26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved these! I grew up on these but never had the butterscotch chips in them. Yummmmy-thank's for posting. Diana

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's September 18, 2001

These are very tasty, but the nuts don't stick to them. I think maybe placing the coconut next to the nuts doesn't work well (nothing to make them stick together). If I try them again, I think, I'll put the chocolate chips between the coconut and the nuts...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* October 14, 2002

Kids loved these next time I will have to make 2 pans at one time.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim1 April 29, 2002

This is the exact recipe I use! The only thing I do differently is drizzle 1/2 of the sweetend condensed milk over the crumbs, and the other half over the top of all the layers. That way you don't have to press down at all, it just sticks together.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Godiva Girl December 03, 2008

This is exactly what I was hoping it would be. Very sweet. I didn't use the aluminum foil and it was hard, but I got out the bars ok.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha April 14, 2009

I was looking for a treat that I could put into the mail to my kids who attend Purdue, and this was just perfect. I made the recipe as directed, but split it between two foil 8" square pans, which fit nicely into a standard mailing box. I know the kids will love it, even though it will arrive with a small square missing from one corner (one HAS to sample these things, don't you think??)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva February 26, 2007

The other day I went to get in my car. Lo and behold there was a baggie on the hood of my car filled with some bakery. So, I took the baggie off the hood and got in my car. Needless to say, when I was driving I devoured all of the bars. They were phenominal! I knew they had to be from my neighbor, so when I got home, I ran like a wild woman to her house. "What were those bars that you left me?" I begged. She said, "Seven Layer Magic Bars! If you want the recipe, I can get it from my friend." I thanked her, but refused, because I knew that one quick trip to Recipezaar and I would have the recipe. And I was right! They are so good that I'm afraid to make any more, because I'm trying desperately to loose weight, and with these in the house, my will power will be gone! If you haven't tried these, you are really missing out on a taste sensation--as Tony the Tiger would say...."THEY'RE GREAT!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tree luee dee December 30, 2006

These tasted good and were easy to make, but they were messy to eat. They were gooey and did not cut nicely into bars. I'll try the recipe that includes a "substantial crust" next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun November 21, 2012

What a classic recipe. I've always loved these, and as a result, DH just discovered them! Thanks for the reminder of a tasty, comfort food sweet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K February 11, 2012

Very Sweet, VERY good. Used toffee pieces instead of butterscotch,arrowroot cookies instead of graham crackers,wish i would have read more of the reviews before as pouring half of the sweetened condensed milk would have made it stick together better, YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker #831774 January 08, 2012
Seven Layer Magic Bars