Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shaah (Somali Tea) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shaah (Somali Tea)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2011

      I agree with another reviewer that the subtle taste of the cloves and cardamom seeds were really nice in this tea. I used Earl Grey. I don't like my beverages very sweet so 3/4 tsp of sugar was plenty for me. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Loved the subtle taste of the cloves and cardamom seeds. I sat out on the deck this morning and enjoyed this instead of my coffee. Great way to start the day! Made for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I made it 2 times. Yesterday with earl grey and 1 tbs sugar. It was too sweet but I loved the taste. Today I tried with black tea and no sugar. I needed the sweetness so I added 1/2 tbs of sugar. It was perfect. But I think I prefer it with earl grey. I bought more cardamom pods today so I can do it very often :) Thanks Nif :) Made for the Count Dracula and His Hot Bites for ZWT7

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Lovely cardamom, clove flavour. Not too strong! I used a Lipton orange pekoe, Yellow Label tea bag, 4 slightly crushed cardamom pods and I think that is what was intended. For the milk, as we try to be dairy free, I used homemade almond milk. Made for ZWT7 Africa, for my team Food.Commandos

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      Hi Nif! I used a bit less sugar & a bit more milk in my 2nd cup. ;) I LOVE the flavor of cloves in my chai. Thanks for a great cuppa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I really enjoyed this sweet and spicy tea Nif. The flaovrs were very subtle. Sweetened with a sugar and with a little milk ths was a real treat. Thanks for sharing. made for ZWT7 (Witchin Kitchen)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      Comforting drinking this on this cool overcast day. I did add a cinnamon stick to the water and the rest of the spices and simmered to release more of the goodness before added the tea bag for 5 minutes. I also used low fat milk. Made for ZWT 2011. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      I enjoyed this for a morning drink. Like a nice, light chai. Thanks! Made for the Food.Commandos for ZWT#7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shaah (Somali Tea)

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.8
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    33%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea bags

    cardamom seeds

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites