27 Reviews

Awesome recipe, truly five star. My family absolutely adores this dish. We've been eating it for a while. Yummy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deadheadie August 11, 2010

I love this recipe! It is so easy to make and absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prettyleodia July 27, 2011

Yum, this turned out excellent! I cooked it in a cast iron pan and served it tossed with brocolli and white rice. It was kind of like honey sesame chicken but with tofu. I used super firm tofu and pressed it in the fridge for 24 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendasduke March 19, 2015

This is absolutely the best take-out style Chinese food I have made. The sauce was so flavorful and so easy! I used agave instead of honey and it turned out well. I found that I didn't need a full 1/2 cup of sesame seeds though, I only used a few tablespoons and it was still very sesame-y. Either way, delicious. I love how the cornstarch made the tofu extra crispy. Thanks for the recipe! I will make this again & again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nutmeg1126_11594160 November 01, 2012

I wanted to update my review. I have found that if the tofu is cut too small they become hard which was my only issues last time I made this. Also, I like to add a little cornstarch to the sauce to help it thicken. I'll upload a photo but when I made it the other night I didn't have sesamee seeds. It is a great recipe tho and I'm glad I made it again. Origional Review: This was very good. I doubled the tofu and the sauce. I cooked the tofu then removed and set aside while I cooked some broccoli in the same pan. I mixed all the sauce ing. together and when the broccoli was done I added the tofu and the sauce and tossed until it was thickened and served with Jasimine rice. I used 1/2 tsp pepper flakes and I that was pleanty for us. The only thing I will change next time is how I do the tofu. I like to coat the tofu with beaten egg and then the cornstarch and then fry in veg. oil. Without the egg it was a little too crispy and kind of strange to us. I'll make it again with my changes. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse September 18, 2010

I think this is my new favorite way to prepare tofu. I dehydrated mine before cooking by wrapping it in a towel in the fridge for a few hours after pressing it, sliced it real thin, and it came out extra crispy. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS March 04, 2010

The sauce was good, but I was a little worried about how hot it was. I used 1 tsp. of the red chili flakes. When I tasted the sauce on a spoon before serving the dish, it tasted very hot. When we ate it on the tofu and rice and vegetable, however, it was not too bad. You might want to start with 1/2 tsp of the chili flakes though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous October 20, 2015

This was great! I've been strapped for time lately and have been eating a lot of pre-packaged foods and pizza. I picked up some extra-form tofu from the store last night, found this recipe and fried it up. This was my first time cooking tofu (I've only ever used it in smoothies) and it turned out crispy, something I didn't mind. I didn't have cornstarch, so I used all purpose flower to coat pre-oil. I also only had powdered ground ginger but the sauce was still really good. I microwaved some frozen broccoli and tossed it with chopped cashews and black sesame. All of this went on top of microwavable Uncle Ben's brown rice from a packet, surprisingly also pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ephy W. June 14, 2015

This recipe is fantastic, I'm not a fan of tofu but I absolutely loved this. With the cornstarch the tofu gets an amazing texture and the sauce is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caitbob July 29, 2014

This was my second attempt at cooking tofu and this recipe was easy yet impressive! I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jleighsw March 13, 2013
Sesame Tofu