22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe sounded good when I read it, but I was disappointed with the results. It really lacked flavor, won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze March 23, 2008

I really loved this although I made a few changes. I used puff pastry and ginger powder. I also heated up the leftover marinade with some apricot jelly and water to use as a dipping sauce; it was delicious. The only thing is my kids don't care for ginger so much so unless yours do I would suggest making this dish for adults only.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan March 13, 2008

This was outstanding, I didn't have 4 hours to marinade the chicken so the marinade flavor was not as strong,I will definetaly marinade the chicken longer next time because the sauce is amazing. This is such an easy but fancy looking meal. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doodle_s November 12, 2007

This was excellent. Whenever I want something REALLY GOOD, I click on your name and go through your recipes one by one... cringing a little, til I find one I think I can make.. THANKS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` April 14, 2005

Ahhhh, deeelish. I cut the chicken into strips, marinaded it, threaded it on skewers...sprinkled with sesame seeds and voila! A leaner version and just as good. Thanks Mean Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiddler April 07, 2005

Thanks for this recipe Mean Chef!! I was looking for a recipe that uses puff pastry and I decided to try it with this one. I know that puff and phyllo dough is different but it still worked!! I served these with a side of vegetables in a cream sauce. I love the flavors in the marinade!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
' =^..^= 'Ameera' =^..^= ' March 15, 2005

Yumm. I could drink this marinade! :-) I served this for a small holiday dinner party and it was a hit… some even asked for the recipe. I served it with yellow rice and steamed asparagus with orange butter sauce which was a perfect match to this chicken—it was heavenly. One downside, the phyllo gets soggy in time and though it will still be flavorful, it won't hold up the next day. I did let the marinade drip before wrapping and even removed all the excess fat from the chicken. Good thing dinner was timed perfectly and I served it immediately, right out of the oven while it was still crispy. Wish I had taken a picture of it then. The picture I’m submitting was taken hours after the party (one person didn't show up). As you can see, the chicken is a tad soggy here. But, it was still delicious and was devoured after this shot :-) Next time, I’ll squeeze off the marinade and use 6 phyllo leaves to get a longer crispier life. A few tips I got when using phyllo dough: don’t be discouraged if you rip a phyllo sheet while working, just continue using it, place it along the others. Butter the sides of the sheet first then work your way in. Place a wet kitchen towel under the first sheet to keep it moist. This truly is a tasty and impressive-looking dish. Thanks for sharing, Mean Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadia NYC January 07, 2005

Everyone loved how this presented. I left out the soy sauce and the cayenne. But, the chicken came out tender and flavorful. The second time was easier with the Phyllo dough. There was requests for thicker crust so I took eight sheets buttered between and sliced into four sections that I wrapped 4 chicken in and then ...repeated that again to serve 8. It seems to be a hit with everyone. And would be a hit for any party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg Lee August 16, 2004

I'm not assigning stars because my DH messed up the recipe so profoundly! He didn't know the difference between a clove and an entire head of garlic, so needless to say this was a bit strong in the garlic flavoring. The recipe however is not as hard to make as you might think and it is very impressive looking when baked. I'm betting its delicious when made as directed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue January 01, 2004
Sesame-Lemon Chicken with a Crisp Phyllo Crust