Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seven Layer Magic Bars (With a Sturdy Crust) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seven Layer Magic Bars (With a Sturdy Crust)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I always bring these when I visit someone - a perfect houseguest gift. I often end up using more butterscotch and chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      These classic cookies taste wonderful and a sturdier crust really puts them over the edge! Made two batches and there still weren't enough to go around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      These were great! I used a cup of chocolate and a cup of butterscotch chips. Just like what Mom used to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This recipe has always been a favorite...and the sturdier crust makes a lot more sense! So delicious and easy for the holidays. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Great way to save the crust from being a big crumbly mess. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Easy and good. Even easier to cut if you line the pan with foil or parchement and left it out before cutting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      These bars are amazing and i love the crust! i used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips instead of 1/2 butterscotch.... and if you have a chocolate craving this recipe is sure to satify it! thanks for sharing such a fast and simple recipe!!! it looks like i worked so hard but prep time was less then 2 minutes... i love that!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      The crust makes such a big difference, I've had them where the crust was thin so it was hard to get them out of the tray, but this recipe is fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I love these bars and I think the sturdier crust made them even better! Sometimes when I made them the old way they would fall apart, but this crust really helps them stay together. The only problem that I had was that two cups of graham cracker crumbs wasn't quite enough to cover the bottom of my dish (I used the size the recipe called for) so I had to make up another batch and use part of that. Otherwise this recipe was perfect. Easy and delicious! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      So glad to see this recipe...I love these classic bars! The sturdier crust does make a diffrence. I also use unsweetned coconut, only because the condensed milk is already so sweet. Yum, Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      These were really good. I think I goofed a bit -- thought I'd save a bowl and mix the butter and crumbs right in the pan, but my crust was a bit crumbly...my fault, I think. I'll do it correctly next time. The cookies were still delicious and so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      I did not care for this "sturdier crust." The crust was dry and crumby -- it would have been better, if you want a thicker crust, to keep the original proportions of butter and crumbs.

      Note: lining the pan with foil is a good idea -- but spray it with Pam before assembling the cookies in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      My husband loved these. I made them this morning and prepackaged them for his lunch. He called me raving about them and how they made his day! Thanks for posting such an easy recipe, I got them made before he was even finished getting ready. I wish that I could taste them because they smell awesome but my milk allergy won't let me :( Thank you again for posting such a great sweet snack recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      My next door neighbor made this for Christmas and brought it as a gift. It is really tasty with a cold glass of milk, and full of flavors and textures. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I was anxious to try this recipe because of the sturdier crust. When I went to make them though, I only had one cup of graham crackers. I took a chance and used a cup of regular and a cup of chocolate graham cracker crumbs and it work beautifully! The graham cracker flavor wasn't as strong, but they were still very good and I loved the extra stability. I also used 1 cup each of the chips since that what my usual recipe calls for. It is hard to believe anyone could improve a classic, but I think the thicker crust does. Thanks for posting this genius idea! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I've always loved these bars and made them for my "in-laws". I added more chips to make them a cup each, and cooked them for 30 min. and they were perfect! The edges do stick to the pan, so I think I'll line with parchment next time. My favorite cookie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Wonderful - mixing the crumbs separately really does the trick. I used caramel-chocolate swirl chips and some chopped Hershey kisses (it's what I had on hand) the first time I made these, and, along with some chopped pecans, made a rich bar that we just loved. I'll be making these again this holiday season and for years to come - thanks for such a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      This worked very well. The extra crust helps balance all the creamy sweetness of the toppings - and it was sturdier. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      I made two batches of these for our church's volunteer bagged lunches for the homeless. I used my homemade condensed milk (recipe posted) and it worked great. In fact, I made one with homemade and the other with canned milk, and the homemade version were a bit sturdier. My bars were so sturdy and easy to wrap! This technique of mixing the crumbs (love the extra half cup) with the butter first and pressing firmly in the pan is the only way to make these bars (unless you want a crumbly mess). Thanks Cricket *

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      Cricket, this sounds wonderful. You do need to mention the condensed milk in the ingredients list. I tried to e-mail you, but couldn't. You might want to make this change. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seven Layer Magic Bars (With a Sturdy Crust)

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.3
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    52%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 141.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites