Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shanghai Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shanghai Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2014

      Very delicious and easy...I cut the recipe in half for the two of us...I was thinking of not cutting the asparagus after snapping the ends off but at the last minute I decided to be true to the recipe...it did make them easier to eat...we enjoyed the saltiness of the soy sauce...thanks for posting the recipe...=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      I had thin asparagus and they were perfect in this recipe. The seasoning is great. I just omitted the seasoning salt. The addition of soy sauce is great and I used a little bit more. Thanks Annacia :) Made for PAC Spring 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Quick and easy, and the asparagus tastes wonderful. I cut this down to one serving, and it was a little salty for me...probably because I didn't measure my seasonings, just estimated. I'll definitely use this great recipe again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      These are such a nice change from the same ole same ole! We really loved them! I did use low sodium soy sauce with no noticeable difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      We love asparagus around here and I am always looking for new ways to prepare them. This one looked good and it did not disappoint us! They were excellent! I followed the recipe per the instructions and they came out perfectly seasoned. DH gobbled them down like no tomorrow! These will be repeated time and again at our table. Thanks for sharing Annacia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This was a great way to make asparagus, different than I usually do. We found it way too salty though. I don't know next time if I'll cut the seasoning salt or the soy sauce but definately something. It was good enough that we kept trying to eat it through the salt but ended up loosing that battle and tossing about half of it. I will definatly give it another try though with adjusted seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Prepared this with a pound of asparagus and a teaspoon of canola oil but used the amounts given on the spices. The results were a delicious treat which truly added to the succulent crisp flavors of the asparagus. Wouldn't change a thing except to add that if you are trying to serve this four four, be prepared to fight for your portion. :D Made for *Zaar Stars*.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      A nice different flavour, I did enjoy it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This was a tasty, flavourful change from the usual asparagus recipes with garlic & lemon. We really liked it. And the best part - it was SO easy. Excellent easy fix dish for weeknights and also for busy,dish filled dinner parties. Poof - its' done! Poof - it's gone - don't expect left overs for those that come late to the table...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      We loved this! I can't think of anything to do to improve what you've got here Annacia--perfect as is. A VERY nice change from my "normal" recipe (which is steamed and buttered); I let it go a bit too long (busy doing other things) and got a few sprigs a bit dark, but they tasted excellent, too! KEEPER! *Made for ZWT 3 USA Regional Leg*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      great simple asparagus dish . we need good recipes for all the spears coming up lol dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      This recipe came together so quick for a side dish and I love the crispness of the asparagus. I sauted the stalks of the asparagus about a minute and a half before adding the tips since the tips take less time to cook. I'll make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I've made asparagus b4 but never thought of cutting it into pieces! Duh! Very easy and quick to make. I had 3/4 lb of asparagus, but next time I would leave the seasonings full strength. Nice combo of flavors. Even the ginger wasn't too bad (I actually kept that at 1/8 tsp - how do you measure 1/16 tsp?).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I served this at lunch today with a meat dish that I had prepared for another tag game.My DH and I both LOVE fresh asparagus.This was a great new way for us to have it.We really enjoyed this one.I didn't change anything, but I did throw in a dash of minced fresh garlic.Thanks Annacia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      I am reviewing this for Holiday Tag game 2007. Wonderful change of pace for asparagus. I'm usually the only one to eat it in my house but this time DH and DD tried it at least. DH even said he would eat it this way. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shanghai Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.3
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    49%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 87.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes