41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was amazing! I am not a great pie crust maker so I am always searching for that perfect recipe. I had some doubts as it sounded bizarre, but it worked just as Deb said and it was great. rolled out perfectly and was the flakiest crust ever

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan2012 March 02, 2003

I have never been very good at pie crusts. This came out perfectly. I used it for Granny's Banana Cream Pie Granny's Banana Cream Pie and it was just fantastic. I froze the other half of the dough and worked in some garlic powder before rolling it out for some thrown together meat pies. Perfect recipe. I'm so happy I can make a nice pie crust now!! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeFish April 25, 2010

I DREADed making a pie crust and when I tried this I thought WOW here is something I can do easily. It was great and took no time. Made a half recipe and baked it with Sweet Potato Pie recipe 30766. Wonderful! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy April 07, 2010

I always use this recipe from debk. I just remembered now to review it. I always cut the shortening into small pieces with a knife before shaking as it tends to stay in a lump otherwise. I usually shake this up in a Gladware container or something similar. This recipe works every time for me. I've used it for meat pies, quiche, pumpkin pie, apple pie, and empanadas, just to name a few.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominique353 December 18, 2009

It was easy but it didn't taste very good. I think this crust is better for savory pies that have a stronger flavor than dessert pies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CeylonTea December 01, 2009

Making pie crust is not one of my strong points and this method seemed romantic...as in something novel and too good to be true. I did take the advice of one and cut the shortening into the flour in rather large chunks with a knife before proceeding. I need to backup a second. Kid #3, who rarely likes doing anything involving work, was as intrigued as I and insisted on doing the shaking...that's a good thing. All on it's own, the dough adheres together and forms a ball. I kept the dough chilled until ready to use then rolled it between two pieces of plastic wrap and placed it in my most impressive fluted deep dish pie pan. After preparing thefensk's Buttermilk Pie, the moment arrived. The results were a tender, flaky and most delicious crust. I'm swooning!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 11, 2009

I loved the fun ( quite a workout!) technique of this recipe! I also loved that it rolled out easily on parchment paper. Unfortunately That's where my love for this recipe ended. I think the flavor is just not there for me, it was very very bland, almost like it was missing something. I think if I ever made this again I would add a little more sugar and some salt. Thanks for the unique recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies November 29, 2008

This is so easy and it tastes great. I will use often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potions November 25, 2008

I will have to say 4 1/2 stars only because the shaking method did not work for me. I cut up the shortening as others suggested but it never mixed in right. So I used the pastry blender just briefly then continued with the recipe. This is the easiest dough I have ever worked with. Rolled out like a dream! Nice taste and texture too. Thx very much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 20, 2008

This works great. Also has a much better flavor than store bought and much cheaper too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf September 28, 2008
Shake-A-Pie Crust