Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shakshouka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shakshouka

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2003

      I must admit that as an American I would have no idea what this is. Now that I live in Israel and I see this dish served, I decided I could try to make it. I made it for a Friday lunch for the family. I also added red pepper to the tomatoes and onions and lots of seasonings. Also I did not mix up the eggs when I dropped them in. My family ate it and it was really good and different. That must be my Israeli side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I halved the recipe and grated the first tomatoe and it was mush. I finely chopped the next two. I added basil and 1/4 of a green pepper. I found the recipe fantastic as made. "The possibilities are endless" is a great statement. Some Crushed Red Pepper while sauteing the onions. Mozzarella cheese on top and ground sausage on the bottom? I can see many ways this recipe can go. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      I served this dish for Sunday Brunch along with buttered, taosted Wholewheat Bagels, Smoked Turkey sausage and pan fried potaoes. Very tasty. I added 12 oven dried tomatoes (mirjam's recipe) and as suggested some garlic. The next time I make it I will, as suggested by Caryn Gale leave the eggs whole, sunny side up. I did not like the final appearance with the egg stirred through the tomatoe onion mixture it became too undefined in colors, No way could I grate the tomatoes but no big deal I just chopped them finely.. Thanks Miralegirl for a tasty recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      I made this as posted, just scaled back, and was concerned it would need some additional oomph of some description -- not the case. This is great! Makes a great weeknight meal with rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      I have seen a huge variety of "possibilities" in Shakshouka recipes. Since this dish was made in so many countries throughout the Middle East and North Africa, each locality has crafted this dish to suit its own taste. A friend of mine of Tunisian Jewish descent makes it with potatoes. My favorites, however have hot and green peppers. I highly recommend this dish spicy, and served with fresh pita bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2005

      This is awesome!! I was too lazy and tired to shred the tomatoes, so I cut them into chunks instead, but it still turned out great. I'm definately moving to Israel now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      the best dish i have ever had . easy to cook and easy to serve . i would definately recomend this dish to others .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      This came out really yummy and was very easy to do. I grated the tomatoes, which was a little difficult because of the tough tomato skin. I added some sliced mushrooms. I served it with some toast and tea. Yummy.. Definitely one to make again. Presentation wise I liked the look of the yolks but I think I could get better at being gentle..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      We love this dish. I added a bit of turneric just for fun. I also chopped tomatoes instead of grating them. I also left my eggs intact vs. stirring them around. Made for Go to Saudi Arabia in the NA/ME Forum 6/13.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      Delicious for DD1 (4 years old) and I with chopped green pepper added to the onion while cooking. This makes a lot. I used sea salt & freshly ground black pepper. Made for Welcome to Algeria!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breakfast Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shakshouka

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.4
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    38%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 163.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    53%
    Protein 16.6 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites