Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sesame-Sunflower-Poppy-Flax Seed Buttermilk Bread! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame-Sunflower-Poppy-Flax Seed Buttermilk Bread!

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2012

      I made this bread yesterday. I didn't have buttermilk so I put two tbls of lemon juice into a measuring cup and added milk up to the 2 cup line. I also uses quinoa instead of wheat germ because I didn't have that, and added pepitas (pumpkin seeds). It turned out wonderfully! I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and am glad I did because the whole recipe makes too much for a bread machine (not a criticism). I then punched it down, split it between two regular bread pans, and had enough left to make two large hamburger buns, which we ate with pulled pork that evening. Let everything rise again for another 40 minutes (may need more on a cool day) and baked for 40-50 at 375. Turned out REALLY good. I think it will become a staple in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Absoluely fantastic bread, Sharon - this is my new favourite! I made the dough in the bread machine, and then placed it in loaf pans and allowed it to double, before following the baking directions. I used 1/2 organic bread flour and 1/2 organic spelt flour, and switched the margine for olive oil. I loved all the seeds, the nuttiness from the wheat germ, and the flavour from the buttermilk - yum! Made for Best of 2010 Tag, and going straight into my Best of 2011 book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Great toasted for breakfast. I only made one loaf but turned out great. Love all the seeds in it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Perfect little rolls of perfection. The recipe was cut in half and I made rolls instead of loaves. Used an ABM to prep the dough and did a second rising on a cornmeal-covered baking stone. Baked about 20 minutes. Reviewed for ZWT #6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Great bread, never cooked with flax seed before. This was lighter and softer than expected. Makes great toast. Made for ZWT6 for the Voracious Vagabonds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Makes really good bread and fantastic toast. I used raw sunflower seeds and a little less poppy seeds because I ran out. I doubled the recipe and made four delicious loaves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Wanting to add grain breads for toasting that would also make up well in the bread maker for the days the wrists don't cooperate had me choose this recipe. The ingredients sounded really good and allowed me to make a half recipe - it is all I thought it would be. The aroma had the teenager and I anticipating and looking forward to those first slices. We all loved the taste and marvelled at the great texture. Much to my surprise it is wonderfully light. I took out the dough while mixing to get the feel of it and added a tablespoon of water - (the second time around I did as suggested on the flour package and added a tablespoon of lemon juice in place of the tablespoon of water) my flour needed that extra tablespoon of liquid. Highly recommend this one to anyone who enjoys grain breads, PS the first loaf didn't make it to the toaster!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      This is our all time favourite bread and we do a lot of bread baking. It keeps very well, slices well, and tastes amazing! I have substituted 2 cups of spelt flour for the whole wheat flour with equally great results. When it comes out of the oven it is impossible to resist. Thanks for making it available.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      What a great bread. I love the nutty flavour the seeds/nuts provide, and the little bit of crunch. Excellent bread fresh with cheese. I used ground flax seeds instead of whole. Thanks for an easy to make yummy, appealing bread. Reviewed for ZWT 4

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I have the worst luck with bread. I can follow the directions to the letter and still come out with something better suited to a doorstop than anything that would resemble a loaf of bread. This, however, turned out perfect. For the seeds, I used black and white sesame seeds, flax, steel cut oats and bulgar wheat. I did an hour for the second rise (accidentally)on my pizza stone (dusted with cornmeal) and it turned out very soft, dense and crusty on the outside. Next time I will do the egg wash as others have suggested because it come out looking dry (though it certainly isn't.) Love it with Vegemite but, for the more conventional taste of my husband, melted butter or seasoned olive oil works great, too. Yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Just delicious! Like others, I did a second rise (mostly because everyone else needed the oven the moment I needed it). It is tasty and the crust is just-right. Didn't have sunflower or sesame seeds, but that didn't matter because it was absolutely great! Makes great toast too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Made this dough in bread machine & did second rise on semolina dusted stone - it is great! Perfect balance of lightness/chewiness with fresh grain flavor. Simply dumped all into bread machine & let her rip through the dough cycle. I used 1/4 cup each of sesame, flax, wheat germ, blanched almonds & cornmeal. Upped buttermilk to 1 3/4 cups ( my bread machine is 13+ yrs old & makes baaaad noises if the dough is too stiff - I come running - LOL) - turned out just right! Per PanNan's pic - I used an egg wash & both my slashed top loaves are perfect after 38 minutes at 350 degrees F. Had to escort DH out of kitchen to let the bread cool to cuttable temp (so it wouldn't just smoooosch the way they do when you cut them too hot) b/c it smells sooo good - nutty, wheaty, delectable. After cooling 30 minutes - we cut & had with sweet butter - this is a wonderful bread to be put into regular rotation! Mmmmmm! Thank you Sharon 123 for a great recipe we will use often! Can;t wait to make again when I have poppy seeds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      This was great! The loaves rose well and made wonderful sandwich bread. I made my own buttermilk by adding a bit of vinegar to regular skim milk and letting it sit for a little while.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      The dough is rising in the bread machine :) i used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk, i can't wait ! So, like i said, i used the dough cycle: Yeast + white sugar + half of the water you asked for. I waited until it bubbled, then i added the rest and the dough was perfect :) i thought it didn't rise enough after the dough cycle, but aftert the second rising it was " très bien" And the bread is delicious haa ! Thank you very much !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      I really loved this bread - simple and delicious! It has a lovely light texture. I didn't have flax or poppy seeds or wheat germ, so I added some pumpkin seeds and it was still good! Kids liked it too. Great with soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      It didn't rise properly. :( It was wonderful & makes excellent toast. i'll have to try again because I'm baffled as to why it didn't rise through the roof - the yeast was ALIVE, lol. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      I loved the crunchiness of this seed bread. The crust was nice and crunchy, too, and the bread was soft and moist. Absolutely delicious. I did a free-form roundish loaf and baked it on the pizza stone. This will go in my favorite breads cookbook. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      Very good bread with nice light flavor and a little crunch. I made 1 loaf bread and 12 rolls. Both rose well and were quite tasty. At 12 slices per loaf, you get about 2 1/3 grams fiber per slice. I felt as if I were eating healthy. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame-Sunflower-Poppy-Flax Seed Buttermilk Bread!

    Serving Size: 1 (1489 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1837.5
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    17%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 2672.5 mg
    111%
    Total Carbohydrate 328.5 g
    109%
    Dietary Fiber 27.8 g
    111%
    Sugars 38.6 g
    154%
    Protein 57.9 g
    115%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes