Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shaker Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shaker Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2013

      Great potatoes! I didn't have leftover potatoes so used instant (didn't have time to make from scratch) and they still turned out very tasty! Made as written and loved the half-melted chunks of cheese mixed in the spuds. Will make these with our leftover potatoes! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #72.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! I had shredded cheddar, so I mixed shredded sharp and mild cheddar and rolled them into a ball to push into the potatoes. Also, I used shredded parm instead of grated.....even with the substitutions for what I had these turned out delicious! So happy I made them! Made for Market Tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      Yeah for leftovers! Bring it on. Dh and I ate the whole thing. Could be increased, made ahead to impress guests with a meal where you are not making gravy. I made as posted except I pressed in some lovely Bacon Jam into the potatoes. This is a true keeper. TY BK for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Yummy!!! Takes plain boring mashed potatoes up a notch. I didn't have any leftover mashed potatoes so I used a container of store bought refrigerated mashed potatoes. I mixed the onions and cheese into the potatoes, spread it out in my little casserole dish, topped with the bread crumbs and dotted the top with butter. The flavor was divine! Made as an extra for July 2011 Aus/NZ Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      These were a big hit with my family. Great way to use leftover mashed potatoes, made as written only to have DS suggest that at crumbled bacon would push these tasty taters right over the top and into outer space. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I had originally planned to skip the cheese but when it came time I just had to add it. OK, it did add that dreaded sat fat but you just have to go for the gusto on occasion. I'm very glad that I did because it was just great and, Kato, you have made DH one very happy fellow this evening. This is holiday worthy and everyone at your table will worship you with oooo's and aaahhhhh's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Excellent recipe. With the addition of bacon to the top, it was just like loaded baked potatoes. I kinda cheated.....didn't have any leftover mashed, so I had to make fresh.;) Baby Kato, this was just wonderful. I'll keep this in mind when I do have leftovers. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      WOW!!! These are so yummy! My little girl and DH thought these were the best taters ever. I made them as written except I subbed those French's fried onions for the minced onions and breadcrumbs. What a great recipe! I will be making this again. Thanks, Baby Kato!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Oh man oh man!!! These are awesome leftover potatoes!! I made this for 1-2 servings as a main lunch meal. I followed exactly as written, except I left off the bread crumbs (not a fan of baked crumbs) and did add some crumbled bacon and for the onion, I used some leftover caramelized onion. So flavorful!!! Thanks for another great recipe BK!! Made for Stars Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Great potatoes and a good way to use left over mashed potatoes. I used shredded cheddar cheese that I sprinkled liberally and a shredded parmesan blend cheese. Topped with some bacon bits and unsalted butter. Next time might add a little sour cream to the mashed potatoes and add the minced garlic. Thank's so much Baby Kato for posting this recipe, will be making it again. Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NewZealand Recipe Swap #34.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      Great! A good side dish to have with a steak! The onions and cheese just makes the potatoes so delicious! We enjoyed them and scraped the bowl!!! LOL! Prepared as a participant in the Aus/NZ Swap #32 Sept 2009 Event.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Very Good. I used Italian bread crumbs and spicy shredded cheese. I didn't measure the parmesan cheese - just poured losts on top. I cut the butter in half. Mine baked in 30 minutes. Very good BK. Made for Aussie Swap #29.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      DH really liked these potatoes. Me a little bit less but I think that's because of the parmesan. I guess I don't like it when it's golden. I'll try with mozzarella or cheddar cheese. We cooked them on the barbecue cause it was too hot to do it in the oven. Thanks Baby Kato. Made for Market tag

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Wow! I can't wait to make these again. Mashed potatoes don't last in my house, no matter how much I make. So.... I made them especially for this wonderful recipe. It was scrumptious. Definitely worth repeating. ;) Thank you for sharing this simple and ever so tasty dish. YUM! (Made for Bevy Tag 6/08) ~V

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I too made mashed potatoes just for this recipe. LoL! Very tasty indeed. I used Asiago cheese, as I have an abundance of it in my freezer and I omitted the butter on the topping. Personal preference. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I thought this was really good. I did leave out the onions for my 9 yr old daughter and it was still yummy! I will make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Delicious. Like Paula, I had some frozen, balsamic-roasted onions, which I thawed and used (OMG!) and some roasted garlic (about 6 cloves - but it's sweet when it's roasted). Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. This recipe is wonderful - rich and so delicious. Everyone here loved it and I wish I'd made more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe that has so many options available. I too made mashed potatoes in order to make this recipe using 4 to 5 medium size potatoes to which were added some freshly snipped chives. I wound up using less cheese because I ran out of places to press it into the potatoes (very cheesy). For the medium onion, what could possibly be sweeter than caramelized Vidalia Onions? I had Crockpot Caramelized Onions in the freezer so I thawed a portion and topped the potatoes with them. The breadcrumbs were from my Seasoned Breadcrumb Mix. Everyone raved about them and went back for seconds. Thanks for such a wonderfully versatile recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      I made mashed potatoes just for this recipe. I left out the onion(my DH doesn't like). Delicious! Everyone loved it! I had 2 guests(who always show up at dinnertime) and they loved it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      Gerry these are great! I cheated and used instant mashedm 1 package made 2 cups so it was perfect! I doubled it and it was perfect in 8x8 pan. Used one package butter flavor and 1 pkg garlic flavor instant then did 1/2 cheddar 1/2 jack cheese. Doubled it did have to bake slightly longer as I wanted the topping to be crunchy/crispy. This is a great way to dress up instant mashed but can only imagine how great it will be with leftover homemade! Thanks for another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shaker Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.4
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    64%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 72.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 724.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites