Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sham-Pooch Dog Shampoo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sham-Pooch Dog Shampoo

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2002

      Titanium Chef, thank you,thank you!! I mixed up your recipe,and washed my yorkshire Terrier,oh my goodness she smells so good.Pebbles has a very "bad" body odor~~ I have tryed (I think)every shampoo on the market,plus using my own shampoo! She is very greasy as well.I would bath her,and the next day,it was like she had never been bathed. One other thing,I always had to comb and brush her before her bath.Well I tested your "Sham-pooch"and bathed her first,and it was so easy to comb all the tangles out. I really can't thank you enough for posting this recipe.I would give you 100* if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      I can't stop hugging my dog! (he doesn't mind) Woody feels sooooo soft after using this shampoo. I've used many shampoos also, and this one is the only one I'll ever use on my dog. Thankyou so much for posting this! It is a little thin so if you can store it in a squeeze bottle, like the one the dish soap comes in, it's easier to apply to your dog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      i must admit if i'm in a rush i'll buy a cheap shampoo for the dog but adding the vinegar really does help get rid of the "doggy" odor!!!thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Great for people, too!

      I tested this shampoo on myself before using it on my standard poodles (I have 4). I absolutely love it!! I will never again buy shampoo for my dogs or myself! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I would give it 10 stars if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I have no doubt this recipe will work, I can't wait to try it. I recently stumbled on the benefits of apple cider vinegar. This stuff not only leaves your dogs coat soft and shiny but feeding him/her 1 tablespoon for a 50-100lb dog will eliminate fleas, YES FLEAS. We had a terrible infestation and it is all gone since starting ACV. I am now online looking for other recipes at the moment. This is truely some miracle stuff. I also take it myself for other health benefits. Thank you Titanium Chef for this great shampoo recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      WOW! this is a real money saver! I have used it for the last 6 or 8 months and forgotten to review it. oops. I live on a farm and have 3 tiny toy poodles that think they are sheep dogs!! Well needless to say they get diiirrrrrty! My male has bad body odor to boot!! I like this shampoo because they come out of the bath soft and smelling great..like toy poodles are supposed to! Now if I could just get someone to tell them they are supposed to be lap dogs!! I highly reccommend this recipe! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      We use this on our Great Dane mix and large terrier. It works great and is easy on their skin. We add 5-7 drops of lavender essential oil in each recipe which makes them smell wonderful when they dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      It is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! Before I made this Toffee (my Pomeranian cocker spaniel mix) always felt greasy but now she is soft and cuddly. I used to spend a fortune on dog shampoo, I think I spent $2.00 or less on this recipe. I made it about three months ago and I still have 3 quarters of it left, have yet to find out how it works on Kali (my German Shepherd) she lives outdoors so I'm waiting for the weather to get warmer before I try it out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Really LOVE this; my DGSs got a new boxer puppy a few weeks ago and he kept scratching. Mixed this up and wow - not only does he smell great but no more itching and his fur is so soft and shiny. We're still keeping the one for not stinging the eyes for his head area but this is what we use on the rest of him. Put this in a spray bottle and makes the whole bath process so easy. Thanks TC for a great way to keep our puppy clean and sweet smelling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      This stuff works great! I made a batch and used it on my Yorkie, even with all his long hair, he smelled wonderful and his hair brushed out easily. My sister used some on her Cockapoo, it worked wonderful for her also! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This stuff is great! My dog always scratched her skin. Now since I started using this she is a total different dog. I hardly ever see her scratching. Thanks so much for this wonderful shampoo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      My Coon-hound was a very sick dog from food allergies and smelled terrible. I found this recipe and she smells great. We use it on the rest of the dogs too. I love inexpensive ways to take care of my animals. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Fantastic! I personally do not have a dog but I made this up (sooo easy) for family and friends for their pooches as a christmas gift. I had some friends try it out first and they said their dogs fur was shiny and smelt better than ever.. Awesome recipe, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      This is the BEST shampoo I have ever used on my dogs. It must be the glycerine that makes the difference. I have two dogs, a Lab mix and she sheds alot, the shampoo seemed to help release the trapped fur so it rinsed out and the rest combed out easily. My other dog is a sheltie/pom mix, and her undercoat is very dense and prone to tangles. It is a pain to comb out esprcially after a bath. Not this time, while still a job to groom her, the tangles combed out easily. Both look, smell and feel so good to touch. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will never again buy pet shampoo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      We love this shampoo. I've been using it for a year on our Golden Retriever, and a mixed breed with short hair. The short haired dog has a nice soft shine on his coat after a bath. The Golden comes out of a bath with silky, flowing fur. I don't add all the water; mainly because it won't fit in my shampoo jar, but I like the more concentrated shampoo - works well in the shower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      Absolutely brilliant. The fleas just fell off dead. You've made my day. Thanks. My little dogs will be forever grateful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2014

      works just as well if not better than the store bought products

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      This does appear effective, my dogs are nice and soft and sweet-smelling. As others have mentioned, my one dog had been worrying at herself a bit, recently, I did apply ointment but she seems much more relaxed since her bath at the weekend! My male loves to swim and he jumped straight in the pool after being washed, but Ruby seems very happy to get lots of cuddles and attention for being so beautiful and looking and smelling so good :) Thank you, Titanium Chef, good to have this recipe, found in the I Recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      I am reviewing this with NO stars, only because it will not effect the rating on this 'recipe', and because I'm not sure if I feel comfortable in agreeing or disagreeing with this formula. I made a batch of this at home yesterday, and tried it on my own dog. It did clean quite well, and she does smell good. I just don't know if it the best thing to use on a regular basis (I shall ask my vet). I have been a dog groomer for over 20 years, and yes, vinegar does help with smells, but it really only sets the smell and masks it. The vinegar helps to keep the odor from rubbing off on hands, clothing and furniture. I use a vinegar and water solution on clients dogs who come into the shop that have been sprayed by a skunk. (I use Summer's Eve vinegar douche... yes, really. You should see the looks I get while standing in the check-out line with 12 bottles in my cart!) It does help to mask the smell, but the minute the dog is in the rain or in the tub, you will smell it again. I do plan to give this formula a try on my next client who brings me a skunked dog, but only after I check with my vet on safety issues. Thank you for posting this, and I will try and update when I know more. (Made for PAC - Spring 2013)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      This was easy to mix up and it made my dog smell better. I followed the recipe exactly as written. We will be using this more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sham-Pooch Dog Shampoo

    Serving Size: 1 (1048 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 24.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    glycerin

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes