98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It was ok, nothing spectacular. I believe Karen was right, this recipe could use a little something more. Good starting point though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer July 28, 2008

I love, love, love this dish! I have also made it using yellow, red, and green bell peppers instead of the cabbage and it is wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rohanlori June 18, 2008

As written, this recipe is a bit lacking. But I've tried it several times, making adjustments until I got something... well, wonderful. I saute lots of garlic and fresh grated ginger together with the cabbage and more sesame oil than called for. Then I add some peanut butter, cilantro, and surimi. It's WONDERFUL that way. I think the ginger and garlic really make this dish. Without them, it's a little boring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 April 15, 2008

For more flavor as some asked about, try frying 5 or 6 strips of bacon before you saute the cabage and crumble it into the noodles before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen F. March 30, 2008

I did enjoy this dish - as did my wonderful boyfriend, but I used light soy sauce and maybe that was the reason, but it seemed to not have enough flavor? I LOVED the bean sprouts in it - I have never used those before and definately will again. Very simple. May try again, but Im going to have to find something to add for flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewCooker March 11, 2008

I found the completed recipe to be a little bland, so I added about a tablespoon of chili oil to it - that gave it just the kick it needed! When I make this again, I'll probably double the cabbage and onions - I like a lot of vegetables. Reheats very well for next-day lunches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mabelle317 March 06, 2008

This dish was fantastic, as well as fast and EASY. I couldn't believe that my picky-eater 8-year-old even wanted to try this - and then loved it! My kids both claimed that this should be our meal every Tuesday (don't ask me why they chose Tues.)! LOVE IT - thank you for sharing! PS - I didn't like the canned bean sprouts, so I'll use fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BasilLover March 02, 2008

I thought this was just OK. Everyone who ate it agreed that it was missing something. The flavor was certainly not bad, it just wasn't "there". I followed the recipe as written, with no changes. I may try it again and add a bunch of other ingredients. I like my good very flavorful. This just didn't cut it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asperblood February 25, 2008

Oh my goodness...another 5 star rating. The taste was outstanding and the recipe so easy to follow. Thanks for posting and so glad I found it...my husband has already claimed the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trick February 11, 2008
Shanghai Noodles