Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shanghai Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shanghai Noodles

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2012

    • on July 03, 2011

      I added 1 tsp each minced garlic and crushed red pepper with the veggies, and subbed the soy sauce with a mix of agave nectar, salt, and rice vinegar. This was my first time cooking with gluten-free pasta -- which is very sticky and mushy. So I won't rate this recipe because I might have liked it better with wheat pasta. The crushed red pepper, I think, is a must. I can't imagine the flavor being very interesting without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I added hoisen, garlic, ginger, red pepper and shrimp to kick up. Good base to start. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Add another fan to your list! Wonderful dish; easy to make and lots of variations open to it. After reading other reviews; I made ours with 3 cups cabbage and omitted the regular oil and used 2 Tbls or sesame oil. Ran out of soy sauce with earlier recipe so substituted teriyaki and added a dash of salt to cut the sweetness. Also added 3 Tbls. oyster sauce. Could see adding mushrooms, fried eggs, water chestnuts.. great recipe; thanks papergoddess for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

    • on January 25, 2009

      I have to confess that I did add a little bit of sugar to sweeten this up, but it was just amazing! I can see adding lots of different things, even though it is very good just as written. My daughter just loved it, and so did I. Definite repeater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is really good. Have made it more than once. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This was so good and a great way to use a variety of vegetables. I used dark sesame oil and did not use the chicken or bean sprouts. I think it would be ok to add a bit more cabbage if I leave those things out without sacrificing flavor. I love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This turned out fairly well. I used regular cabbage, and more than 2 cups (just to use the whole smallish head). I used cooking spray rather than oil (but did keep the sesame oil). I used a bit more green onion than called for, and also 4-5 cloves of garlic. I used soba noodles, which I unfortunately didn't rinse well enough because they were a bit gummy. I also added sliced water chestnuts rather than bean sprouts, and some cheap frozen flounder ("poached" in the veggies) on top rather than chicken. For additional spice, I used about 1 tsp each Thai red pepper paste and ginger. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      very delicious. I served mine with so teriyaki chicken I cooked up in the crock pot. Next time I will spice it up a bit with some chili flakes, but otherwise it was perfect. thankyou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      It was ok, nothing spectacular. I believe Karen was right, this recipe could use a little something more. Good starting point though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I love, love, love this dish! I have also made it using yellow, red, and green bell peppers instead of the cabbage and it is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      As written, this recipe is a bit lacking. But I've tried it several times, making adjustments until I got something... well, wonderful. I saute lots of garlic and fresh grated ginger together with the cabbage and more sesame oil than called for. Then I add some peanut butter, cilantro, and surimi. It's WONDERFUL that way. I think the ginger and garlic really make this dish. Without them, it's a little boring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      For more flavor as some asked about, try frying 5 or 6 strips of bacon before you saute the cabage and crumble it into the noodles before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      It was okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      I did enjoy this dish - as did my wonderful boyfriend, but I used light soy sauce and maybe that was the reason, but it seemed to not have enough flavor? I LOVED the bean sprouts in it - I have never used those before and definately will again. Very simple. May try again, but Im going to have to find something to add for flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I found the completed recipe to be a little bland, so I added about a tablespoon of chili oil to it - that gave it just the kick it needed! When I make this again, I'll probably double the cabbage and onions - I like a lot of vegetables. Reheats very well for next-day lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This dish was fantastic, as well as fast and EASY. I couldn't believe that my picky-eater 8-year-old even wanted to try this - and then loved it! My kids both claimed that this should be our meal every Tuesday (don't ask me why they chose Tues.)! LOVE IT - thank you for sharing! PS - I didn't like the canned bean sprouts, so I'll use fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I thought this was just OK. Everyone who ate it agreed that it was missing something. The flavor was certainly not bad, it just wasn't "there". I followed the recipe as written, with no changes. I may try it again and add a bunch of other ingredients. I like my good very flavorful. This just didn't cut it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Oh my goodness...another 5 star rating. The taste was outstanding and the recipe so easy to follow. Thanks for posting and so glad I found it...my husband has already claimed the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shanghai Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.8
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    37%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 514.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes