Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shake and Bake Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shake and Bake Mix

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      I used boneless chicken thighs for this mix and poured 1/4 cup melted butter over the fillets before baking for approx 40 minutes. Great flavours and a nice crispy coating, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      I have used this recipe with both pork chops and chicken and it is great with both. I have quit buying the boxed stuff from the store since we like this version better. I make a big batch and store it in the freezer so I have it on-hand at all times since my kids love chicken nuggets made with this coating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I used this recipe to make Crisp and Creamy Baked Chicken. The only change I made was using breadcrumbs instead of the corn flakes. It had a great flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I did as Trishypie did,,I used bread crumbs instead of cornflakes.I also doubled the seasonings.And to make the breading stick to the chops I beat an egg with a about 1/4 cup milk.I coated both sides with egg,then covered each side of the chops with the breadcrumbs.And instead of baking I fried them in about about a 1/2 cup of canola oil.This was very good,Thank you for posting."Keep Smiling:)"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      The best Shake 'n Bake mix I have tried so far, this added a few ingredients to TSR Version of Kraft Shake'n Bake (Original) by Todd Wilbur, from which I took the baking directions. However, this time I dipped the chicken thighs in vegetable oil before putting them in the seasoning bag and pressing the seasoning onto the chicken. I then baked 45 minutes at 400 degrees F. Perhaps due to the vegetable oil, these chicken thighs reminded me of the staple Shake 'n Bake chicken my mother made at least once a week while I was growing up. DH declared, "these are GRRRREAT!" Served with Rice With Coconut Milk and simply steamed broccoli. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      This makes really delicious baked zucchini sticks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      I use this all the time since I have found it. The use bread crumbs for I don't have corn flakes in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      This was a fantastic mix. No need for store bought anymore. I did make a few changes and that was I didn't have enough corn flake crumbs so I used 1/3 cup garlic and herb breadcrumbs and 1/4c panko breadcrumbs with 1/2c corn flake crumbs that I had. I used this for pork chops and it was fabulous! Saved rest of mix and placed in glass container and in freezer for future use.
      Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Was going to grill my pork chops tonight, but the Tropical Storm came a bit earlier than expected. When I looked for Shake and Bake in my pantry I couldn't find any, so I looked this recipe up. Boy am I glad I did. Like some of the other reviewers I had bread crumbs not corn flakes, which worked great. Hubby also pan fried and finished them in the oven as they were very thick. Oh I also used oregano instead of parsley, because that's what I had. No more buying the box stuff for me! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Awesome. This tastes better than the boxed stuff in my opinion. Used a entire recipe on 4 good sized pork chops, baked in the oven at 350 for about 35-40 min. Followed recipe with the exception of a good shake of Penzeys Northwoods seasoning (paprika, pepper, thyme, rosemary, garlic and chipotle..wonderfull on anything pork) Perfect, hubby didn't know it wasn't the boxed stuff! Going in my keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      So very good!! I made an error and put in 1 Tbl. of sugar, instead of 1 tsp. My husband said it was awesome whatever the recipe. I will use this from now on, so much cheaper and tastier thank store bought, and no preservatives! I made pork Chops and baked potatoes, so the oven was put to good use too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This made for a delicious crisp coating for baked pork chops. We'll use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      This makes very tasty chicken and it was so easy! Everyone loved it. It's going into my recipe file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Came out wonderful-my hubby who loves shake n bake pork chops ( I ran out) did not know the difference and he commented on how good the meal was -i used the entire recipe for 3 huge bone-in pork chops-they took about 45 minutes to cook-I also put a bit of olive oil on the foiled pan and over the chops-made it sizzle. this recipe is a great shake n bake copy-thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This is a fantastic recipe! It made enough to cover 2 pounds of chicken thighs, and baked to a crisp! The hubby loved it so much he wants to have it again next week with chicken breasts cut into strips. I can't wait to try it with that! It made the house smell great and is a great way to have "fried" chicken on a figure friendly calorie budget. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, believe me when I say it will be had often at our house :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      We actually liked this better than the store bought shake and bake, it was crispier. We used it on pork chops with a little butter over the top to give it the right texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This is super. The celery salt in my opinion is the clincher. It makes it taste just like shake and bake. I did'nt have corn flakes so I used 1/2 a cup seasoned bread crumbs and 1/2 cup panko crumbs and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      This was very good. I put about 4 cups of corn flakes into my food processor and reduced it to crumbs and got around 1 cup in the end. I replaced the sugar with a powdered chicken base, though you could use any flavor. It was crispy, crunchy and the flavors were excellent. Best of all I know exactly what goes into my coatings now. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I needed to use up some corn flakes that I had so I did an ingredient search for corn flakes and found this recipe. I had some stuffed pork chops that I was going to make for dinner, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. I double the ingredients to use up all my corn flakes. I didn't have any celery salt so I had to leave that out. I coated the pork chops and baked them at 425 for 40 minutes because they were really thick. The pork chops came out very tender with a nice crunchy coating. I'm glad I doubled the ingredients because now I have extra on hand for future meals. Thanks for a great recipe that I will always keep on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I used this recipe for chicken and they came out really mushy, sorry I will continue to use Shake & Bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shake and Bake Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (12 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 41.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    36%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 633.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites