Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sesame Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame Tofu

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2010

      Awesome recipe, truly five star. My family absolutely adores this dish. We've been eating it for a while. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      I love this recipe! It is so easy to make and absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      I wanted to update my review. I have found that if the tofu is cut too small they become hard which was my only issues last time I made this. Also, I like to add a little cornstarch to the sauce to help it thicken. I'll upload a photo but when I made it the other night I didn't have sesamee seeds. It is a great recipe tho and I'm glad I made it again. Origional Review: This was very good. I doubled the tofu and the sauce. I cooked the tofu then removed and set aside while I cooked some broccoli in the same pan. I mixed all the sauce ing. together and when the broccoli was done I added the tofu and the sauce and tossed until it was thickened and served with Jasimine rice. I used 1/2 tsp pepper flakes and I that was pleanty for us. The only thing I will change next time is how I do the tofu. I like to coat the tofu with beaten egg and then the cornstarch and then fry in veg. oil. Without the egg it was a little too crispy and kind of strange to us. I'll make it again with my changes. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      This recipe is fantastic, I'm not a fan of tofu but I absolutely loved this. With the cornstarch the tofu gets an amazing texture and the sauce is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      This was my second attempt at cooking tofu and this recipe was easy yet impressive! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      This is absolutely the best take-out style Chinese food I have made. The sauce was so flavorful and so easy! I used agave instead of honey and it turned out well. I found that I didn't need a full 1/2 cup of sesame seeds though, I only used a few tablespoons and it was still very sesame-y. Either way, delicious. I love how the cornstarch made the tofu extra crispy. Thanks for the recipe! I will make this again & again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      I think this is my new favorite way to prepare tofu. I dehydrated mine before cooking by wrapping it in a towel in the fridge for a few hours after pressing it, sliced it real thin, and it came out extra crispy. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is really delicious!!! I used ground ginger instead of minced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      VERY good, just like the stuff from the place I order in from. I used agave nectar instead of honey, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Everyone loved this and after only making it once my husband raves about it to his friends. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I don't know if I did something wrong, but I really didn't like this. The sauce had such a strong vinegar flavor it was inedible to me. My husband really liked it though, so maybe I'm just overly sensitive to the rice wine vinegar. I might try it again with just 1 tbsp of the vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Delicious dish! I did the following modifications. I decreased the sesame oil to 1 T., the soya sauce to 2 T., I only sprinkled ginger powder into the sauce, 1 tsp. chili flakes and added about 1 T. of cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it. I steamed broccoli while I was frying the tofu and cooking the sauce. I added the broccoli, sauce and tofu into the frying pan. Then sprinkled with sesame seeds. (I didn't use scallions, since I didn't have any, but would definitely use them next time). This dish not only tasted great, it looked great too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      This was delicious! Rather than deep fry the tofu, we pan-fried it in a bit of canola oil. We also added green onions and water chestnuts to the sauce at the end. It was just spicy enough, and I thought the sauce was the perfect consistency after cooking for 15 minutes or so. We'll definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This was fantastic! I did only use half of the sesame oil (to cut calories) and half of the ginger (it's all I had), and like another reviewer, I added cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it and allow it to stick to the tofu better. I don't remember traditional sesame chicken having red pepper flakes in it, but it was still wonderful. I should've doubled the sauce part though. I wanted more of it on my brown rice and broccoli that I served with it! It's so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Very good! My non-vegetarian roommate asked for seconds

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I had trouble with the crunchy cornstarch vs oil ratio. It's good if you don't mess it up! Cook friends don't let non-cook friends use cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Delicious! I doubled the sauce and added broccoli florets, served over steamed rice. It was amazing and this sauce will certainly go in my go-to repertoire. I was also glad to see that someone else uses the cornstarch method for frying tofu, it makes it really crunchy and golden. Thanks so much for posting this resounding 5-star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Excellent, this one is a keeper. Thanks Deadheadie for sighting the original source. I looked it up and it's petty much word for word. Though I never realize Whole Foods gave recipes on thier website so I've gotten another source!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Excellent. This is the first sauce that I've made, and it came out great, and it tastes delicious. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Great recipe, I have enjoyed it for a long time, I get it take out from Whole Foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Very good. I like the idea of dusting the tofu with cornstarch. It makes the tofu fry much nicer than if it wasn't used. I used a deep fryer to fry the tofu cubes. This recipe turned out good for me, and I enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 379.2
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    47%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 788.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    100%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites