Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seven Layer Magic Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seven Layer Magic Bars

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2001

      I loved these! I grew up on these but never had the butterscotch chips in them. Yummmmy-thank's for posting. Diana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      These are very tasty, but the nuts don't stick to them. I think maybe placing the coconut next to the nuts doesn't work well (nothing to make them stick together). If I try them again, I think, I'll put the chocolate chips between the coconut and the nuts...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      Kids loved these next time I will have to make 2 pans at one time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      This is the exact recipe I use! The only thing I do differently is drizzle 1/2 of the sweetend condensed milk over the crumbs, and the other half over the top of all the layers. That way you don't have to press down at all, it just sticks together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This is exactly what I was hoping it would be. Very sweet. I didn't use the aluminum foil and it was hard, but I got out the bars ok.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I was looking for a treat that I could put into the mail to my kids who attend Purdue, and this was just perfect. I made the recipe as directed, but split it between two foil 8" square pans, which fit nicely into a standard mailing box. I know the kids will love it, even though it will arrive with a small square missing from one corner (one HAS to sample these things, don't you think??)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      The other day I went to get in my car. Lo and behold there was a baggie on the hood of my car filled with some bakery. So, I took the baggie off the hood and got in my car. Needless to say, when I was driving I devoured all of the bars. They were phenominal! I knew they had to be from my neighbor, so when I got home, I ran like a wild woman to her house. "What were those bars that you left me?" I begged. She said, "Seven Layer Magic Bars! If you want the recipe, I can get it from my friend." I thanked her, but refused, because I knew that one quick trip to Recipezaar and I would have the recipe. And I was right! They are so good that I'm afraid to make any more, because I'm trying desperately to loose weight, and with these in the house, my will power will be gone! If you haven't tried these, you are really missing out on a taste sensation--as Tony the Tiger would say...."THEY'RE GREAT!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      These tasted good and were easy to make, but they were messy to eat. They were gooey and did not cut nicely into bars. I'll try the recipe that includes a "substantial crust" next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      What a classic recipe. I've always loved these, and as a result, DH just discovered them! Thanks for the reminder of a tasty, comfort food sweet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Very Sweet, VERY good. Used toffee pieces instead of butterscotch,arrowroot cookies instead of graham crackers,wish i would have read more of the reviews before as pouring half of the sweetened condensed milk would have made it stick together better, YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      these were really good. I didn't have nuts so i added honey nut cheerios and topped with nuttella. I was expecting something totally different when i made them. Looking for that recipe from a childhood memory. this wasn't what i was looking for, BUT still a keeper! very yummy and gooey. i loved the flavor. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Good recipe...everyone loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Awesome- a salty and sweet, chocolatey and sugary treat. My husband and I made these together- fun and easy. I've had these before, and am so glad I found this recipe so we could make them ourselves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Whenever I am invited to someone's house, this is what I am told to bring. So yummy! I also sprinkle white chocolate chips and leave off the nuts since people can be so finicky :) I also pour on the sweetened condensed milk right before I pop it in the oven. I would watch the cook time because the edges tend to cook real fast and then it's a real hassle to cut because they stick to the side of the pan. Maybe greasing pan first would help? I will try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      I dont know where you got this recipe but I hane had it for 2 years. It matches mine to a -tee its sooo yummy I make it more than often. I got mine out of the Joy of baking cooking cookbook the Christmas of 06. If you havent had it yet you should try it. Its great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This is a great recipe that my family has made for as long as I can remember. The only difference that I do is that I press the crumbs into the melted butter to form a crust and I save the condensed milk as the last layer that is drizzled in an even coating to bind the other ingredients as well. This is very addicting! Next time I am going to try this recipe with chocolate condensed milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Thank you SO MUCH for posting this!! I had lost this recipe years ago, and I'm thrilled to have found it again!! One of my favorite bar cookies!! Rich, and just pure HEAVEN!!! My neighbors thank you, too! ;) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      One word...YUMMO!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I made these for Christmas. I used all chocolate chips rather than chocolate and butterscotch. I also poured some of the condensed milk over the crust, added the other ingredients, then poured the remaining milk over the top. They were delicious and everyone loved them. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Absolutely to die for! I lost my mom's recipie for these. Thank you for posting this. The only thing we do sifferent is I don't use butterscotch chips, I use white chocolate and dark chocolate chips.We always used chopped walnuts, but I picked up chopped pecans by accident so I used them and yummo! My childhood revisited!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seven Layer Magic Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.6
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    54%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 10.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 92.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites