Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sham-Pooch Dog Shampoo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sham-Pooch Dog Shampoo

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2012

      We love Sham-Pooch in our house, arf arf! When my recently adopted doggie began to get stinky I looked online until I found this recipe. After a bath his coat now smells good and is also quite wonderfully fluffy. I can't stop petting him just to feel his soft coat. It's so nice to hug a sweet-smelling pup. Thanks Titanium Chef for a great shampoo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Thank you for this simple recipe! It really does do a good job on the coat. My goldendoodle (who is 3/4 poodle, 1/4 golden) has a beautiful, soft double coat that can dry out easily with the wrong shampoo. She comes out of the bath soft and huggable. I added lavendar essential oil to the shampoo, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This shampoo is great! And so much cheaper than store bought, plus I know exactly what I'm putting on my dogs! I have used it tons of times and just love it! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      I mix all ingredients in a bottle with a pour spout for easier application. I like to use Castille soap instead of Ivory, because it cleanses deeper. My dogs get really muddy. I also like to add a few shakes of baking soda to their fur and mix it with the soap. Do not add it to the bottle or it will foam over ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This works great! I added a bit of tea tree essential oil and my lab and poodle feel and smell wonderful! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Thanks for the recipe! I bathed my Chihuahua (who always smells like a sour sock) with this stuff about 4 days ago. I have sniffed HIM every day and I'm pleasantly surprised. He thinks I'm a little weird now but I think he smells and looks great. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Wow! I could tell, while washing my Bishon Frise that it was a good shampoo but I have to admit the vinegar smell was terrible. After she dried there wasn't any smell, at all. No dog odor, no vinegar smell- fabulous. We washed our Lab mix as a previous reviewer did, and it totally took away that odd smell she has always had and her coat was even prettier then before. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      So far so good. DH is bathing our second dog right now. My male chi that had the first bath seems ok so far. He is curled up under his blankie now. He usually comes out still scratching after a bath, but not this time. He seems really relaxed and is just snoozing away right now. This made a lot of shampoo. I have it stored in a large 2 litter bottle and some in the dish soap bottle. I did however add a little tee tree oil to the soap bottle mix because DH hated the vinegar smell. We will see if that made any difference. If not then we will bathe them again with the one without the tee tree oil. I will update again to see how they are the rest of the day. Hopefully this is a keeper and it can save us money. Now the big test will be on DH's police K9. If it can get her clean and smelling good then I would kiss the ground you walk on. LOL! ***UPDATE*** This has worked miracles on DH's K9 work dog. Her coat has been so soft and shiny. DH says people at work think he bathes her everyday with some expensive shampoo. Little do they know its been awhile since she was bathed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I made this shampoo for our yellow lab. She is an indoor dog and smelling nice and looking good is top priority for us, though she hates bathes. I halved the recipe and we have been using it for about two months or so. The shampoo works well enough and we get many comments on how soft her fur is when people pet her. The kids are the ones that bathe her and insist that she smells like salad dressing after her bath. The odor of the vinegar is strong but dissipates quick enough, but the kids won't go on in the bathroom for a good hour until the smell is gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      My little dog has gotten some kind of skin irritation and I've had her to the vet twice, they can't seem to figure out what's going on. I get medicine for her but she's back to scratching, seems like constantly. Anyway I finally got the stuff to make this shampoo. Used yesterday and so far seems like it's doing the trick. Thanks, I will keep using this for her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I used this for washing my Boston Terrier. I like this shampoo because it doesn't leave a perfume smell. I was surpised that you couldn't smell the vinegar when the bath was over. I am definately going to keep using this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      I absolutely love this dog shampoo. I've used it twice now on Lucy, my collie. It is really gentle and easy to use and it smells so fresh! Excellent idea from a previous reviewer to put the solution in a squeeze bottle as it is watery and does pour out rather fast from a bottle. Even so, the solution lathers up on Lucy's coat and is quite easy to rinse out. Thank you Titanium Chef - you brought us a winner here!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Wow! This works great! If it could get this stinker clean, it deserves 5 stars. :) Thanks for posting. I used a 2 Liter bottle to mix and store and used Method dish soap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This shampoo is terrific. We have a Shih Tzu and this is perfect for getting her coat beautifully fluffy and clean. I will never buy dog shampoo again. None of them can come close or out perform this recipe. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I have a Pom who has itchy skin & this has seemed to help. She smells great too. Thanks for the tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This was great. My dog Ajax has a white coat and it really brightened it. I halved the mixture and put it in a large squirt bottle. I couldn't find Dove so I used Ivory. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      You've just saved me a ton of money! I used Seventh Generation (earth-friendly) dish soap, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      This was GREAT! I will never buy shampoo again. It cleans so well and leaves their coats beautiful. I will get 3 baths each for my labs. And I use a lot of soap on them. Thank you. This is the best I have ever tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Not only a great dogwash, but also great as a mixer with tequila; serve on the rocks. If you do shots of this stuff straight, the kids (and the dogs) will love the bubbles you'll be burping all weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Really good shampoo which doesn't dry out their skin like the others. I have a Welsh Corgi who goes with me to the stables daily and who inevitably ends up with mud on all four paws and of course his low rider belly. Needs to be shampood daily in those areas and this really is the most economical and best smelling shampoo available. Try it, you'll see for yourself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sham-Pooch Dog Shampoo

    Serving Size: 1 (1048 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 24.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    glycerin

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites