36 Reviews

try it, your love it! I so good and easy, I made it in only about 5 min. and ate it up just as fast! I tweeked this recipe a little to fix my taste. added some crushed garlic and some korean style red pepper flakes (not enough to make it hot, just enough to give a little spice and some extra demention to the taste) Also, I have some advice for cooking with sesame: First, Grind your sesames seed just a bit before you throw them in. A small mortar will work great for this. Don't mash them completely, just grind them up a bit. If you don't have a mortor, rub them between your fingers as you drop them in. it really releases their flavor, and gives off a great smell as your grinding. Second, cook the meat in a small amout of Veg. oil. then when you are almost done, add about a Tsp of semame oil. do this in the last min. of cooking as sesame oil flavor breaks down quickly when exposed to heat. When the sesame oil smell whafts up, it's done! enjoy^^

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebechan January 08, 2003

Holy cow, this was so good. I actually used this as a base for a fried rice recipe (#38748), but I tasted some before making the rice and it was excellent. I doubled the sauce portions and used 1 lb pork, 2 chicken breasts, and about 20 shrimp all cut up into small pieces. Very good flavor. It seriously did taste like a fine chinese restaurant. Thanks so much!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg April 15, 2003

This recipe was delicious! The taste of the toasted sesame seeds were wonderful. I am going to be making this alot ; ) I think I am going to double or triple on the sauce, tasted fantastic on the rice! Thanks so much for this recipe Bergy ; )

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut October 17, 2002

This was very good. I had a couple huge pork chops that I had left over so I sliced them up and used them. Next time I plan on using some pork tenderloin. The sauce flavor was wonderful -- but it was a little on the thin side. I think I'll add a little cornstarch next time to thicken it up a little -- that way it should cling to the meat and veggie a little better. The snow peas at the store didn't look very good, so I picked up some asparagus and mushrooms -- they were delicious. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie April 29, 2010

**Update...made this last night with chicken and it was soooo good!** First Review - I heinously modified this recipe! First off, I coated the pork in cornstarch and browned it that way, I just like it so much like that! I didn't know I didn't have any sesame seeds...so, I added in a heaping spoonful of minced garlic, a finely chopped carrot, water chestnuts, some chopped onion that I had in the fridge and about 3 shakes of crushed red pepper. Oh, and I doubled the sauce. I sprinkled green onions and cashews on the top and served over rice. It was a WINNER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment January 05, 2010

Very very tasty. I used chicken and added it to the Chinese fried rice (Chinese Fried Rice). The best recipe I've tried in a long time... well worth the effort

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 December 23, 2003

Tasty, quick and easy. Used it with Sue L's fried rice. Very mild tasting so I added a bit of chili oil to jazz it up a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea November 09, 2003

No stars beacuse I didn't use one of the recommended meats (I used deli sliced ham; I needed something to do with it and this seemed like a pretty inexpensive alternative) Loved the flavors of the sauce but it didn't go well with deli sliced ham. Just FYI.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H October 28, 2003

I just got married and had to try out my new wok. I surprised my new dh last night with stir-fry. We both loved it! I took the advice of the person who said to grind the sesame seeds and add the oil at the end-it tasted great. Combined this recipe with chinese fried rice-yum! We can't wait for the leftovers tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiSi September 24, 2003

I used this recipe with recipe 38748 (Chinese Fried Rice)... and it was soooo good! I am so glad I used this instead of the plain meat that the other recipe called for... it definitely made the dish better. I did use chicken instead of pork, and skipped the peas, but kept the rest of the ingredients the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy August 30, 2003
Sesame Pork Stir Fry