Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Severed Fingers Halloween Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Severed Fingers Halloween Cookies

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2007

      These were good! I added almond extract as suggested - yummy! They were a little soft for me, though. Next time I'm going to put two pretzel sticks inside each cookie as finger bones so that they crunch when you bite in to them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      These were super easy to do - As soon as the dough was made, I used my smalles scooper and was able to scoop 33 balls. Covered these and put in fridge for an hour or so. It was then the simplest thing ever to roll and shape them right on the silpat - didn't use any flour at all! I used whole almonds, because if there is an easy way to split those guys in half I don't know what it is! But the whole ones were perfect. Used a green tinted egg wash and they baked perfectly in 12 minutes. I was worried about the nails falling off but there was no fear of that - they were firmly attached. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Try this! Take the cookies out of the oven 1 minute early. Use kitchen tongs, or your fingers, just be careful-HOT-to pinch the dough together. This is when you can really create the shape of the knuckles and create a really cool wrinkled effect! Just pop them back in the oven for one more minute and voila!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I didn't realize how thin you had to roll these...mine turned out more like "toes" but they were still tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      I made these for the kiddies' Halloween party last week (early) and it was a BIG hit, more with the adults than the kids themselves! The kids found them a bit creepy, some of them even refused to try it... more for us adults! Once chilled, the dough was very easy to work with, didn't even need extra flour. I worked with small portions at a time, chilling the rest in the fridge and I doubled the recipe with no problem. I added in a bit more vanilla than stated and a few drops of almond extract as well. I still need to practice to shape the fingers properly, because even though I did roll them out quite thin, they did spread out while baking. Mine turned out more like monster's thumb than witchypoo's fingers, but they tasted fab! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. This one is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      I'm not a baker, but I had to try these for our Halloween party! They turned out sooooo cool, and were not as difficult as I thought. I did add both 1/4 tsp vanilla AND 1/4 tsp almond extract to the batter. I couldn't find blanched almonds, but regular almonds worked just fine in the food coloring. I posted a picture! Definitely work with small batches of dough at a time and keep the rest in the fridge until you are ready. That seems to help!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I thought these were ok. The taste was so-so. I even added almond extract to them. Presentation wise, they're a hit-I used a green egg wash, but there's nothing simple about the process. I rolled them very thin and they still came out looking like fingers from Andre the Giant. Having to keep putting the dough in the freezer was a pain. I used sliced almonds since that's what I had, and my fingers will be red for a month of Sundays. Great idea, but not something I would make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      These cookies were great. We added green food coloring and used pecans as the nails to create "Zombie Fingers". With a mix of green and red gel icing they looked very creepy. I hate to say I scared a child with them, but once he got a taste he couldn't put them down.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      These sure caused quite a commotion at the Halloween party! Everyone loved the looks and flavor of these cookies. I made a few adaptations like substituting sliced almonds for nails and adding slivered almonds for a bone sticking out of the other end of the finger. I also omitted the egg wash and food coloring, but added red gel icing for an erie "garnish". These are fun for kids to help with; keep in mind to roll them thin, as they will spread and flatten a little while baking. Thanks for a great party recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      Cute! Not hard to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      this was an easy recipe to vegan-ize! it's all about how you color them...
      they do flatten out as they bake so we went in half way through and squished them back into shape. helps with the wrinkly look too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      My 5 year old needed a treat to take to school (luckily her school is not nut free) and chose this one from your top 10 Halloween treats email. We loved it and so did everyone else. We made the dough together and then she did all of the rolling (I tried to help but she had it all under control), imprinting the knuckles (we used a plastic spoon tip to make the lines) and placement of the fingernails. We used whole almonds and I cut them in half with a sharp knife (a bit dangerous but it worked). We also followed another reviewers idea of using an ice cream scoop to make the balls before chilling - my scoop is bigger so I broke each ball in half. I think you need to add a bit of water to the egg white for the wash or it is unmanageable goopy (and we added several drops of green food colouring to ours for added creepiness). Ours did not puff up a lot like others said so they were creepily skinny. They also took closer to 15 mins to cook. A warning about food colouring - be prepared to be red fingered for several days - I scoured the internet and still haven't found the remedy. And finally, just so you know, the picture with this recipe is NOT what they look like from the recipe. If you want the picture look I think you have to use jam to place the almonds, use a green egg wash and not soak the almonds (see one of the reviews).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      These turned out great! I added some almond extract as well, and separated the dough into 3 parts- dyed one green and one grey and one left plain. Rolled into little balls and then into the fridge, was super easy to mold into the finger, no flour needed! Finished adding little red food dye drops onto the fingers for extra blood effect- turned out great! Creeped the kids out! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      I like these cookies bc they were very easy to make, look great, and taste good! I like that they're not too sweet. Might try and add almond extract next time, like others said, but they're good plain too. I used sliced almonds and strawberry jam as blood under the nails and at the ends. I also tinted the dough green to look like witch fingers. Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      These were cute! We made them for a class project after studying the 5 Senses. We added almond extract. We didn't use red dye for the fingers. A sliced almond worked perfectly for the fingernail. We also added 1 drop each of red and yellow food dye to the batter. These cookies do spread. Our first batch didn't look especially realistic. We made the cookies in the second batch significantly thinner, and they really did look like fingers! The taste is okay, but the novelty of the "finger" shape is lots of fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Super cute! I didn't have the almonds so I used cashews and a few pecans after I ran out of cashews.... I used slivered almonds for the "severed bone" effect like some other bakers. I found them to need more almond or vanilla, but jmo. Thanks for the super cute concept. I added a photo with the cashew fingers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      So cool!!! I added green food coloring to the batter and used sliced almonds. I will absolutely be making them again!!! They were so fun and EASY to make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Wonderful! Next time, will add a bit of green coloring to the dough, just for that lovely effect... LOL! The kids will love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Made these last night for a Halloween party~they were a hit! After reading the reviews on keeping the dough cold, after the 30min chill, I cut the dough in quarters and worked with one quarter at a time. Worked out well. Thank you for a fun, yummy recipe~will be making these again next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      I just made these fingers today. They turned out great! Made just as recipe said. These are not real sweet cookie (just right). I think if you wanted sweet cookie you could sprinkle sugar on egg whites. When rolling, you must have flour on your hands and on what you are using to roll on. I think they would be good dipped into choc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Severed Fingers Halloween Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.5
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    45%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 41.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 74.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites