21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great potatoes! I didn't have leftover potatoes so used instant (didn't have time to make from scratch) and they still turned out very tasty! Made as written and loved the half-melted chunks of cheese mixed in the spuds. Will make these with our leftover potatoes! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #72.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH January 13, 2013

Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! I had shredded cheddar, so I mixed shredded sharp and mild cheddar and rolled them into a ball to push into the potatoes. Also, I used shredded parm instead of grated.....even with the substitutions for what I had these turned out delicious! So happy I made them! Made for Market Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 08, 2013

Yeah for leftovers! Bring it on. Dh and I ate the whole thing. Could be increased, made ahead to impress guests with a meal where you are not making gravy. I made as posted except I pressed in some lovely Bacon Jam into the potatoes. This is a true keeper. TY BK for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal November 12, 2011

Yummy!!! Takes plain boring mashed potatoes up a notch. I didn't have any leftover mashed potatoes so I used a container of store bought refrigerated mashed potatoes. I mixed the onions and cheese into the potatoes, spread it out in my little casserole dish, topped with the bread crumbs and dotted the top with butter. The flavor was divine! Made as an extra for July 2011 Aus/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 July 20, 2011

These were a big hit with my family. Great way to use leftover mashed potatoes, made as written only to have DS suggest that at crumbled bacon would push these tasty taters right over the top and into outer space. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 09, 2011

I had originally planned to skip the cheese but when it came time I just had to add it. OK, it did add that dreaded sat fat but you just have to go for the gusto on occasion. I'm very glad that I did because it was just great and, Kato, you have made DH one very happy fellow this evening. This is holiday worthy and everyone at your table will worship you with oooo's and aaahhhhh's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 07, 2011

Excellent recipe. With the addition of bacon to the top, it was just like loaded baked potatoes. I kinda cheated.....didn't have any leftover mashed, so I had to make fresh.;) Baby Kato, this was just wonderful. I'll keep this in mind when I do have leftovers. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 April 10, 2010

WOW!!! These are so yummy! My little girl and DH thought these were the best taters ever. I made them as written except I subbed those French's fried onions for the minced onions and breadcrumbs. What a great recipe! I will be making this again. Thanks, Baby Kato!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night February 19, 2010

Oh man oh man!!! These are awesome leftover potatoes!! I made this for 1-2 servings as a main lunch meal. I followed exactly as written, except I left off the bread crumbs (not a fan of baked crumbs) and did add some crumbled bacon and for the onion, I used some leftover caramelized onion. So flavorful!!! Thanks for another great recipe BK!! Made for Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 11, 2010

Great potatoes and a good way to use left over mashed potatoes. I used shredded cheddar cheese that I sprinkled liberally and a shredded parmesan blend cheese. Topped with some bacon bits and unsalted butter. Next time might add a little sour cream to the mashed potatoes and add the minced garlic. Thank's so much Baby Kato for posting this recipe, will be making it again. Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NewZealand Recipe Swap #34.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 14, 2009
Shaker Potatoes