18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this bread yesterday. I didn't have buttermilk so I put two tbls of lemon juice into a measuring cup and added milk up to the 2 cup line. I also uses quinoa instead of wheat germ because I didn't have that, and added pepitas (pumpkin seeds). It turned out wonderfully! I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and am glad I did because the whole recipe makes too much for a bread machine (not a criticism). I then punched it down, split it between two regular bread pans, and had enough left to make two large hamburger buns, which we ate with pulled pork that evening. Let everything rise again for another 40 minutes (may need more on a cool day) and baked for 40-50 at 375. Turned out REALLY good. I think it will become a staple in our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTeechur August 06, 2012

Absoluely fantastic bread, Sharon - this is my new favourite! I made the dough in the bread machine, and then placed it in loaf pans and allowed it to double, before following the baking directions. I used 1/2 organic bread flour and 1/2 organic spelt flour, and switched the margine for olive oil. I loved all the seeds, the nuttiness from the wheat germ, and the flavour from the buttermilk - yum! Made for Best of 2010 Tag, and going straight into my Best of 2011 book!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen March 19, 2011

Great toasted for breakfast. I only made one loaf but turned out great. Love all the seeds in it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 03, 2010

Perfect little rolls of perfection. The recipe was cut in half and I made rolls instead of loaves. Used an ABM to prep the dough and did a second rising on a cornmeal-covered baking stone. Baked about 20 minutes. Reviewed for ZWT #6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 01, 2010

Great bread, never cooked with flax seed before. This was lighter and softer than expected. Makes great toast. Made for ZWT6 for the Voracious Vagabonds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn June 01, 2010

Makes really good bread and fantastic toast. I used raw sunflower seeds and a little less poppy seeds because I ran out. I doubled the recipe and made four delicious loaves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen May 30, 2010

Wanting to add grain breads for toasting that would also make up well in the bread maker for the days the wrists don't cooperate had me choose this recipe. The ingredients sounded really good and allowed me to make a half recipe - it is all I thought it would be. The aroma had the teenager and I anticipating and looking forward to those first slices. We all loved the taste and marvelled at the great texture. Much to my surprise it is wonderfully light. I took out the dough while mixing to get the feel of it and added a tablespoon of water - (the second time around I did as suggested on the flour package and added a tablespoon of lemon juice in place of the tablespoon of water) my flour needed that extra tablespoon of liquid. Highly recommend this one to anyone who enjoys grain breads, PS the first loaf didn't make it to the toaster!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry November 18, 2009

This is our all time favourite bread and we do a lot of bread baking. It keeps very well, slices well, and tastes amazing! I have substituted 2 cups of spelt flour for the whole wheat flour with equally great results. When it comes out of the oven it is impossible to resist. Thanks for making it available.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv to make bread November 10, 2009

What a great bread. I love the nutty flavour the seeds/nuts provide, and the little bit of crunch. Excellent bread fresh with cheese. I used ground flax seeds instead of whole. Thanks for an easy to make yummy, appealing bread. Reviewed for ZWT 4

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 05, 2008

I have the worst luck with bread. I can follow the directions to the letter and still come out with something better suited to a doorstop than anything that would resemble a loaf of bread. This, however, turned out perfect. For the seeds, I used black and white sesame seeds, flax, steel cut oats and bulgar wheat. I did an hour for the second rise (accidentally)on my pizza stone (dusted with cornmeal) and it turned out very soft, dense and crusty on the outside. Next time I will do the egg wash as others have suggested because it come out looking dry (though it certainly isn't.) Love it with Vegemite but, for the more conventional taste of my husband, melted butter or seasoned olive oil works great, too. Yum!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoodnPlentiful January 28, 2008
Sesame-Sunflower-Poppy-Flax Seed Buttermilk Bread!