30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used boneless chicken thighs for this mix and poured 1/4 cup melted butter over the fillets before baking for approx 40 minutes. Great flavours and a nice crispy coating, thanks for posting.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 22, 2002

I have used this recipe with both pork chops and chicken and it is great with both. I have quit buying the boxed stuff from the store since we like this version better. I make a big batch and store it in the freezer so I have it on-hand at all times since my kids love chicken nuggets made with this coating.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tunnia July 26, 2010

I used this recipe to make Crisp and Creamy Baked Chicken. The only change I made was using breadcrumbs instead of the corn flakes. It had a great flavor. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaBelle30 June 01, 2007

I did as Trishypie did,,I used bread crumbs instead of cornflakes.I also doubled the seasonings.And to make the breading stick to the chops I beat an egg with a about 1/4 cup milk.I coated both sides with egg,then covered each side of the chops with the breadcrumbs.And instead of baking I fried them in about about a 1/2 cup of canola oil.This was very good,Thank you for posting."Keep Smiling:)"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � February 09, 2007

The best Shake 'n Bake mix I have tried so far, this added a few ingredients to TSR Version of Kraft Shake'n Bake (Original) by Todd Wilbur, from which I took the baking directions. However, this time I dipped the chicken thighs in vegetable oil before putting them in the seasoning bag and pressing the seasoning onto the chicken. I then baked 45 minutes at 400 degrees F. Perhaps due to the vegetable oil, these chicken thighs reminded me of the staple Shake 'n Bake chicken my mother made at least once a week while I was growing up. DH declared, "these are GRRRREAT!" Served with Rice With Coconut Milk and simply steamed broccoli. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 19, 2014

This makes really delicious baked zucchini sticks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird August 24, 2013

I use this all the time since I have found it. The use bread crumbs for I don't have corn flakes in the house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 November 30, 2012

This was a fantastic mix. No need for store bought anymore. I did make a few changes and that was I didn't have enough corn flake crumbs so I used 1/3 cup garlic and herb breadcrumbs and 1/4c panko breadcrumbs with 1/2c corn flake crumbs that I had. I used this for pork chops and it was fabulous! Saved rest of mix and placed in glass container and in freezer for future use.
Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. October 25, 2010

Was going to grill my pork chops tonight, but the Tropical Storm came a bit earlier than expected. When I looked for Shake and Bake in my pantry I couldn't find any, so I looked this recipe up. Boy am I glad I did. Like some of the other reviewers I had bread crumbs not corn flakes, which worked great. Hubby also pan fried and finished them in the oven as they were very thick. Oh I also used oregano instead of parsley, because that's what I had. No more buying the box stuff for me! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RepoGuysWife September 28, 2010

Awesome. This tastes better than the boxed stuff in my opinion. Used a entire recipe on 4 good sized pork chops, baked in the oven at 350 for about 35-40 min. Followed recipe with the exception of a good shake of Penzeys Northwoods seasoning (paprika, pepper, thyme, rosemary, garlic and chipotle..wonderfull on anything pork) Perfect, hubby didn't know it wasn't the boxed stuff! Going in my keeper file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 March 24, 2010
Shake and Bake Mix