8 Reviews

Wow! Directly from Dennis this morning at the breakfast table. :) "Tell the recipe author this is amazing! Give her 5 stars. Give her more if you can." Need I say more? This is really da bomb, as it is so easy for a farmer-girl to make before going out to start my day. I appreciate it, because you get so many kuddos from the husband, and it had a delightful aroma, and called him to the table in less time then a fuzz sticking to a fuzzball. Thx!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 05, 2012

What a nice recipe. We enjoyed these with a topping of sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. I found this recipe on a video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiC4BplQkkY where as I thought there was an option of hot pepper which I think is a part of Yemeni cuisine. I used unrefined olive oil, red and orange bell pepper, no green, an extra egg, plus the rest of the ingredients (nothing to spicy). Made for FEBRUARY 2012 NA/ME TAG :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 04, 2012

Dear Dienia,
I don't want make you jelous posting the photos with the bread in this delicious meal. Yes, this was my dish and I enjoyed it very much!
I used yellow instead of green bell pepper and I added salt and pepper on the eggs as well.
We liked the eggs soft and dippint the bread in the vegetables and egg was delicious.
I forgot: We don't eat egg for breackfast, this was my dinner together with a delicious soup!
Keep posting your top recipes! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde January 04, 2012

I scaled this back for 1 serve and the first time I made it I got as far as step 7 (put the lid on, put to the lowest heat level and set the time for 10 minutes and the results were a burnt mess), the second time I stirred the mix for about 5 minutes and then put the egg in and covered it but by the time the egg had cooked to my liking, white set and soft runny yolk, the sauce had started to catch but was edible. Thank you Dienia B as I did enjoy to some extent but would like to add a little heat to it in way of a chilli or tabasco, made for Went to Market.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 12, 2012

Perfect main dish for a light meal. To "Yemeni-ize" the recipe I added
a small pinch of turmeric and ground cumin to the onions. Used red bell pepper.
Garnished with fresh cilantro. Served with cucumber slices, grapefruit and apple slices,
raw white cheddar cheese cubes, and a half slice of avocado. Reviewed for NA*ME tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 04, 2012

what a fabulous way to start the day! easy, healthy & delicious! I used a large shallot since i didn't have any small onions. ;) AND i even cooked my eggs perfectly! oh happy day! thank you! made for NA*ME Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo December 01, 2011

I really enjoyed this for breakfast. It was easy and very good. Thanks Dienia! Made for Went to the Market game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 19, 2011

We enjoyed have such a healthy start to the day which I garnished with some fresh basil. Made as written but think in the future would add some cheese to the top. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl October 29, 2011
Shakshuka Yemani Basted Eggs