Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shake-A-Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shake-A-Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2003

      This recipe was amazing! I am not a great pie crust maker so I am always searching for that perfect recipe. I had some doubts as it sounded bizarre, but it worked just as Deb said and it was great. rolled out perfectly and was the flakiest crust ever

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I have never been very good at pie crusts. This came out perfectly. I used it for Granny's Banana Cream Pie Granny's Banana Cream Pie and it was just fantastic. I froze the other half of the dough and worked in some garlic powder before rolling it out for some thrown together meat pies. Perfect recipe. I'm so happy I can make a nice pie crust now!! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I DREADed making a pie crust and when I tried this I thought WOW here is something I can do easily. It was great and took no time. Made a half recipe and baked it with Sweet Potato Pie recipe 30766. Wonderful! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I always use this recipe from debk. I just remembered now to review it. I always cut the shortening into small pieces with a knife before shaking as it tends to stay in a lump otherwise. I usually shake this up in a Gladware container or something similar. This recipe works every time for me. I've used it for meat pies, quiche, pumpkin pie, apple pie, and empanadas, just to name a few.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      It was easy but it didn't taste very good. I think this crust is better for savory pies that have a stronger flavor than dessert pies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Making pie crust is not one of my strong points and this method seemed romantic...as in something novel and too good to be true. I did take the advice of one and cut the shortening into the flour in rather large chunks with a knife before proceeding. I need to backup a second. Kid #3, who rarely likes doing anything involving work, was as intrigued as I and insisted on doing the shaking...that's a good thing. All on it's own, the dough adheres together and forms a ball. I kept the dough chilled until ready to use then rolled it between two pieces of plastic wrap and placed it in my most impressive fluted deep dish pie pan. After preparing thefensk's Buttermilk Pie, the moment arrived. The results were a tender, flaky and most delicious crust. I'm swooning!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I loved the fun ( quite a workout!) technique of this recipe! I also loved that it rolled out easily on parchment paper. Unfortunately That's where my love for this recipe ended. I think the flavor is just not there for me, it was very very bland, almost like it was missing something. I think if I ever made this again I would add a little more sugar and some salt. Thanks for the unique recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This is so easy and it tastes great. I will use often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I will have to say 4 1/2 stars only because the shaking method did not work for me. I cut up the shortening as others suggested but it never mixed in right. So I used the pastry blender just briefly then continued with the recipe. This is the easiest dough I have ever worked with. Rolled out like a dream! Nice taste and texture too. Thx very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      This works great. Also has a much better flavor than store bought and much cheaper too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Easiest pie dough ever and most fun too! I clicked on the stars several times but alas could only get 5. This deserves many more. I have been making pie dough (quite successfully for years I might add) My trusty pastry cutter broke:) Why a new pie crust recipe would help I didn't know, but I went searching. I found this recipe (A God thing I think, because I found this.) and will from now on use it.
      I followed Bev ery's suggestion and dropped shortening in by the teaspoonful and tossing flour around lightly to coat. Thank You for sharing. 2012 grandchildren (now 4count./ 8 little hands) still love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I like this recipe a TON! Two reasons easy as well pie lol flaky crust and my kiddos can help with making desserts. lol okay that is three lol. Thanks Deb for a great idea that includes the entire family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      I made this crust on Christmas Eve for a pumpkin pie. This was the first time to try this recipe. I followed this recipe exactly except for an extra spoon of sugar. It worked great. Will definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I baked up a rhubarb pie this afternoon with your Shake-a-Pie crust. The crust was soooo easy to make and really delicious. I certainly will be using your crust to make all my pies in the future. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Why on earth haven't I been doing this all along? This makes the best flakiest crust that I have EVER made, mine usually are sort of dense... not this time!! I was looking for a new crust recipe that was simpler than the one I'm currently using and this was it and man, oh man am I ever glad that I found it! I made half for a fruit pie with a crumble topping and this was great. It did take some tweaking though... on the second shaking, it wasn't bouncing around so I opened it up and it was sort of gooey... aha, needs more flour I thought so I added a couple of tablespoons and started skakin' again and pretty soon it sounded like a rock - whalla, perfect dough! It was 90 degree's outside today, so I wonder if the shortening was too soft because of the heat... in any event, it turned out great. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe for tasty pie crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      We used this recipe for a youth fundraiser -- 22 teenage girls made 90 pies from scratch. They made the crusts themselves, and several people came up to me afterward asking if the leaders made all the crusts because they were so good! I love this recipe and will never use another! When I make pot pie, I leave out the sugar and stir some finely grated cheddar cheese into the "sand" before adding the water. Even my grandmother's pie crust didn't come out this flakey -- it's that amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Oh dear! I used this last Thanksgiving and I forgot to review it. This was my first pie crust ever and it came out perfect. The only problem I had was I didn't flour the board enough and I ended up with a hole in the crust and had to re-roll it :-( but that's not the recipe's fault. This tasted GREAT, flakey, light, and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Really great pie crust! I have used this several time since I found it here. Sometimes I use 1/2cup butter 1/2 cup shortening, either way is great and really good for a pot pie! Thanks for sharing, so much better than a premade store bought one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Finally, a crust that doesn't soak up all the pie juices and get soggy. In step #3 the dough started making a hard ball - guess DH shook too hard? Added the water, shook again and all came out well. I was short on time and just patted this into the pie plate. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Ok, Deb K, THANK YOU! I tried 3 different pie recipes from 'zaar and screwed up all of them and I got so frustrated I was flinging the messed up dough in the sink and I was covered in flour. For your recipe, I was still pretty irritated so I put the ingredients in the container, handed it to my husband, said, "here, shake this til it sounds like sand" then, "Shake this til it sounds like a rock. Put the dough on the floured counter and it rolled out perfectly, didn't stick, break and the pie I made was fabulous. I wish I could give you more than 5 stars. Always using THIS recipe in the future!!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shake-A-Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.9
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    61%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes