but the end result was very oily and just tasted like beef fat and hoisin. None of the other ingredients were noticeable. I made myself eat a bowl of it, but when I went to heat up the leftovers later, I just couldn't bear to eat the rest. I had wondered whether I should drain the oil and beef fat from the pan before adding the sauce ingredients, but I decided not to because I thought it might take away the flavor of the spices that had been cooked in it. I used 80% lean ground beef, because 90% and 95% were much more expensive. Maybe the recipe was created with the less fatty kind, and that's why mine was so oily. Although 3 tablespoons of oil does seem a little excessive for cooking that amount of onions and spices, compared to other recipes I've seen. As for the flavor otherwise, I think the problem isn't really "too much hoisin," but actually "not enough of everything else." It was just bland. I don't think adding the sesame oil would have helped; in my experience, sesame oil has a strong smell but not much of a flavor, and in any case, it would have made the food that much oilier. It might have worked better with some modifications, such as using less oil, using leaner beef, and adding more garlic, ginger, pepper flakes, and soy sauce. Adding vegetables, like many of the previous reviewers did, might also improve it. However, I probably will not try this recipe again. I would rather look for a different recipe for ground beef and noodles than try to alter this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mars.ombriel March 31, 2010

I used half ground beef/half ground pork and cooked exactly per directions. We loved it! It is 5 stars for ease, frugality, and taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ December 02, 2006

This was great! Tasted like a sweet version of Mabu Dofu. I used reduced sodium soy sauce but would use the regular soy sauce next time. I think I'll try it over rice as well. So happy to find another use for ground beef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC January 26, 2014

This was really good, great flavor and easy to make. The hoisin was a little overpowering so next time I may cut back just a bit or maybe add more broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. December 13, 2013

I made this tonight for the two of us. I used half the meat and onion, but basically all the wet sauce ingredients. Like almost every one else who has reviewed it, I added in some veg-diced capsicum, peas and shredded carrot. I only used two teaspoons to cook my onion, pork mince, garlic and ginger together-the pork mince was extra lean but provided enough extra moisture to get everything cooked. After tasting it, I added in a tablespoon of rice wine vinegar to give the dish a lift. I only used two teaspoons of cornflour as I figured 2 tablespoons would make it too gluggy for our likes. A definite keeper that we really enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 26, 2013

This recipe was delicious. I'm about to make it a second time and when I coulnd't find my printed copy, I panicked and scoured the net trying to find it again. Don`t be fooled by the near identical recipe here called ``szechuan noodles with spicy beef sauce``, the flavor profile wouldn`t be the same without the sherry (I used dry white wine) and the chicken broth and yet that recipe is clearly loved so if you don`t have those on hand, I suppose it doesn`t matter the first time but do try it with them for a really great dish.

Here are my adjustments;
I used thai garlic chili sauce in place of the red pepper flakes and I forgot to coat the noodles in sesame oil even though I had it on hand. Tonight I won`t forget but I will boil the noodles with the sesame oil just because it`s an easy way to get the flavor without all the fat. I also made this as a main course so I would have felt guilty not adding shredded carrot, broccoli stalk when cooking the beef and then bean sprouts at the end. This was a fantastic alternative to going out for Chinese !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
callmeafoodie August 31, 2012

Excellent. I used ground turkey and angel hair pasta since that were what we had. I also added 3 cups of thinly sliced napa cabbage to the meat mixture and stir fried until wilted. I only used 1/2 cup of stock and didn't use the cornstarch because I didnt think it was necessary. I also used 2 Tablespoons of oyster sauce instead of soy sauce. Great lunch! I could have ate the whole pot myself but I shared :) A KEEPER!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB February 19, 2009
Shanghai Style Noodles With Spicy Meat Sauce