25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome recipe, truly five star. My family absolutely adores this dish. We've been eating it for a while. Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deadheadie August 11, 2010

I love this recipe! It is so easy to make and absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prettyleodia July 27, 2011

I wanted to update my review. I have found that if the tofu is cut too small they become hard which was my only issues last time I made this. Also, I like to add a little cornstarch to the sauce to help it thicken. I'll upload a photo but when I made it the other night I didn't have sesamee seeds. It is a great recipe tho and I'm glad I made it again. Origional Review: This was very good. I doubled the tofu and the sauce. I cooked the tofu then removed and set aside while I cooked some broccoli in the same pan. I mixed all the sauce ing. together and when the broccoli was done I added the tofu and the sauce and tossed until it was thickened and served with Jasimine rice. I used 1/2 tsp pepper flakes and I that was pleanty for us. The only thing I will change next time is how I do the tofu. I like to coat the tofu with beaten egg and then the cornstarch and then fry in veg. oil. Without the egg it was a little too crispy and kind of strange to us. I'll make it again with my changes. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse September 18, 2010

Yum, this turned out excellent! I cooked it in a cast iron pan and served it tossed with brocolli and white rice. It was kind of like honey sesame chicken but with tofu. I used super firm tofu and pressed it in the fridge for 24 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendasduke March 19, 2015

This recipe is fantastic, I'm not a fan of tofu but I absolutely loved this. With the cornstarch the tofu gets an amazing texture and the sauce is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caitbob July 29, 2014

This was my second attempt at cooking tofu and this recipe was easy yet impressive! I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jleighsw March 13, 2013

This is absolutely the best take-out style Chinese food I have made. The sauce was so flavorful and so easy! I used agave instead of honey and it turned out well. I found that I didn't need a full 1/2 cup of sesame seeds though, I only used a few tablespoons and it was still very sesame-y. Either way, delicious. I love how the cornstarch made the tofu extra crispy. Thanks for the recipe! I will make this again & again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nutmeg1126_11594160 November 01, 2012

I think this is my new favorite way to prepare tofu. I dehydrated mine before cooking by wrapping it in a towel in the fridge for a few hours after pressing it, sliced it real thin, and it came out extra crispy. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS March 04, 2010

This is really delicious!!! I used ground ginger instead of minced.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen1laura January 07, 2010

VERY good, just like the stuff from the place I order in from. I used agave nectar instead of honey, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Everyone loved this and after only making it once my husband raves about it to his friends. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bekajoi October 19, 2009
Sesame Tofu